December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

No Way Out

by Eniko - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There's two endings! If you find them both, let me know, and let me know what you thought of them! :D

Should work on Firefox, Internet Explorer, and Chrome. Might work on other browsers but I wouldn't count on it, and if it does it won't have sound. Noticed one time that it wouldn't load and just stayed black, refreshing fixed it for me, try that!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood4.56
#4Audio4.20
#30Theme3.98
#36Overall3.89
#95Graphics3.91
#242Innovation3.29
#267Fun3.22
#309Humor2.73
#1435Coolness32%

Comments

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:04am

Excellent use of the heart beats. I genuinely felt nervous as the timer reached the end. Completed it after a couple of goes. Would like to see more red herring interactions.

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:03am

Super smooth, completely engaging! I really love the graphics and the sound design is incredible given the time constraints. Gotta keep trying to get the other ending! Excellent job!

doitle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13am

A nice complete thought of a game. The increasing audio intensity really makes the mood. Also props for using that particular sound effect...

Jan Marcano says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:24am

Amazing! The heartbeats were a nice touch, but they accelerated a bit too fast for me. I didn't like all the white text invading my screen D:

I loved the story however! I thought there would be more item-combining/puzzles to do before the end though, only being able to use the fridge left me wanting for more :/

The true ending was really good, I kinda of suspected it when I noticed you could interact with yourself. It was only a matter of waiting until there was no time left to try it out.

Awesome work!

Eniko says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:29am

The white text are the panicked thoughts of the character. When panicked, you can't think clearly or focus very well. These thoughts are intentionally obtrusive, to disrupt the player's focus and make it easier to identify with the character's current mental state, so it sounds like those were working as intended! >_>

Though whether that design is a good idea or not is a matter of debate, I suppose! XD

DallOner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:51am

Really Hardcore End! NICE

squibbons says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

Very impressive. Love the mood.

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24am

You nailed the "feeling of fear" perfectly with the ambience in this game! The graphics, sound and ambience all get together really well.

I'm not very sure that you could call your "good ending", "good ending"... Don't you think it might be a trigger for some people?

The game messages sometimes get lost among the fear messages later in the game, I'd guess that is just what you intended, but if not, they get hard to read by the time.

Cheers, and thanks for the game!

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42am

Truly amazing, gameplay&graphics do really create a fantastic mood, the best touch are the "panicked thoughts". Outstanding! ;)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:31am

Great mood. Effective graphics (although the characters are of suspiciously lower detail compared to the environment.. $__$), and great sound design.

The random thoughts (I guess?) that keep popping up constantly are very distracting though when trying to focus on reading the results of your actions.

Also, movement could definitely do with some pathfinding. Getting stuck all too easily on the edge of the bed, or when trying to go into the bathroom.

The writing is quite good though and pretty funny at times.

Overall 4/5

mrjordan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Freakkkkky! Love it :)

netguy204 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:15am

You took one of my favorite things about adventure games (time to think and consider my environment while relaxing) and totally through it out the window. The result? 5 stars for mood!

Suese says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:49pm

A little confusing.

sfiq12 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Great game, loved the heartbeat effect
The end was pretty shocking too.

st0ven says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:55pm

I love your game , I died the first time and am still figuring out how to 'win' and i think thats a fun challenge. mood is good and the challenge is interesting. plus i love adventure style games so where could you go wrong?

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08pm

The game got me stressed out. I couldn't get far into the game. Just ended up shooting myself in the head.

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:14pm

There was indeed no way out for me! The aesthetic is nice and the sounds were too. Having the "thoughts" rushing across the screen and the heartbeat sound stressed me out quite a bit. I got eaten every time. It maybe could have been a bit clearer what you can or should do to get a better ending because in the heat of the moment I didn't manage to think of anything else once I found out the window is barred. Also it would have been cool if you could have been able to shoot yourself at any time with your last bullet.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Finally found the way out after some tries. Kind of figured it out right away, but looks like you need to jump through some hoops before you can outright get it.

I really liked the atmosphere in this one, the increase of heart beats and panicky thoughts of the character really make the mood.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Wow that was seriously intense! And since I found the way out, actually incredibly poingant. I don't think I've found such an emotional game on LD yet, thank you! The audio is key, but the red herrings really set up the dread feeling too - more to do would have been nice but given the time this is excellent

kakhoofd says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:27am

Near the end, I started feeling really tense due to the accelerated heartbeat sounds, and all the thoughts popping up, really great job!

rxi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Well, that was bleak!

I managed to get the losing outcome followed by the winning outcome. I really liked the heart beats, as others have already said it helped to add to the intensity and really brought home that I had a finite amount of time to work out a solution and make a decision.

The random thoughts which popped up over the screen not only helped to add to the intensity but also helped to be a distraction from the task at hand, in the same way panicked thoughts would distract you from finding a solution in real life.

Overall really well made, definitely an engaging experience and a good use of the theme. Having a story set in a single room is always an interesting concept, and in this case it felt as if it was well done.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Oh, the atmosphere! I love it. I think it's a precious little game :-)

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:50pm

The mood was very good! Really, really strong!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:42pm

This actually made me feel nervous. Here's some mood points for that.

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:25am

Wow, that was intense! After three attempts, I couldn't get the "good" ending, although I think I know what it is. Perfectly captured the feeling of hopelessness in the situation. Great job!

Faust says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:20pm

I can't solve it, but the mood is excellent. The heart beat and text popping effect is really awesome.

lekochen says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:25am

That was intense! Very nice adventure game. I got the ending after 3 attempts.

TheMaster99 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Great game! Have been wanting to play it ever since trying your demos on the IRC. The panic the character experiences isn't just his own, for the heartbeat and the on-screen thoughts induce quite a bit of panic onto the player as well. I figured out the solution just as the zombies started walking in on my second attempt. Great job, would love to see a post-jam version, where perhaps the player finds a way past the barred window and has to figure out what to do from there, perhaps find a working car in the parking lot?

Anoarith says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Loved it ! :)
It's really involving because of these heartbeats and texts.

Husky says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:42pm

I got 2 ends, but I fell so sad....:(
I thought maybe there is another way to use the only bullet.
Anyway, It has a very good mood, good job! :D

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:26am

Even though I was pretty sure I knew both endings at the beginning, the "good" ending was still...rough. Took me a few tries to be able to get it though. The heartbeats and thoughts appearing on screen were a very interesting/unique feature; they definitely added to the panic of the situation.

Dec 28, 2013 @ 6:03pm

what a tense atmosphere. the sound design is really something. and great ending!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]