December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Xcape

by syawqy - Jam Entry

control :

move using mouse

left click to shoot

left click on the ship / space key to enter slow motion

when in slow motion click anywhere to launch your hook

plot :

you're escaping black hole using a small space ship, that eventually will be sucked by black hole, but you won't give in, because you have ultimate space powered hook that can grab other ship and take control of it.

so you must use other ships that flying around you to continue escaping black hole, watch out for debrises that are flying toward you. your ship will wreck in an instant if you hit by debrises

music credit :

tactical pursuit by matthew pablo

http://opengameart.org/content/tactical-pursuit

tools :
flashpunk
flashdevelop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#153Fun(Jam)3.19
#189Innovation(Jam)3.09
#305Audio(Jam)2.74
#318Mood(Jam)2.76
#325Humor(Jam)2.13
#332Overall(Jam)2.94
#398Graphics(Jam)2.71
#471Theme(Jam)2.13

Comments

Robinerd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:36am

I like it! Nice style, but is it really allowed to use pre-made / public domain music in a compo entry? Any way, good work on this game! :)

onemoar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41am

Really fun idea, made me laugh while playing :)

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:09am

Fun! Old-school crunchy noises are always pleasing.

syawqy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:13am

thanks for reminding me Robinerd
now moved to jam entry

embero says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:09am

Like it a lot, cool gameplay idea!
And it haz grappling hookz!!

anvoz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Really fun to play, nice and simple.

chardish says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40pm

I liked this a lot. The hijack mechanic is very interesting and made me wonder why there were even normal guns in the game. Would be cool if the different ships had different strengths/weaknesses so there were different reasons to pick them.

syawqy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26am

@chardish
yeah, I'm thinking about that too, but in the end, what make them different just amount of ammo they hold, if you notice a number in left down corner, that's show how much ammo your ship has

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Good and lovely game but I fail to find a connection to the theme.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:03am

Nice art style and very fun, and it's always refreshing to see a space shooter with something different. Good work!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:44am

Nice art, and nice music. Fun too!

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:51am

Old School feel. good job

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:05am

While this doesn't seem to clearly match the theme, grabbing new ships like this is a pretty interesting and fun mechanic, and the gameplay pacing seems good. One thing to note: when I die by reaching the bottom of the screen, at least for me, I am still able to grab new ships, even after the game over message appears. Good job!

finefin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:13am

a nice little shmup. the ship switching is working good and adds something different to the genre. well done!

fizzhog says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:47pm

The hook is a really nice idea.

michail says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:14am

Really cool and fresh idea. The slowdown also works very well and makes it easier to effectively use the hook. But the connection with the theme seems a bit loose.

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:09am

Nice game. The hook makes this space shooter better than the others :D

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:12am

Really nice music! I like the grapple design too!.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Nice gameplay. I liked the concept of hooking onto new ships to proceed, but it was hard to figure out how to use the hook. My best score was 5092.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:15pm

This game is fun to play.
4/5 for fun.

sekaru says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:51am

Loving the ship grabbing mechanic!

Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:18pm

The game was really fun and i liked the idea for it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]