December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Showdown

by madlee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A western pistol-duel game. You only get one shot and one life. Click anywhere to draw your pistol, and again to fire.

The red bars that appear in front of your opponent represent your chance to hit. As they converge, your accuracy goes up. Accuracy builds slowly from the start of a duel, and speeds up once you have drawn your pistol. Certain actions (drawing your pistol & taking a shot) will cause your opponent to 'flinch', causing them to lose accuracy. Accuracy built up prior to drawing is not effected, so there is some strategic value to delaying your draw.

With each successful win, you and your opponents gain small stat improvements. Additionally, there are eight 'achievements' that will give additional bonuses. Achievements are shown at the end of the round and are marked with a '*'.

In addition to the 8 achievements, there is an alternate character costume you can unlock with a high enough score.

The game should work in most browsers and supports touchscreen devices as well. The only issue I've seen is in Chrome, which renders everything blurry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#62Graphics4.05
#138Overall3.55
#141Theme3.55
#229Fun3.29
#253Mood3.15
#312Innovation3.18
#342Audio2.81
#597Humor2.00

Comments

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28am

Really cool graphical style and sound going on there. I'm still trying to get a grip on the mechanics, but I've enjoyed what I've played!

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30am

Love the feel and atmosphere the game brings

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:31am

Really nice! Addictive! Highest I got was to level 10. I thought the mechanic was fun, and it was an easy learning curve. Nice one!

pjchardt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:31am

Very nice. Really like the visual representation of the accuracy mechanic. Very cohesive as well. I was a little confused by the text description but once I started playing the game the draw and shoot mechanic is very intuitive.

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:33am

Took me a while to get a grasp of it. Fun game though!

Conflei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45am

Cool! but need more explanation!

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54am

I played this in chrome and it still looked pretty good. Nice pixel work, solid little title here.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:35am

Love the stand off, It was a thought for my game too, but I totally went with another idea.

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:55am

Really like the atmosphere and the animations, and it's also quite addicting.

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:19am

Nice, simple idea. I didn't seem to get very far (high score of 8, nowhere near what I needed to unlock the extra character), but I still very much enjoyed it. Nice work.

Thijsku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:38am

Nice game. Too bad the screen is so blurry, because the pixelart in your screenshot looks awesome. Great use of the theme though!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43am

I like the graphics a lot, but I feel like it would be better if the underlying mechanics were a little more transparent. It feels too much like luck, but the western high noon duel feels like it ought to be skill and speed.

Tao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52am

The efficient use of color, the small set of engaging tactics, the quick pace. Excellent game.

dudsen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16pm

How is it even possible to build up such a good mechanic within 48 hours? Alternate Character? Achievements? Supergood.

First few plays i died, the first one i hit the opponent felt awesome!
Battles are even better if both of the gunman fail to hit and need to reload. Very nice stuff there.

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:24pm

awesome pixel art graphics!

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Really digging the animations. Well done.

murilo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Nice graphics and animation! I enjoyed it once I got the hang of the mechanics!

meek says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Oh, man, this is ultra cool. My only issue is that the graphics are being interpolated, so it's all blurry. I can tell the pixel art is killer, though! Good job.

madlee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:51pm

thanks everyone. The blurry graphics are only a problem as far as I know in Chrome, though maybe in IE as well. Unfortunately the only work around is to either manually or procedurally create new assets for the larger window sizes, which I didn't have time to do, although maybe that falls under the purview of 'bug fixing"? If you are able to (and want to see it as intended", it should look right in Firefox or Safari.

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:44am

Great entry! I loved too the way you show the accuracy, and the fear of being killed if you're far in the levels.
Maybe I would have reduced the minimum chances to hit, I don't feel it that much.. Anyway, good job, it's awesome.

embero says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:25am

Awesome, I really like it.
Round 5 so far...

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:39am

Control is a bit weird. Nice graphic style though.

Sertkaya says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Really nice and uniqe game for contest. 5/5 frome me

harsanalif says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:38am

Love the art style and atmosphere. The gameplay also really suited to the theme! Need a bit practice to master the control for me :)

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:46am

Interesting art style, and neat accuracy mechanic. :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:20am

Really nice pixel art style and the gameplay was absolutely fun. I especially liked the converging red bars for accuracy mechanic (waiting for a perfect shot at the risk of being completely open).

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:50am

This was really awesome, a lot of fun and a great take on the theme with such a neat mechanic. Made me jump a couple of times too, I sucked pretty bad at it but I love the simplistic art direction and background nonetheless. Rated highly. :)

mystakin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:24pm

I love the silhouette graphical style, especially in a game about pistol dueling. The different messages you may receive for dying or winning are a nice touch!

"NOT TODAY"

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:12am

Nice pixel animations. The second guy always gets me.

teuchito says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Why is everything smoothed out?

teuchito says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Oh nevermind.

henrykun says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Love the animations. Very well done, nice atmosphere, simple but good gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]