December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shards of One

by Gungnir - Jam Entry

One day, one man, one chance. Can a soul, once shattered, be reclaimed whole?

Now is the time.

Game Description:
SHARDS OF ONE is a short text-driven adventure, set within a fictitious cold-war scenario. One defining choice is the key to revealing the past, present and future.

Notes:
- There is no absolute end, as such. When to stop is up to you.

- Use ESC key to exit the game


@Grinning_Pickle

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#81Mood(Jam)3.55
#188Overall(Jam)3.26
#193Theme(Jam)3.03
#299Innovation(Jam)2.76
#444Humor(Jam)1.41
#457Fun(Jam)2.32
#476Graphics(Jam)2.36
#481Audio(Jam)1.20

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Awesome story! You really manage to portray this depressed but still human character. I also like how the death article (?) changes depending on where in the story you choose "Now is the time".

Cipher says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:31pm

That gave me some chills. Its amazing how you could portray such depression is such a short length of text! I call that kind of thing talent :)

KeyMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Really great game/interactive story! I played through every ending and enjoyed learning more and more about the protagonist's life and backstory. Good work!

Ludipe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:47pm

I really like the game, the story is very deep and it gets to the player. It keeps you thinking about life for a while.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26pm

There isn't much gameplay wise, but it's compensated by a quite powerful story. I really got immersed in it. Wish it had some music for atmosphere.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Wow... didn't expect that. The 2nd text game I've played this LD. Great font, great story! A bit depressing.... but that's a good thing!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I applaud your writing skills, that was certainly something else.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Thanks guys. Was interesting to try something different this time around. We also wanted some music in there, but ran short of time and couldn't come with anything quite suitable (droning and soviet). Lesson learned - find a sound guy :)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Great. Short but really well executed. Good job!

Warzone says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:05pm

This is pretty interesting and unique.

drkrunk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Very well done. I do like text games and this one was very impressively written. I felt really sad for the main character.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Dark, but with a message. Moving and touching. Respect!

Nut says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Web link seems to be broken.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:49am

@Nut Seems okay from this end; let us know if you have ongoing issues.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Great story ! I love it !

OneDee says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Good story!

Kareemroks101 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Very deep story despite its length, you have great writing skills. I really liked it!

somepx says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:30am

Innovative and unique - I like the concept to 'END' the adventure at different points, excellent work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]