December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Color

by maxim - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You Only Get One Color is a cooperative puzzle experience. Create and mix color to traverse obstacles and reach the mythical rainbow monkey.

Controls:

Left Mouse to reset colors on your arms

Click and Hold the Right Mouse on one of your arms to transfer your color. Touch another player who is transferring theirs to mix color.

(Multiplayer is still untested let me know in the comments whether others can join your game or you can join theirs)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#167Innovation3.46
#523Graphics2.88
#618Theme2.65
#736Humor1.67
#739Fun2.50
#744Overall2.71
#772Audio1.35
#804Mood2.29
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

wiz3kid says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 6:32am

Has great potential, only the push force needs to be stronger to pass the level.

Dec 15, 2013 @ 12:21pm

I agree with wiz3kid. This game has a lot of potential, but it was difficult to understand what to do at some points. A tutorial level would help. There's still a few hours left, so you might want to try that.

maxim says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:17am

Couldn't add a tutorial because I was asleep the last few hours of the comp XD. There's now some info on controls at the start that should hopefully add some context to your abilities. Also there seems to be a bug where certain clients have a much slower movement speed than others. I have no clue what's causing this :(

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:59am

I think I see where this is going. It was really hard to play for some reason, and the right mouse button that was supposed to be held down kept popping up a menu instead, so I'm not sure I was able to play it correctly.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:02am

Very unique concept, with a lot of potential if done right. It's a little difficult to complete with so few people on right now though. Two issues stand out to me, mouse controls don't seem to do anything, at least not in the web version, and what's the number text field for? Overall a cool idea, good job!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:18am

Tutorial would be helpful, and maybe a bit fast of movement. Interesting and thoughtful concept tho.

Split82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:36am

Unfortunately I can't connect. There is just black screen after I press join game button.

explosivose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:38am

I like this. It was hard to get to grips with, thrown in the deep end and you can't communicate with one another.

alcorrius says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:42am

Very interesting idea. Also want a tutorial level =) And maybe some bots who can help with colors, if I understand how to play...

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43am

No idea what was going on, wasn't any fun.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:15am

Feels a bit different when it comes to design. Both game and visual..

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:58am

Couldn't understand what to do, I wont rate it.

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:37pm

A bit too tricky to figure out, could use a lot more polish :). But great idea! (And great use of the theme)

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Like others are saying, the potential seems amazing here. Reminds me of my submission, which was also a simplistic looking FPS made in Unity. Please check it out if you haven't :)

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Lovely! Too bad I couldn't get anyone else to play it! :(

sprawl says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:03am

Great idea, but very hard to understand at first.
I cant seem to pass the second obstacle, is it possible alone ?

Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Challenging game ! The multiplayer idea is really interesting ! Great work !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]