December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Turret 101101

by savethejets1 - Jam Entry

Turret 101101 is a tower defence platformer where you only get one turret.

This was my 5th entry into Ludum Dare, and my first with the Phaser.js game engine.

Note: the physics in engine I used seem to mess up from time to time in the version I used, given the time frame I wasn't able to fix this issue. So if you tunnel under the platforms press 'P' to restart at a base. I apologize if you run into this.






To pick up the turret Stand on top of it and press 'E'. If you hit it from the sides the physics can mess up. Again, apologies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#148Innovation(Jam)3.23
#166Graphics(Jam)3.64
#187Mood(Jam)3.13
#188Theme(Jam)3.05
#193Audio(Jam)3.10
#239Overall(Jam)3.14
#251Fun(Jam)2.91
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

harsanalif says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:00am

Hmm, I'm stuck when trying to drop and pick up the weapon several times in the beginning (error 'length' of undefined on Phaser line 9810).
Otherwise, I like the games and it's battle mechanic. Also, it need more type of enemies :)

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:41am

I had issues picking up the turret, so I left it where it was in the game, and it did pretty well for me...
Fun little game, good work..!

grimgraybeard says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:07am

I like the idea of some kind of puzzle defense. Some different turrets and enemies and this will be awesome.

anvoz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Really fun to play. Nice work!

embero says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Looks like a nice idea, but I'm getting an Exception:

Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'length' of undefined phaser.js:9810
Phaser.Signal.removeAll phaser.js:9810
Phaser.Signal.dispose phaser.js:9892
Phaser.Events.destroy phaser.js:17373
Phaser.Sprite.destroy phaser.js:19686
Player.update Tutorials.js:43
Phaser.World.update phaser.js:12521
Phaser.Game.update phaser.js:13164
Phaser.RequestAnimationFrame.updateRAF phaser.js:23204
_onLoop phaser.js:23189

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Wow those spider things are tough. I liked the character design of your main guy

savethejets1 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:45am

K I've submitted a fix for the crash errors. Let me know if it still happens...

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Dying felt very easy, but the concept is great!

romandtom says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:08pm

nice idea and nice game.
but I had some bugs, sometimes the map disappered for example.

Jedi says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:11pm

I really like the look and feel of the game but it just seems really buggy (on Firefox).

At one point my character jumped from the left side of the screen, to the bottom and through the terrain, and then back to the top and all over the place.

After wave 1 was complete, nobody else ever came. :(

I think some of these problems aren't your fault so I'm rating you N/A in all but graphics, (which is 4*).

Peni6 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Unable to run, bad pickup then game dissapears

Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:03am

The game is nice! :D nice graphics and fun gameplay! :D Excellent work! :D but there is a time when the player just disappears :(

euske says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:24am

Nice idea but the implementation was a bit glitchy. When I went to the second level there's no enemy appeared during an attack wave.

FrederickK says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:30am

I liked the idea, but it doesn't have much deep to the gameplay, when you put the turret at the location you want there isn't much more to do...
As others said, different turret/enemies would be great!
Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]