December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only get one... Potato Peeler!

by cptalbertwesker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sometimes you just can't get much better in life than one potato peeler. Unfortunately for our protagonist it's his new career, join them as they enter the foray of professional potato peeling. Well... as professional as it can get in a dank and dirty sense.

Made for the 48 hour Comp in Game Maker with the use of GIMP, MS Paint and Audacity.

There's a couple bugs that I'm aware of, but please let me know if you find any others, unfortunately I didn't have the time for thorough testing on the different browsers.

Incidentally if you are playing on the web, the audio may take a little while before it begins to play properly.

Just a bit of silly fun, why not see how long you can last in the fast paced world of potato peeling!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#36Humor3.83
#159Mood3.36
#381Audio2.75
#483Graphics2.96
#565Innovation2.81
#676Theme2.56
#779Overall2.65
#857Fun2.30
#965Coolness49%

Comments

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:09am

An interesting take on the theme! I enjoyed the humor and atmosphere, "dank and dirty" definitely describes it. I think I know now what it feels like to peel potatoes professionally.

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:33am

Weird but interesting! A pro potato peeling simulator is not a thing you see everyday! ;D

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35pm

I think this might be the best professional potato peeler simulator on the market right now. Good job.

d2king10 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:22pm

I like the idea of only getting one "tool" for the job, but I think it could have been expanded by allowing the user to select a tool, each with pros and cons.

Before Light says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:39am

It's more fun and easier than doing it in real life. The cut thing was a good idea. I like that you created it to look dirty. Simple, great.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Funny game ;) Now i want to eat potato

Inso says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:56am

Simple but great game. Didnt know when I'd be able to win it, or if it's simply winnable. I enjoyed it, still.

dudsen says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Ha, I'm the worst peeler ever! Way to dangerous, I'll stick to frozen pizza ;)
Clicking to get a new potato seemed to be a bit buggy. Got a new one on ever 4th click or so :/ Funny idea though!

Miltage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:30pm

An on-screen timer would be nice, a beat-the-clock kind of game. Being able to peel your own hand when not holding a potato would have been cool, it would force the player to slow down and be careful, an expansion on your cut idea.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:24am

uhmm... wow.. I died because i was to slow? haha cool game...

MrBlade says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:35am

Nice game! Very original premise. Nice graphics, good sounds. It seems like whatever peeler I pick, it is always the default. Oops. Haha, nice work!

loxo says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:29pm

Interesting game. I like the unusual idea, the audio and the humor, especially at the beginning. It would be nice to see how many potatoes are already peeled and a timer to know how much time is left. At the moment it's hard to know if I get better or not. Also you could count the days the player is successfully working as a professional potato peeler.

Catmoo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:36pm

I think you nailed potato peeling! I think it's one of your best games so far! I agree with people saying it woulda been cool to be able to peel your hands when not holding a potato. The poor monotonous life of a potato peeler!

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:45pm

It really does feel like you're just sitting and peeling potatoes :/

sahoskins1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:23pm

strangely addictive. Good effort!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]