December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

When Arthur found love

by Kayelgee - Jam Entry

Follow the story of a little factory robot discovering what else there is beside his little workplace. Will he find love eventually or will he stay a heartless machine? Follow him in his quest and help him find the best usage for his limited abilities. But remember you can use his abilities only ONCE...per level. Set up your orders and watch him drive, turn, fly, magnetize and grab his way through mindblowing levels.

Instructions:
- Click on your unused abilities to plan them
- Click start
- Arthur will execute your planned abilities in the order you chose

Credits:
Game by:
Kamil "KayelGee" Galecki

Music and Voice Acting by:
Alexander "seniorheuser" Heuser

Update:
I put stand alones up for people who have problems with the Unity Web Player. I haven't tested these, so tell me if eveything is working when you use them :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#96Humor(Jam)3.20
#109Innovation(Jam)3.33
#156Audio(Jam)3.25
#169Overall(Jam)3.31
#172Mood(Jam)3.20
#204Fun(Jam)3.04
#364Graphics(Jam)2.84
#369Theme(Jam)2.45

Comments

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Great game play. Reminds of of an older board game: "RoboRally".

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Bit of a challenge but I think I managed.

Move127 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:15am

Amazing game. Not really sure where the theme comes in, but I would love to see more of this game, particularly if you can come up with some really difficult puzzles.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:16am

I was disappointed it ended. The story/narration were nice and you could probably engineer some really cool puzzles with these mechanics, given more time to dedicate to it. Very nice concept and game.

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:18am

Aw. :)

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:18am

pretty neat. voice-acting was a nice touch

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:34am

@theme: You only get one USE ;)
I'm really sorry for the ending. I had planned a few more levels, abilities and sadly more story telling but I had to cut it shorter especially because the voice acting wouldn't have been possible for later levels.

I won't promise anything but who knows maybe there'll be an "When Arthur found love - Chapter 2" ;)

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Very nifty game. It's pretty cool playing a puzzle game from a simple 1990s perceived future robot.

BitDemon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:58pm

I had fun playing this, I wish it was longer though.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:04pm

I love love love these kinds of sequence based games! I too was sad when it ended so soon, would love to see more levels and things to interact with. Please keep developing it! :)

Reminds me a lot of a ton of games, but Lightbot in particular: http://armorgames.com/play/6061/light-bot-20

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:12am

Great entry - wish it was longer, but it's always a good idea to leave people wanting more ;)

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:43pm

i really was confused by level 3

Katamori says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:35am

Amazing narratives!

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:54am

Loved it :) reminded me of a good turn based strategy rpg.

eerongal says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:15am

Nice little game. Kinda reminds me of "the stanley parable" with the narration.

30dogs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:17am

It was short but you did an amazing job on so many aspects. It's rare to hear some really great narration. The voice and style reminded me a lot of Thomas Was Alone. The whole thing was very charming and well done.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:35am

Great game! I don't see the theme in it, though, but I'd love it to go on. I was very interested in the next room :)

hadesfury says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Cool ... great combination between narative game and programing rotot

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:19am

I like the concept. Not fan of the audio though.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:13am

Lovely story!

van noctar says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Amazing! Very good concept!!

Static 64 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:15am

Nice and fun. It feels almost like programming tutorial games I've played before. The voice acting/narration was great, and I wouldn't change it, but I would like to be able to read the full text faster than the voice reads it. I got a little impatient to play the level.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]