December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Chance to Impress your Girlfriend with a Game You Made

by 2HitAdam - Jam Entry

I made this game as a Christmas gift for my girlfriend. When I told her I was doing the jam and what the theme was, she suggested the above title, having no idea I was actually making it for her. I thought it was pretty funny.

She loves mermaids and I love drowning voyagers at sea, this game is the best of both worlds!

Instructions on link.

This is my first jam but there will be more, if you like it feel free to follow me on twitter! I like getting to know devs and their projects, especially during jam sessions -- @2HitAdam :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#59Humor(Jam)3.47
#261Graphics(Jam)3.24
#262Fun(Jam)2.86
#291Innovation(Jam)2.78
#309Mood(Jam)2.79
#360Theme(Jam)2.48
#410Overall(Jam)2.74
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53pm

A fun and cool idea, the game runs well and the only thing that can improve it is some music.

Solluxx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00pm

haha I love the premise. Nice job!

cwkx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Really cute little entry, hope she liked it :)

d__adee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Nice little game! :) Add music or sound effects and it'll be more fun.

But the question is, is your GF impressed with the game you made? :D

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:04pm

I'll come back and re-score the theme when you tell us what your girlfriend thought!

tnerb says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:10am

This is possibly the cutest entry I've seen yet. Nice little game!

deathray says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:38am

Very nice! I wish it were a little more challenging, but I like the concept and the gameplay.

angelk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:50am

That's really cute, hope your girlfriend liked it!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:05am

Really nice Game ! Congratulations.

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:56am

cool little concept, I really dig the graphical style

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:05am

Haha love the graphics! Very cute! ^^

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:04pm

cool idea xD

dudsen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:47pm

The whole sea bottom was covered with skeletons :D
DIE PIRATES!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Awesome! Love the idea of this and it's the most fun I've had so far on any of the games :D would be good if you added a score too if you're wanting to develop it more.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Funny concept, cute art. I hope she was impressed :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Very nice little game! It's a bit too easy but nevertheless it got me drowning lots of pirates!
You could add "drown count" so one can get his score and impress his girlfriend too - "look babe, I've drowned lots of people in your honor"! :D
Btw I hope you've impressed her!

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Thanks for playing all! It's a Christmas present so I have to wait a little while to show her, but I'll definitely update on her reaction when that happens :) Til then, shhh! Keep it on the down-low, you're all my co-conspirators now ;)

Also: sound, music and score are all good suggestions that I plain old forgot, and will go in! (as well as a murder count for die hard romantics like you Denis Chakarov ahaha)

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:30am

This is cute.. I like the graphics and the pirates drowning. There isn't much point in me moving around, though; basically I just stay in the same spot and jump when the admiral turns around. Right?

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:50am

Yeah pretty much, it's not very challenging. What I'd like to do is have the screen scroll when you move, and have the admiral's ship moving right the whole time. If he comes across a pirate ship he'll get boarded and thrown overboard. That way it'd play more like an escort mission, keep him safe from A to B by drowning the pirates, making it a little harder and giving the player more of an objective.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:26am

Good fun game; scores and sound effects would improve it but the gameplay is solid and it makes a change to have a game where the enemy falls on sight instead of the player.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Nice simple little game

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:02am

Great job on the graphics! Took me a second but then I understood i need to wait till the admiral looks the other way to jump. Was your girlfriend impressed?

Thijsku says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:37am

Haha, it's a funny little game! It's a bit easy since you just wait for the admiral to turn, but I think the concept is pretty fun. Good job :)

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Thanks all! I can now happily report it was a massive success! About a minute after I showed her she was bragging all over facebook about her gamedev boyfriend haha so NAILED IT! :D

Snuti says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:35pm

The mermaid looks so cute and I really like the concept behind the whole game. Adding some music would have been a bonus but overall, really nice work :D

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:50am

was your GF impressed? ;)

I like it. fun little idea. But it could really use some sounds and bg music :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]