December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Bridge

by Yngar - Jam Entry

You only get one enemy.
These two rectangles hate each other. Knock the other off the bridge to win.

This game is 2 player only.

Player 1 uses A and D to move left and right, W and S to spin, and G to jump.

Player 2 uses the arrow keys to move and spin, and space to jump.

This game was my first ever attempt at making a 3D game, I had to scrap a lot of ideas because I was learning as I went. It was pretty difficult but I learned a ton doing it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#105Fun(Jam)3.35
#196Innovation(Jam)3.06
#358Overall(Jam)2.89
#441Graphics(Jam)2.53
#495Theme(Jam)2.00
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

ovenchips says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:31am

For a first try, you've done a great job!! I got my other half to play this with me - it's fun! I like the lighting - nice and atmospheric.
Maybe post-competition, try add a single player mode and program a CPU AI.
Well done!

sirival says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:00pm

This is actually really fun :D

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:59pm

heh love this idea xD

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:13pm

As the others said - fun game, and I like the lighting as well. Sound/music would be a nice addition, but other than that the game got everything it needs.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:14pm

really good engine. great and really solid physics.

Opifex Ludus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:16pm

That was really fun and i realy loved the idea.

psychonull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:18pm

really cool, the idea is awesome!. a progress bar will be nice too, I was about to put a comment that didn't work cause took some time on first screen. also, an CPU opponent will be nice.

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Very simple, but interesting. I was not expecting the z axis to be usable (pushing off front/back), but it provides an interesting twist on a "2d" platform fighter. A longer audio clip would serve you well, methinks.

Night use of shadows and lighting for drama. Thanks for submitting!

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:39am

Original and simple concept, but fun a well implemented.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:48pm

This is fantastically fun! Totally the best to play with others. It got pretty heated between a friend and I. haha.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]