December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

SUPERBLADE

by folmerkelly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

SUPERBLADE! A quick and tense ninja adventure. Walk the path of SUPERBLADE and cut down all those in your way, until they cut you down.

Arrow keys to move
X to hack at dudes.

Here is a link to the version on Stencyl if you don't like Newgrounds: http://www.stencyl.com/game/play/23163

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Graphics4.31
#33Audio3.72
#74Overall3.73
#86Fun3.59
#118Mood3.46
#161Innovation3.48
#260Humor2.89
#604Theme2.67
#1571Coolness22%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:01am

This is great! I love the level generation animation you did there. It's fun, too. I really like this game.

Absurditure says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43am

Loving the visuals/audio/polish!

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

so fun! Great music, gameplay and idea :) yay!

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:19am

Enemies can go to spikes and sometimes you and the enemy occupy the same tile. Really enjoyed playing it despite all that though! :D

donmatheo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:40pm

great game!

rezoner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:59pm

I've recognized your art. Came to give it some love. Great game.

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Folmerkelly style is unique - I <3 this game. Really best entry so far! :D
I didn't get the "You Only Get One" theme tho!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:42pm

This is wonderful.
The animation for when the level generates can get a little annoying after a while, would love to be able to skip it.
Other than that, AMAZING work!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:59am

Love the graphics and the detail in animation! It was pretty fun to play, although it was also really frustrating at times. I wish that enemies had the same handicaps you did, such as not being able to go on spiked tiles and that we couldn't occupy the same space. Otherwise I had a fun time playing! (Even if I'm awful at it haha)

tak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11am

really fun, and perfectly difficult! the electro music suits the GB palette really well, without sounding overtly chip-tuney or anything like that

this and huoheian pair together well :D you should make a ninja minigame collection :O

lightsoda says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:44am

Nice graphics, the board animation was a nice touch. I probably would've preferred not being able to occupy the same square as the opposing ninja.

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Nice graphics, loved the music. Had fun playing!

Colorvade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:47am

I couldn't win because I kept moving to the beat.

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Sweet game! Wasn't able to get very far, I'm such a sucky ninja. It was a bit disappointing that the enemies couldn't get hurt by the spikes, but that wouldn't probably work from a game design perspective. :P Oh and the music made my head nod, so full 5 stars on that department. :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Looks and sounds amazing! Great fun concept too and properly addictive. Awesome entry dude!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Lovely style! :D

Jeremias says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:12pm

This game is really fun. The game's theme (ninjas) and the gameplay are really strongly connected. Sometimes, it is a bit unfair if a round starts with a shooting enemy in front of you, but I can cope with that. My record was 9 or 10 rounds. The graphics and the audio are good, too. Good job! (Don't forget to link to the source, so others can learn from it!)

Unept says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:04pm

So fun. So fun. Simple and fun and tense.

That moment when you find you've been playing it for a bit, mouth open in a goofy smile. while at work.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:21am

Simple and fun, and with lots of juice! Felt really nice to play.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Really nice art, and minimalist gameplay. It's hard, but I enjoyed it! :)

miwuc says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Impressively polished game!
If we're all ninjas, why can they walk on spikes and I can't? :(

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Great game! I found it too complicated at time. Probably because I'm extremely bad at it... :'(

Photon says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:22am

Nice. Isn't too flashy but it does its job and does it well. Good job.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:57am

Awesome awesome awesome

tchem says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:24am

perfect!!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:25am

Solid and simple gameplay

y2bd says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:46am

This game is dangerously hard, but immensely fun. And of course, the presentation is fantastic.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:34am

Hard, but very well executed and polished. Reminded me of MegaMan Battle Network a bit!

runvs says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:52am

Great Game. This made me really sweat!
Graphic style is awesome and the polish is also well done!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Awesome game! The concept, the art, the music - all perfect! Would be great if it had multiplayer, hotseat for example. Some things felt a bit unfair though:
- the AI could move over the spikes.
- if I move over the AI's place, then I die. When it moves over me - I die again. I guess in the second case it should die instead.
- resetting of the score is a bit hardcore. You could keep the kills of both parties and compete for the difference.
It's a compo entry but without the source?
Nevertheless a great game! Congratulations!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:31pm

impressive polish! and that music!

anvoz says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:40am

Nice concept and graphics.

The game was too hard. I could not make more than 2 kills in a row.

Husky says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:35am

Awesome!
And I like the Gameboy style graphics!

angelk says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:26am

very difficult to survive! I totally loved the animation.

Christian S. says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:56am

Great entry. Love the art style!

foumart says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Like the fast gameplay here. Just one second for a win :D The unpredictable AI demands it :) but i don't like the back-to-back effect with enemy.

Arkrothe says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Everything was so visceral! Great music, awesome art, and addicting gameplay.

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:25pm

well made entry. I just found it a little unfair when the enemy spawned right in front of you and then walked into you

graphics kick ass

Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Great game, I like the tile-based mechanics. Ace graphics & animation, too.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Sick colour pallet!

xhunterko says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:29am

Very cool! A little glitchy between the win and loss conditions. But otherwise very solid. Could make a great turn based multiplayer game too.

GFM says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:23am

Awesome game! It's really fun and well made! The song is great and those graphics are amazing!
The polish in this game is also great... all the animations and different tiles... it's something simple, but it keeps things interesting!

The game was indeed hard, but I didn't find it unfair. Except the fact that spikes hurt you but don't hurt enemies... that's cheap!

Amazing job!:D

raarlac says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:55pm

multiplayer please!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]