December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Constrained

by Split82 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This time I had only 3 hours to make the whole game, so (compared to my previous games) it's quite short and without sound and music, anyway I hope you will enjoy it ;)
Everything important is explained in the game.
Use arrows to move.
Made in Unity / C#

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Theme4.31
#13Innovation4.12
#28Fun3.84
#38Overall3.87
#238Mood3.18
#330Graphics3.25
#597Humor2.00
#813Audio1.06
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Kinzata says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:42am

I really like the concept. You should come back and add more levels later when you have time!

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:08am

Very good, amazing that you were able to make it in just 3 hours!

Roobean says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:22am

Reminded me of 140 which is an awesome thing, very nice game short but good, (Link to 140; http://store.steampowered.com/app/242820/)

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:24am

Cool stuff! The idea is simple and well executed. Impressive that you made it in 3 hours.

burgerdare says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:56am

brilliant work for a three hour piece. Strongly reccomend you expand this.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:48am

Simple but nice. Very Thomas was alone-ish in the graphics! :)

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04am

Nice use of the only get one theme.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

really really amazing for 3 hours! awesome job

ThetaTauTau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:05am

Congratulation, that's really good : fun, in the theme, simple but good graphics. That's very impressive for a 3 hour game!

pereubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:08am

wow nice idea. Great job on the level design :D

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:18am

Nice little puzzle / jump'n'run combo. Too bad you didn't have enough time to design more levels (or whatever you call the sections between the safepoints) and add sounds. The graphics are quite basic, but very appealing - especially the parallax scrolling of the text gives an awesome effect!

NuSan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Absolutly great, completly insane to make that in 3 hours. The idea is perfect, too bad there is no more levels ^^. Keep pushing a direction for a long time can be a bit painfull.

allinlabs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Pretty good concept you got here. Such a shame you only got 3 hours, I would have loved to play more levels. Very impressive though

Tragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:22pm

I like the concept and design. Would definitely like to see more of it... Too bad you only got three hours to make the game.

Anoarith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:18am

That was awesome !

goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:46am

Nice idea! Reminds me of "Thomas was alone".
I could foresee some interesting puzzles coming out of this game.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:17am

I really like how you use the theme in the game mechanic.
A pity you had only 3 hours, I can't imagine what you could have done in 48.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:22pm

This is Awesome game mechanics. Design is simple and clever. leveldesign is gorgeous. Great work. Too short, yeah. But it powerful thing =)

piotrszoka says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05pm

It's great and i love the idea behind it. At first i thought it was bugged(i think that the tutorial text should be one of the first things you see) but when i understood it i was amazed. It's one of the greatest game mechanics i've seen so far in this LD.

megaelliott says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:01pm

This was really fun haha! Kind of platformer mixed with a bit of puzzle strategy! Was very interesting and frustrating at the same time! You should definitely add more levels in the future

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Really cool even for a game made in 3 hours. The idea was interesting it still looked polished. Really nice job!

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Pretty interesting and fun mechanic and the puzzles were pretty good regardless of the 3 hours.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Really impressive puzzle design and graphics, especially for such a short amount of time. I definitely want to see this game expanded further.

gamepopper says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:31pm

I really love the concept and the challenge. This should really be developed further.

miwuc says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Very clever use of the theme, and impressive for 3 hours! Would love to see more content.

DiscoFish says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Awesome idea!

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Awesome mechanics. Audio and move levels would make it an awesome game.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:14pm

"I only had X hours" is not an excuse. You had 48 hours, or even 72 if you'd jammed. Whatever obligations you might've have during all that should still have left you with plenty of time to do more content.

Regardless, I think it's a promising concept, and I like the way you need to collect the arrows in the right order. The minimalistic presentation is appropriate.

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:52pm

These mechanics are astoundingly genius. For only three hours, this is absolutely incredible!

Husky says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:24am

A new type puzzle game!
I like your idea, it really fit the theme :)

Skoggy says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Nice idea and and nicely executed!

Tom 7 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:14am

Really quite impressive for three hours! It is a bit hard to keep track of what I have active when executing, though maybe that is part of the point. On the second puzzle I was just doing trial and error until I found a path that worked. It's a clever idea, though and I had fun!

local minimum says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:31am

Really great concept and what a feat to do it in such a short time. Got stuck right about where your main screenshot is taken. So I think you could develop this further with a smoother progression of difficulty and more levels. Also maybe have a bit longer (or introduce) a grace-period to decrease the number of resets?

Harsay says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I wish it was longer ;)

johnfn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Oh wow... dat gameplay mechanic is really intriguing.

Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:00am

Very cool idea! Deserves more attention and post-compo work! Keep it up!

anvoz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:41pm

Really cool idea. Good take on the theme. Only in 3 hours but it's really well made. I love to see more levels to play.

yosh says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Such a great concept!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Nice gameplay mechanics and nice level design. Rated highly. :)

Jeremias says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:59am

A very nice use of the theme, good job! Even for the short time of creation, it looks good yet minimalistic.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]