December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Atop A Dark Mountain

by Maple - Jam Entry

Enemies come in waves. There are about 10 waves, with a boss at the end. You can also replay for a faster record, or for a record in attacking least. Inspired by those multi-floor towers of enemies in Zelda games.

All but music was made within the 72 hours. The unfinished track I used, I composed within ~6 hours, ~2 months ago.

Controls:
Arrows/Z/X or WASD/J/K. (Move/Jump/Attack)
You can charge X/K for different attacks.
ALT+Enter toggles fullscreen.

Tools used:
GameMaker Studio
MilkyTracker
Audacity
BFXR
Fontstruct

Let me know what you think!
~Maple

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#19Fun(Jam)3.93
#25Humor(Jam)3.83
#68Overall(Jam)3.67
#74Audio(Jam)3.59
#89Graphics(Jam)4.07
#115Mood(Jam)3.42
#144Innovation(Jam)3.24
#343Theme(Jam)2.54

Comments

Mutt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:50am

Gameplay is simple but fairly fun. I love the graphics and general atmosphere, you've got a lot of skill in doing pixel art. The random quotes are slightly confusing and amusing. Good work!

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:29am

Nice and interesting, and those quotes were really unexpected :P

Spaceoff says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Those audio clips were just as weird and amusing as you implied. Awesome pixel art... pretty polished gameplay too. Awesome job :D


And the critics agree:

37/40 "It vaguely resembles an RPG, so it's breathtaking" -Famitsu
9/10 "Was kinda shit" -IGN
10/10 "Best non-console game of all time" -Some 10yr old console faboy who's never played a PC game before now

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Voice actor of the year. Interesting 3-dimensional gameplay. I like how the weapon works where usually you only want to charge it to the first level.

Managore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:50am

This game has beautiful pixel art and reminds me a lot of old arcade games. The dragon makes for a fantastic boss, although I couldn't beat him. My only qualm is that starting from the very beginning was a bit frustrating, but if your take on the theme is You Only Get One Life, then that's understandable.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:58am

I'm not a huge fan of the 'one-life' gimmick, but none the less this is an amazing game. Top quality art really makes this game stand out against the rest. Really impressive given the time frame.

Devon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:07am

Great art. Good controls. The sound effects were my favorite tho. I got confused on how to kill the floaty magenta guys.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:42am

simple but really efficace, liked it!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:50am

A fun little game reminding be of some of the mini games in Mario Party :P - I really love the graphics style, it's very beautiful. I failed to get past the level where the purple thingies starts floating around at the edge. My "Dex monkey keyboard skills" failed - Or I missed some other nice way of dealing with them :P - I really liked this game. Very nice work!

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:50am

I really liked the audio and graphics of this game. And I really liked who different all the enemies were. This gave the game a more dynamic feel for such a small level

Maple says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:31am

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SUPER ULTRA AMAZING DEV-STRATS 01: PURPLE FLOATY DUDES.
1. STAND AT EDGE.
2. LOOK OFF INTO DISTANCE.
3. WAIT FOR PURPLE FLOATY DUDE.
4. PRESS AND HOLD Z+X OR J+K.
5. RELEASE Z+X OR J+K AT PEAK OF JUMP.
6. PURPLE FLOATY DUDE ERADICATED.
7. RINSE, REPEAT.
8. DRAGON TIME.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Very nice graphics one of the best pixel art I've seen here at LD28.
The gameplay is good :D

mutilator says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Cute graphics, fitting music and sound effects, hilarious voiceover. Not big on the one life theme, just because it is frustrating to replay extremely simple "levels" repeatedly after failing at something much more difficult.

Fun game, great entry.

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:41pm

I encountered an error and could not run the game: "AtopADarkMountain.exe is not a valid windows executable."

Sorry. I like the screenshots.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Fun entry, good job. :)

murilo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Really good game! Nice graphics! I thought it was too easy at first but things do get complicated hehe! Great work, man.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Cool game, somewhat similar to the one I made.. but different. :D Nice art style and atmosphere, and the voice acting really made it rather special. I didn't make it to the dragon though, unfortunately. Always died in round ~5 or so, and lost motivation to replay the first few rounds each time after a while. :/

sadiquo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Lot of fun, great graphics and gameplay, but return to the start all time we lose was for me annoying.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:31pm

I have to admit, the quotes were pretty funny, however irrelevant. Gameplay was solid, good job!

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Great controls and great game :D
killing the dragon took me around half an hour XD

Kohijin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Really liked it! Even though the voice overs felt a bit out of place ;) Otherwise great design in all areas

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Really like the art, the different firing modes, and the unique enemy waves. I had a lot of fun playing this one.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Lovely stuff! Reminded me of Zelda LTTP :) Oh and I really enjoyed the timelapse and found a new tool (Font Struct) in the process!

kutullu says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:10am

"Out of this worrrrld!" :D

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Heh

Haha

HAAA

HAHAHAHAHAHA

HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

This shit is amazing! I have nothing else to say.

atombrot says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:30pm

This is great. I like the art style very much. The voice in the background was a bit disturbing, after a while I wouldn't wanto to play without it ;) I first didn't notice that you can charge your attack. And I never saw the boss. I'm too bad at this game ;)

tobbez says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Nice game, a bit annoing voiceovers at times. The waves were different and there was a good finish with the boss. Could use maybe a practise mode to make some of the waves a bit easier to train for.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Really liked it, nothing I can say that hasn't been said before. The voices were funny but fitted well. Maybe it some checkpoint would've been at place? ;)

ezolotko says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:07am

Cool

Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Solid game, nice job! I included it in my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/mm02WUCsrPg

GFM says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:04am

Around wave 5 or 6 (those 8 jumpy red turnip) it got too hard for me... But I enjoyed and I'll play again!
Though it's quite simple, it's a fun game! And the graphics and sounds are great! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]