December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mega Gungineer Chronicles 3: Final Gun!

by StoneMonkeyStudios - Jam Entry

WASD to move
Mouse to Aim
Click to Fire
Space to Dash
KILL

Update!
We've expanded a little bit on much of the feedback here and uploaded a post-compo version. Currently it's web only (Kongregate).
The new version has:
Health + Dash Bars
A Better end game/pause screen (That shows off your absurd gun)
Day Timer.
Difficulty tuning.
Minor bug fixes.
Dashes now auto-kill enemies, but have a longer CD.

A bit on theme:
I wanted to post a bit about our usage of the theme here, since it's not communicated that well in-game.
The idea is that you only get one gun, but said gun is magnetic/expandable. As you kill enemies, they drop their guns. You pick up the guns and attach them to your own gun, thus expanding your gun into an absurd behemoth. Something like this, but with guns instead of attachments: http://i45.tinypic.com/28i5g94.jpg.

Technical Notes:
-No Perf tuning was done, so good luck!
-Also: Linux is untested, but there.
-Currently no exit button. Sorry!

Soundtrack:
By the way, if you like the music and want to grab it for yourself, catch it here:
https://soundcloud.com/outsetinitiative/final-gun

Story:

Devastated by the loss of his girlfriend Violett Gunn and the destruction of his homeworld, our hero just barely defeats the vile Mother Core...

... Only to find that the true mastermind behind the robot revolt is none other than his once-valiant wingman and best friend, Ace O'Connell!

Now, our hero must take down Ace and his nefarious gang of evil robots!

Fight, and survive, Mega Gungineer! Take your one and only sidearm, your trusty Pocket Cannon, and turn your foes' weapons against them: you must create Megagun!


Creators:
Ryan Nohr - Code
Jon Rasmussen - Art/Code
Nick Amlag - Art
Sean Siem - Art
Outset Initiative (Zeke F) - Music/Sound Design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#81Graphics(Jam)4.10
#83Audio(Jam)3.51
#125Fun(Jam)3.30
#162Overall(Jam)3.33
#233Humor(Jam)2.48
#251Mood(Jam)2.93
#372Innovation(Jam)2.59
#479Theme(Jam)2.10

Comments

bsowers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:01am

Those are some extremely pretty 3D models you have there.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:06am

Thanks Bsowers! The artists will be pleased to hear that ^.^

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08am

Whoa, beautiful! And fun! :)

chabuduo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:12am

Not sure where the health bar is. Max on audio and graphics.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:13am

No health bar! Wanted to do a radial bar and a dash cooldown timer, but ran out of time! Very sad, I know!
Thank's for playing folks!

ComaToes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:18am

Awesome. I love everything about it. Good work :)

FrederickK says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:20am

My biggest problems was not having a heath bar and because you is much taller than the enemies, doesn't look you is hitting them.
However, it looks very beatiful and good music is very good too!
Great job guys!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:20am

The quantity of bullets that fill the screen is very pretty especially since most of them are heading away from you. It the music and robot death sounds complemented the game play very well.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:21am

Pretty nice models for everything. The lack of some things was really noticeable, though. And while the game was mostly great, those noticeable things kept me from fully enjoying it (no animation on player, hit detection for enemies being a bit off, game kept crashing after a while of playing it). Other than that really nice job!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:30am

beautiful graphics, great music, and love the robot voices. but i didnt see a goal and the shooting seemed like it did nothing but enemies still died. regardless, that was entertaining.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:21am

The visuals are fantastic and the sound fits well. The game itself seems a bit confusing though. I did not feel like there was any real feedback for the player.

vapgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:24am

Great visuals and sound. Why do i have so many guns XD

Nut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:16am

It's hard to tell what's going on and the controls aren't very responsive (this could be because I played the web version), but I had a fun couple of minutes blasting stuff, and I really enjoyed the little robots saying "pew pew" and stuff.

weazen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Great job!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Impressive graphics and Fx. The color palette is gorgeous.
More fx on impact would help to realize when you hit ennemies. It's also very good to give to player the sensation of a strong weapon.
Speaking of weapon I think your interpretation of the theme is rough. You can't tell me in the intro that I have only one gun and make me hold zillions while I'm fighting :)
The audio is top, the robot death sounds are very good and give a strong personality to your game.
Congrats on making this in just 72h.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:55am

Really pretty. :)

SoundGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:58am

awesome graphics and sounds!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:03am

Cool take on the theme. Also, great art & audio.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Great 3D models. I really like the four "wheeled" enemies. The music really complements the visual style.

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Really polished art. Found aiming fairly difficult since each additional weapon seemed to be added on and random angles. If you continued work on it I would say the #1 thing to help the feel of the game would be hit reactions to the player and enemies. Overall great job. Polished art, audio, and an interesting design. Very impressive!

occash says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Good job! I like this graphics and good sound (piu-piu-piu))) But if only this man can move more real.... it will be the best game)

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Extremely good looking, fast paced and with good sound but... very little in game feedback and the aiming seemed a bit screwed up to me, I get the whole multiple guns thing but it felt awkward when I couldn't just aim forward with at least one gun.

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Nice music and graphics, didn't seem to be any kind of goal in the game. The gameplay got repetitive pretty quickly.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Lovely presentation - but with all those FX, some impact particles would have been a nice addition feedback wise. Great stuff though, loved becoming a twirling tornado of laser death . Combos and scoring next step ;)

michail says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:20pm

The idea is quite interesting and the graphics are really good. I agree that adding some more user feedback (more visual effects on hit or a basic healthbar) would greatly improve the overall experience. But I understand you run out of time.

aviktorov says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Looks and plays awesomely! But let me die or win already. Oh, and it crashed eventually. Anyway, very well done, guys!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Haha, sorry avi! There wasn't much time for perf tuning. The post compo version fixes a bit of that, but it can still get crazy lol

Zener says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Visual style and models are very good, also the playability! Congrats on this good work!

bitowl says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:55pm

The linux version is missing a data and a mono folder :O

Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Hey BitOwl! Sorry, missed zipping those up! I've uploaded a new linux zip, so hopefully it should work now!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Keep going on this one - really like the idea of it, and as others have said, the 3d stuff you managed to get in the game for the 3 days is pretty ace, with some animations and some nice lighting, could look ace. Really liked the buildings as they reminded me of old cyber-punk stuff from the 80's. Very cool. 5 * for humour and style. :)

Additional bonus points for robot voices and vocoder in the soundtrack. It almost sounded like robot death noises were in tune with the song. :D

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:31pm

That gun!! I loved seeing how it would grow, I did become a total badass but I think there is a balance issue because it because a bit too easy after not so long - I filled the screen with fiery lead (?) which was cool at first but I felt I needed more challenge to keep me really hooked. Love the 3d models and the effects really bring it to life. More sounds too would have lifted this, but it's really accomplished and polished. Is it procedural? Does the environment wrap?

x70x says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Love the graphical style. Was confused on where my health was though.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:50pm

@Jimmy - It is procedural, and the world does wrap. I don't recall if new objects are generated on wrap or only at start (as Jon did that code). There was not much time for balancing unfortunately, but if we keep going with this as a post LD game, that will be addressed :)

@x70x - Sorry to confuse you! We ran out of time to get that in the jam version. It's in the post compo web version that's linked above though! :)

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:29am

Really love the low-poly art style, very impressive for the time scale! :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:33am

The game looks really great and you start feeling awesome with this BFG in your hands. I think, the game is way to easy though. After a while, when you get enough firepower it's all just, stop aiming, just run around. The enemies should drop fewer medkits and should definitely be more numerous and more powerful. Oh, and the music is way too loud compared to the sound effects, at first I though there were none.

But I still couldn't stop playing for a quarter of an hour, it is really a lot of fun!

van noctar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:02am

Good sounds and graphics :D

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:44am

Cool game ! The graphics are awesome ! Great job !

Techblogogy says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:21pm

Very good, well you know what it's fantastic

henrykun says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:07pm

Nice models and cool game

ENDESGA says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 6:18am

Pretty awesome game! Very fast paced and quite addictive!

My score:
Guns = 250
Robots = 842
Days = 4
Health = 1440

:D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]