December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Orchid

by darwinpek - Jam Entry

You must be the last one standing. Destroy all enemy fabricators to win.

You will have to beat the game to understand how it is related to the theme; I don't want to spoil it for you here.

Use WASD to move around, click on one of your fabricator points to bring up the construction menu, buy units by pressing the F, B, or I images that pop up, and then click on an enemy point to send those units. If you misclick, the order will be canceled and you will have to do it over again.

NOTE: The web build has some weird aliasing issues; to avoid this issue please download a native build.

Team:
Darwin Pek - http://darwinpek.net
William Vickery - http://wvickery.com
Jim Nguyen - whatwhatwhoa@gmail

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#164Fun(Jam)3.16
#173Overall(Jam)3.30
#243Audio(Jam)2.97
#267Mood(Jam)2.88
#277Innovation(Jam)2.81
#337Graphics(Jam)2.97
#353Theme(Jam)2.50
#417Humor(Jam)1.75

Comments

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:40am

like the graphic style. instructions were a little confusing at first.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:20am

Nice game, I liked the difficulty, it was hard but I won the first try once I figured out my fighters in flight would shoot their fighters.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:02pm

How do you launch attacks? I've got a mac with touchpad and I'm struggling to work out what to do.

wvickery says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:28pm

You click the blue square, and then a fighter/bomber/ICBM type, then click on a red square/city or a world wonder

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:19pm

good style and clear pixel art. good take on tower defense

tiffi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Needed some time to get it, quite complex for a LD game. Good work!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:29pm

A nice little strategy game. Good fun.

Scifer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Very nice! Reminds me of defcon, one of my favorite games. Good jorb ^^

Jago says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Nice graphics and great action!

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:31pm

really like the art. Great job!

Miltage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:34pm

I had a problem with font rendering, made the text hard to read. Interesting game, and well executed. Good work.

LexGarza says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Awesoooooomee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

LexGarza says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Got to say i loved the game, Awesoooooome!!!! :D the tutorial was a little... not good XD, but once you learn how to play its a great game :D

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Fun game. Reminds me of defcon. I don't know what the buttons on the bottom right should do. Was it intended to reasearch stuff before you can use?

darwinpek says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:49pm

@Miltage: Yeah, we have some weird anti-aliasing problems with the web build. If you download the native client it should render correctly.

@Kayelgee: The buttons at the bottom right are meant for researching upgrades for your fighters, bombers, and icbms (you already have basic versions of these units when you start)

We did indeed take some inspiration from DEFCON and I would have liked more time to make the tutorial, hahaha. I more or less slapped some images together and I didn't have time to make it better.

Defr├Ąg says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:54pm

A soundtrack would've been nice. Graphics are nice and pixely.

Easiest strategy is to keep peaceful and stockpile up a bunch of nukes. kinda what the US is doing ...

Nukes are the methods of least collateral damage... heh

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Good game! Not entirely sure what it has to do with the theme, but the replayability is awesome, the music is awesome, graphics are sweet... so who cares :) aaaargh I want to win this game now!

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Ah I won, awesome :) so... now I understand what it has to do with the theme!

darwinpek says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:27pm

@Defräg: There is music in the game, perhaps you've left something plugged into your headphone jack or muted your volume?

@Gamelabbers: Yuuuup, that's how it is.

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:33am

Great game. I like the art style and the gameplay. However i think that would be better to use the keyboard keys to choose which attacks would come from the fabricators, because it is too time-cosuming to click on which option.
Very addicting! Great job!

If you have time, please rate my game! I would really appreciate it! :))

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:36am

Pretty cool!

ocathalain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:36am

A little confusing at first, but really good for something made in the time given!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:41am

Though it took a little while to learn, this was a fun, interesting game. Very much like a fast paced version of DEFCON.

ryangatts says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:07am

I won, but I had a hard time triggering the deployments I intended. I'd often queue up a bunch of fighters and click on the base only to have the order canceled and my money refunded. Also, I feel like the delivery of the theme was a bit of telling without showing. It could have been better conveyed as part of the gameplay rather than as an ending.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:26pm

OMG this is awesome. Cool game... remembers me to play defcon again. Really nice liitle gfx, cool gameplay... yeah there are some gfx bugs... no problem bugs looks like features if you want to :D! Let's do some more polishing ... two player mode or something ^^

kibertoad says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:27am

it's a good looking, excellently sounding cheerful clone of Defcon. not much else to say.

euske says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Kinda guessed the ending. Well done.

eskivor says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:13am

I don't know how to attack someone, I clicked on the 50$/100$ icons or on any city on the map, nothing happened (web version)

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:07am

Loved the aesthetic

darwinpek says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:16am

@eskivor: Sorry, it is a little unclear. If it helps anyone: Click on a fabrication point, which look like the corners of a square, click on one of the three unit icons that pop up, then click on an enemy point to send those units

laaph says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:15pm

Awesome work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]