December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Ninja

by sclark39 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

One Ninja, One Weapon, One Button, One Goal.

Use the mouse to control the ninja and collect all the targets.

Click above the ninja to use your grapple
Click to the left or the right of the ninja to make him run
Click on the ninja to give yourself time to think

Post your best times!

--

12-15-2013

I wish I had got a bit further. I'm definitely pleased with how the sounds and the sprites turned out. If I had more time, I'd turn this into a one-button stealth-assassin game.

This was designed primarily for tablets, as a one-button mouse-controlled game can do a passable job at representing that environment. This is the primary way the theme is integrated (you only get one button to control your ninja).

--

12-22-2013

I found an issue with playing this game on systems with graphics drivers that don't support VSYNC. I've uploaded a fixed version with an FPS limiter to address this. Both the original and current source are posted.

Please post any other game-breaking issues you encounter so I can look in to what's going on. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#356Innovation3.11
#482Humor2.27
#539Overall2.96
#569Theme2.74
#602Audio2.29
#637Fun2.67
#650Mood2.55
#665Graphics2.59
#1259Coolness41%

Comments

sclark39 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29am

My best time 54.80

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:43pm

A bit tough on a touchpad ;)

sclark39 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Haha I bet.

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:07am

Nice game! A bit tricky, but solid! Nice!

anapff says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:21am

Nice game! It's a bit tricky at first to get the hang of the grapple but after a bit I was taking little over 2 minutes at 8/9 (I was really really slow at first) but then somehow the application stopped working :( (maybe I spammed too many clicks on the blocks) Anyway, nice one!

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:29am

Yeah nice game! It's really challenging to get all those targets. Hold me some time playing it!

henrykun says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:40pm

A little bit difficult but really nice idea. It could be a nice game for touchscreen devices :D. Well done!.

Photon says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Pretty nifty idea you have here! The grappling hook feels a little difficult to use though, maybe in particular because of its short length. Theme interpretation is a little weak as well in my opinion. But seriously, I still think this is a really cool concept; the mouse controls work pretty good!

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Just found out this game doesn't run so well on under-powered devices. It runs very slow while the ninja appears to run very fast. I think it would have been better if I had made the theme a bit more evident in my messaging as well. The use of the theme in this is really just that it is a one-button game==the rest of the ways I intended to integrate the theme I just didn't have time to complete. Thanks for your comments, all.

jonask says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:11pm

A bit hard to manouver. Reminds me of Worms :)

wezrule says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Pretty fun and challenging, good job :D

GFM says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:51pm

No audio played... :(

This is an interesting idea, making a game about hitting stuff the fastest you can while being a ninja! But I'm of the opinion that you shouldn't use the mouse like that. XD

I can see the "one button" part of your interpretation of the theme, but this really made the game a lot harder than it needed to be for me. Something as simple as the y position of the mouse deciding what your action is made me use wrong actions many times (mostly, I would throw the grapple when I just wanted to move right/left).
In a touch device, I can totally see this working (using one finger in each position/moving "instantly" from one touch to the other), but not with a mouse...

Though that's just my opinion, and I'm not really a fan of action games that have the mouse as it's sole input.

Good work, nonetheless! =D

P.S.: just read your comment bellow. Some of my problems were probably because my computer sucks... XD
(It's a single core AMD Athlon 64 bits 1.6 GHz... that's more than "under-powered" XD)

sclark39 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:41am

Yup, that was exactly my intent (designed for a tablet). There is also a bug whereby clicking to the left of your guy should always make you turn around, but something is getting stomped when the hook gets thrown so it doesn't work. :(

I got a local build running better on this laptop but it still doesn't feel quite right and I really don't understand why it's screwing up like this. Seems like a bug with love2d itself and mobile gpus.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:29am

I figured out what the problem is with crappy machines... If the driver/screen doesn't support vsync it effectively tries to run the game loop at 300 fps which makes some stuff move really fast (the ninja's feet), while the actual update loop which is capped to only run 60 times a second ends up getting starved out by the draws... so for crappy machines I need to add a FPS limiter. Fun stuff. I'll try to get a version up tomorrow to fix this issue.

GFM says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:01pm

I'm running a Windows 7 Home Premium, with a AMD Athlon Processor TF-20 (1.6 GHz), 3 GB of RAM and a ATI Radeon HD3200 graphic card.

I tried playing your game again and kind of figure out the problem with the audio...
I turned up the volume (always try to avoid trivial errors XD) and run your game. The sounds played fine, which I found strange... Then, I closed it and tried to run again but, this time, no sounds played.
Seems like a bug that keeps resources from being freed. (my guess)
If I remember it right, when I first played your game I tried moving (I usually try to play, at first, without reading anything about the game... =X) but the character just took a step and stopped. When I understood the controls (kinda), I restarted the game to reset the timer. That's probably why I didn't notice the sounds at first and then I didn't hear it.

I took a quickly look at you code and something that may help to cap the draw rate problem is to set a flag when the ninja is updated (main.lua:166) and only draw if that flag is set (clearing it afterward). Even if the draw function is called, you can probably avoid it running whenever the world wasn't updated. :)
(I don't have any idea how the lua main loop works, so I may be wrong. XD


Now, replying your comment on my game. (your idea was great... it really worked well!)

The theme was only implemented on the ending... "You can only save one of them". The main problem with this approach (other than being weak, imo) is that some people might not see it... Well, this was on my calculations. XD
About the sprite bug, it also happens with the sparkle, but I'm not sure why... I'll have to look into that later! (the ladders was laziness, and low priority on that, of my part =X)

Thanks a lot! =D
I have another game I want to do now (my first idea for this LD), but I'll definitely come back to this game sometime later!!

sclark39 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Fixed version uploaded, main description updated. This should resolve issues with "mobility" type gfx cards.

GFM says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:35pm

It runs a lot better now! :)
And I started to get used to the controllers. It's indeed really fun! =D
(but still think that it would be better on a touch device XD)

Was able to get a time of 40.42

Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:04am

Nice game, cool mechanic with the hook !

Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:06am

Nice game, cool mechanic with the hook ! I didn't had any trouble running the game and I have a really slow laptop, good work with the fix ;) Your game is quite challenging ;)

mmickyman says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Challenging. Seems at first that the range of the grapple is short, then you understand a bit more how that work and it feels better.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]