December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gasha-power

by jprogman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**VERSION 3 UPDATE**
Yep, I have made a third version! This version is optimized further enough to reset the frame rate from 50hz back to 60hz again. I assure that the game is still the same as the first version, but with better performance.
I still have the first version up for your consideration, but you'll need a faster computer. (More details are on the journal entry.)

My specs (for optimal performance): 2.2Ghz Duo Processor with 512MB GPU, 3GB RAM

DESCRIPTION:
You are on the quest to find the big star. Along the way, you have capsules where you can collect, but cannot use. You need to find a nearby Gashapon machine to activate the power of "one" of your collected capsules.
I've programmed 5 different power-ups in total.

If you have more than one capsules collected when you are at a Gashapon, a power-up from one of those capsules would be randomly selected to you.

CONTROLS:
LEFT ARROW or "A" = move left
RIGHT ARROW or "D" = move right
UP ARROW or "W" = jump or double jump
SPACE BAR = fire a weapon (if you got)

NOTE: The hit-detection between the player and the enemies is hit-or-miss. It's not perfect, but it works a good majority of the time.

NOTE2: The windows version is only a test. I'm not sure if it will work on other computers other than mine. Let me know if it works on your computer. It works on my computer, but I have Flash CS5 installed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#166Graphics3.68
#415Fun2.97
#462Humor2.31
#465Overall3.04
#588Mood2.63
#763Audio1.41
#771Theme2.39
#914Innovation2.12

Comments

theCoder15 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39am

ok but too easy

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:34am

You did a great job with the cutesy, colorful graphics. It really reminded me of a Kirby game.

Very nice game here. Give it a go, peeps.

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Seconding Tyro here, the graphics are really reminiscent of Kirby. Really cool visual style.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:14pm

A great game, it is very fun with lots of great ideas. I wish there was sound, especially when you pound the monsters.

jprogman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Thanks for the comments so far! The graphics do have some resemblance to a Kirby game, but that wasn't my intention. I was intending to make a old-school platformer reminiscent of a typical NES game.

Mase says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:52am

It was fun finding different abilities, and the level was pretty coherently designed. I found both stars. :D

The colors are somewhat too green...

This game taught me the word "Gashapon."

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:45am

Awesome visual style but I got a bug. Said I got the boomerang but threw the star beam. Said I got the star beam but threw the boomerang.

Also, star beam is OP! lol

Needs some audio to make it feel complete, but the basic idea and execution here is really great. I could totally see this as a Gameboy game or something. Very very memorable characters and stage tiles.

jprogman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Lol, I noticed the name switch too after the deadline... boomerang <---> star beam

derdragon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:11am

Agree with the very Kirby graphics. Nothing wrong with that :)... Kinda felt like I should have scored a hit on enemies as long as I was higher than they were when I collided with them... but it seemed to be based more on my vertical velocity. Was kinda slow on my laptop. Nice job though!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:28am

Pretty good game. I didn't have any problems with it lagging.

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:13am

Love the Kirby-esque sprites here! The tiles were well done. Your enemy sprites are awesome!

drludos says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Very beautiful game, I love the art style!

Regarding perfomance, It is quite slow with my old netbook computer (a first generation eee-pc), and the web version feels likes as slow as the desktop windows one (which works btw).

I've seen your journal entry about performance issues, and I think for the next jams, if you are still wishing to make a flash-based pixel art platformer, you should try Flixel, it'll run way faster for such a game. Because with the classical Flash IDE you are using the "display list" approach (movieclip & co.), which is a very slow method of rendering if you create one big movieclip for the whole level. Indeed, as your whole level is one big object, Flash as to redraw it entirely on everyframe, hence the lags. IMHO I think you should put your levels elements (objects, ennemies, etc.) directly on stage, and move all of them each frame. And if they are outside the screen, try to turn their "visibility" attribute to "false" so they are no longer rendered. That should help a little.

Anyway, congrats on your work for this entry!

smash ball says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:09pm

The web version was slow, so I switched over to the windows version. That one worked fine. I liked the graphics, but the background was a bit bland. I think this would make a great game if you expanded it.

radmars says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:06am

ran very slow on linux flash... but still looks good.

Joao Kucera says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:54am

Very cool. Congrats!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:09am

Nice graphics, but I'm not too fond of the way goomba-stomp throws you away. Plus it seemed like some times I would get hurt during a goomba-stomp.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:13am

I did not basically see the theme, and whenever i moved it slowed down until i stood in one place, but otherwise it was a fun game

BluMist says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:48am

I really like the graphics and mood, but I found it unplayable on my PC. A little optimization and this would be an amazing game.

drkrunk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:29am

This was a cute little game, I liked the design of everything, really nicely done.

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:38am

I loved the graphics!

I think this was the laggiest platformer I ever played! But the increasing ineffiency of software pretty much guarantees that all game levels in the future will be made of one flash movie.

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:01am

Hey, I liked the art! I feel like the enemies can take a bit too much punishment, though.

As a side note, your windows version worked for me.

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:28am

Colorful sprites! I only get 1 big star :(

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:07am

OK Game! Looks good!

neekobus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:22pm

GOOD : Cute, remind me old Master-system games. Nice bounce on monsters.
BAD : Not very original nor exciting. A bit lagging (flash in Opera).
IDEA : Maybe put various weapons to kill various enemies.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:30pm

nice, it looks like a nes game without the crappy colors.
Lacks a bit of originality tought.

vikingpotato says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Very oldschool! I'd play the hell out of it with a controller!

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:21pm

pretty standard platformed, but well done! Sone simple sounds would have been great.

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Good game! But a lack of sounds!! Good job for graphism and platform management!

Photon says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Not bad for a quick little platformer. Except for the double jump, the powers weren't that incredible though, and then the double jump didn't always seem to want to work. But it has some nice graphics and a good base. So all in all, its all right.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Great game it was simple and also great art very bright and cheery.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Nice cute platformer, loved the gashapon mechanic. Could be a classic SNES platformer, no problem. It was quite slow on Ubuntu/FF, even the latest version.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:43am

Quick and simple, nice entry!

madballneek says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:08am

Pretty good level design and nice camera work with a trap. A fairly well polished platformer for 48 hours!

jprogman says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:29am

It is rather difficult to come up with something original for a platform game within 48 hours. More enemies and power-up would probably add more punch, but that would take beyond 48 hours in my case.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:38am

Very nice. It played very slowly for me. Maybe my browser? It's good, but maybe too similar to other professional games. Novelty is important for smaller games.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:59am

Love the style and the colour choices. Sound would've been an added bonus to an otherwise awesome game.

The sideways push by the clam things was unexpected too, rather than bouncing upwards.

Mago says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:19pm

I enjoyed playing this game. At the beginning it was very hard to me to pass first enemies, but after getting used on to controls an overall game mechanics it became too easy. Graphics are very cool it reminds me of old amiga platformers too bad there is no sound.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Short and sweet. The main sprite's animation was delightful.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:50pm

I played the v3, good and smooth platform moves, well done.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:08am

Nice game, I like the graphics.

lasergans says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Fun to play! Hope for a post compo with more levels, more enemy and more weapons :)

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:39am

I really like the look and feel of this game. I like the jumping animation and the controls feel good. Would love to see more levels! I want to keep playing! ..... yep, kept playing..

jprogman says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:38am

I might consider develop this game further. Follow me on twitter for the latest!

GFM says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Well done, this game has great controls!
The idea of getting one weapon at random (from the capsules you've got) is interesting, but for non-offensive actions (like double-jump) it's not all that nice... Perhaps with two pools (active/passive) and two gashapon machines...

Nonetheless, well done! :)

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Nice work! I love the nostalgic platformer feeling with the graphics and the gameplay mechanic. It was pretty laggy on my browser too, so I downloaded the game to play it. Great work for 48 hours :)

jprogman says ...
Jan 8, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Thanks all for your feedback! :)

@GFM -- non-offensive actions are meant to be unessential to complete the game. Of course more planning during development is needed.

@Cake&Code -- The first version is laggy! Version 3 is more "leaner," but not totally flawless. Give the third version a try, but I'm glad to hear the downloadable Windows version working well.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]