December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gods of Baloo

by timtipgames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

--Please read this description but don't read the comments before you are done playing or think you are stuck, as they contain spoilers--

The game is 126,2% physics driven. If you get stuck for whatever reason, just press "G" on your keyboard to suicide and restart the level you are in. You can only control the balloon.

The game rewards you for playing to the end.
It also saves your progress locally.All but the very first door stay open once you finished the level behind it.

One last important info:
To enter activated doors, you have to enter the "sparkling" door with your balloon. Hitting it with your grasping device won't work.

Everything else is explained ingame - well - as much as needed.

Please let me know if you encounter any difficulties via comment, Twitter(@TimTipGames) or mail TimTipGames at gmail.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#28Audio3.74
#29Mood3.89
#90Overall3.68
#95Innovation3.66
#145Fun3.45
#229Graphics3.50
#333Humor2.64
#415Theme3.04

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:29am

Very atmospheric game, I love the music! Simple but effective graphics. Got a bit stuck in the end but that's probably my brain failing after a long weekend. Thanks for posting this!

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:31am

Extrememly impressive game with beautiful gameplay and music. Loved every level! I droped the diamond through the level on the 3rd one though :(

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37am

I'm having trouble running this game. When I start it, the game goes fullscreen with a dark gray color. There's music playing.

I'm on 64 bit linux, I've got an nVidia graphics card, and I'm using Awesome window manager. I can give you any other info you might need.

Here's the output in the terminal:

chris@spire:~/Desktop$ java -jar GodsOfBaloo.jar
Resolution: 5760 led to scaleFact: 3.0
com.timtips.ressources.AssetManager: trying to get batch before preload called
Loading level nr: 7
Adding body: ground - Entity[0]
Found meta data
Found playerStart position at: [720.0:-239.0]

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37am

I enjoyed it not only for the actual game itself but also for swinging around the hook! When I got to (what I assume to be) the end, I got a little carried away swinging my friend around and lost them, so I pressed 'G' to reset; unfortunately the game went grey and seemed to hold up, then closed. Despite that I still enjoyed it!

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:40am

Never mind, I turned off some monitors, and all is well. I am a sucker for physics games, and this one is really cool.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56am

@DaanVanYperen, thanks for playing. I'll check out yours later because I didn't get when I tried it a while ago. Need some sleep too :)

@disdanes That's a bug that I fixed because it is actually of the category "game breaking" because you can't reach the rest of the game :) Thanks for playing!

@Chris Mondok: I've seen that on unix systems with multiple monitors before. Thank you very much for the detailed error description though - that's much more than many people do. Glad you enjoy it.

@kbake I just tried that, the last level is actually the only one where the game crashes when you try to reset. I had to rush that part so sorry for the trouble. I may be fixing that tomorrow, because in my opinion the game is really about finishing it.

Going to play all of your games tomorrow. Sooo tired now :)

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22am

This is a truly awesome game. It was a bit hard to get a hang of the controls but the concept was amazing and the execution was great. 5/5 on that audio, too, such great music and the baloon popping actually made me jump a bit, haha :)

Also, fullscreen? U fancy huh?

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Nicely executed! Played to the surprising end :D Really great audio + overall. Physics is almost perfectly balanced/set up for the time that you had. I'm impressed ;-)

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Great mood, nice graphics, soothing audio. Restarting from the first room after accidentally "sacrificing my friend" was a bit frustrating

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Fun! :), although on the second level I always restart back to the first? I am not sure why? (seems like it happens if I try to put the girl basket dude on the sacrifice alter.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:31pm

@TeddyNashor If you are set back to level one, you aren't supposed to sacrifice your friend. Try to sacrifice something else.
@Danman9914 Yeah it's close to frustrating. But I wanted the wrong sacrifice to matter, as it also has an effect on the ending.
@zconnelly13 anything wrong with fullscreen? Didn't know the cool kids don't play fullscreen anymore ;)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Lovely mood! The game really feels nice and polished! :)

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Great concept, much more fun than many commercial physics based games, well done!

Gerjj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Very challenging to begin with but a great concept and very well pulled off - props to whoever did the collision detection!

skarab says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Great physics! Nice mood with pleasant music.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Well that sure took a dark turn...
Now I am carrying a damn potato for the rest of eternity because of you >:[
Really not sure if I love this or hate this... But it's just so well done!
5/5 for innovation and mood!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Good athmosphere, and the gameplay was also solid. The music really gave it an 'emotional' touch. Good entry!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:53pm

I sacrificed my only friend :(.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:55pm

This is one of the best entries I have seen. Cool art style - I love the clouds and the cute little guys. I found an Issue: I have to command-option-esc to leave the game on os x.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Really enjoyed the game. Physics were impressive. Unfortunately I couldn't seem to get the 'good ending' that I assume exists. Not sure what I missed. :(

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Great graphics, good atmosphere, and an interesting story. Controls took some getting used to, but I imagine that's a large part of the intended challenge of the game.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Another relaxing game! I loved the mood, the physics were really well done. The music fits the game perfectly, and most of all, the level design is quite clever. I liked the idea of a main level with gates leading to other levels, and to the last sacrifice.
So yeah I really enjoyed this journey with gods, brillant game! :D

Jeremias says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:07pm

The physics work well. Nice atmosphere. I didn't got the "good" ending everyone is talking about.

SPOILER:
I sacrificed the diamond in the second level on two different tables and not the buddy, but the game gets always reset.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Enjoyed playing this. I really like the twist happens when you sacrifice your friend too early. :) The story is nice, as well. In the end I had a feeling this was a dream of a person dying of cancer.

Last puzzle was too hard. There were too many fireballs everywhere and it turned into a game of testing patience.

Nice work, mate!

pighead10 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Very atmospheric. Fun mechanics overall and a lot of content. Relaxing.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:27am

Amazing! By far the best I played so far...

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:28am

Really cool game, I like the game mechanic of having to take care of your friend. I love the graphic design (the characters were a nice touch) and the gameplay a log (even though I suck at patience games). Great work!

gingerBill says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:32am

If it's a physics game, I already love it. I has nothing to do with being a physicist just they are awesome! This is no exception. The graphics are very cute and the music is very atmospheric.

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:42am

Neat physics game. There's a few places that feels a bit buggy (like where you have to bring up your friend to the gods) but it's interesting how the grasp doesn't always fully grip on the object 100%. If you shake it enough, sometimes they fall through, but eh! The look and feel of the game is great. Controls are easy and intuitive enough.

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:09am

Great entry! Played to the end and really enjoyed it. I love the feeling of being a floating prize claw :D Seems like this could be explored a lot more; very cool!

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:12am

This games greatest feature was its atmosphere. Had a great mood to it. And the music was awesome.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:20am

Enjoyed the physics mechanics, fun game. :)

Monoquartz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Well finished and pretty nice physics ! Nice job. :)

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Very impressive! Enjoyed it very much. I encountered no immediate flaws. Well done!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Very slick. The sound is very well done and the physics are challenging without being annoying. One of my favourite games so far.

But what sort of game allows you to sacrifice your only friend? I guess you only get one...

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Really nicely made, I liked the style of the characters. The whole concept is pretty interesting actually. Nice easter egg at the end. Good job.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:18am

Haha i love it. Great art style tho, very stylistic

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:31am

Awesome game with very soothing atmosphere, but quite hard for me, my bother is much better. Really loved it.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:28pm

I loved the concept and accidentaly sacrifing your friend was clever. Got a bit stuck at the end though: the most upper block didn't sparkle? And there were two other, but I only had one diamond and that didn't do a lot, so I was kind of lost.. Music was really nice!

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:56am

The music fits the game well. Graphics were very nice too.

mortus says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:59pm

While the concept, graphics, music and mood are great, I don't think I understood what exactly I was or why my eternal punishment was the same exact thing I seem to be doing my whole life. Don't get me wrong, I absolutely loved the game in its almost every aspect, but I don't think I've grasped its philosophical message.

I wonder about the music though. The melody sounded very, very familiar to me. Is it based on some popular track that I could have heard or is it a coincidence?

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:04pm

@mortus There is a lot of room for interpretation and the whole story grew during development rather than having a message I wanted to communicate. So I find it absolutely reasonable that you couldn't find a meaning in it. The turning point in the story is that when you reach the gods they tell you that "you have been here all along" so you have already been dead and the whole "life" (read: game before gods) was you transferring into eternity. There's more interpretation on top of that, that I have, but I thought the rest could be up to the player instead of making it explicit. Sorry that it missed you :)

I recorded that music during the compo without another song in mind that I wanted to reference. But it's possible that there is similar music, especially given that it's not that complex and uses rather simple patterns. If you find the song that I unconsciously referenced let me know :)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:33pm

interesting physics game, worth a play nice one tim

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Great physics game and wonderful music too! I like the surprise of the 'third item' which you carry as the credits role!

Ditto says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:35pm

That music. Damn. Almost made me cry! The physics work really well, takes a while to get used to, but works really well when you get the hang of it! Loved everything about this except the end, *spoiler* the potato really destroyed the atmosphere for me :(

Sebastian says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Very beautiful game, though I inadvertently sacrificed my only friend. Twice :/
The music fits nicely.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]