December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hero of Tower

by Threef - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's pretty challanging platformer looking and feeling like old Prince of Persia. Game was meant to be much bigger. Idea was to give player many different power ups, but only one at time. Double jumps, teleport, wall climbing, throwing missiles... but it's Ludum Dare! Only 48h to make game, but I am going to make something from this. ;)

Keys:
Arrows or WSAD - move
Z - Attack

Hint:
I did not deleted few 'unfinished' features
X - Toggles 'shadow movements'
C - Shoots missiles
P - Flips view xD

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#377Fun3.03
#414Graphics3.09
#599Audio2.31
#603Overall2.88
#660Innovation2.65
#764Humor1.53
#766Mood2.36
#939Theme1.91

Comments

Icoates says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:25pm

This is an interesting idea. I do like these retro-style games. I also like the idea of going to different levels from level 0 instead of going to the same level each time. You were correct in saying that it is challenging. Perhaps the game could be more playable if when killed, the level restarts instead of the whole game restarting? Other than that, well done.

vrld says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Interesting concept, and the feeling reminds me of Prince of Persia. However, I always failed on the first or second floor, because the levels felt impossible to complete (gap too long to jump, enemy constantly guarding a ledge, ...)

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:24pm

I like the platform engine, it's smooth and responsive (as are the animations). Love the wall jump/flip mechanic! However I did find the background colour was a bit too similar to the foreground and it felt slightly uncomfortable on the eye.

Is the level order random?

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Liked it. Returning bullets and hanging to ledges requires great skill (which is rather hard to acquire beause if you die you go back to lvl0).

dqmhose says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Pretty nice looking. I like the art, but to me it's too hard. I can't even make it past the first level xD

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Fun game! I love this kind of thing. Had a lot of fun bouncing around the maps. My only issue was you had to let go of the jump button before it would let you wall grab. Great job!

ossah says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Really nice art style and super hard game! But I loved that about it. Very Super Meat Boy in as much as difficulty but also reminded me a little of Ghosts and Ghouls.

Custard Games says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:08pm

I loved the wall grab and flip. Decent feeling movement. Didn't much like the art though. Love the random picking of levels.

Muciojad says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Quite good mechanics, I like this few types of moves.
Nice job ;)

Azzar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Cool.
It totaly has the classic Prince of Persia feel (hardcore difficulty and beautiful animations included)
No continues is a bit frustrating, especially since some rooms can only be completed by trial and error. But random order of rooms adds some variety, so it's not a critical issue.

smash ball says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:00pm

I liked the basic mechanic, but I couldn't get past the first floor. It would have been better if I could have restarted just that floor instead of the game (or restart with a random level instead of the tutorial)

Madball says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:00pm

A nice game with interesting platforming mechanics. It is quite unforgivable, but it makes it look more retro.
On the other side, it is monotone. There is just about a dozen(?) of levels randomly queued. They even might repeat in one play.
I think making levels not random would be better. Just a normal game, with levels 1,2,3,4,etc.
Also, the sword seems to be too little.
And the player can't grab ledges while holding the up button.

I hope you'll implement all the things you wanted in a post-compo version.

Tried missles.
Error in code at line 4:
tx=instance_nearest(x,y,p_enemy).x
^
at position 35: Unknown variable x

Threef says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Oh, thanks Mudball.
After uploading I felt like I shouldn't make random levels, and instead add some story. As I remember there is 16 levels + level 0.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Cool movement, and the graphics had a nice retro feel. I know it's the theme but the only having one life was kinda tricky with a game this difficult. A great effort, well done!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Nice old school graphics. Feels pretty fun

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:00pm

This feels like old Prince of Persia =P

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:44am

Interesting game, as it is now it would be better if you did not get a random level all the time. The sandworm should also not be able to appear pretty much anywhere and instantly kill you. There seem to be some bug with the controls and how to actually wallflip can be misunderstood with the short tutorialmessage.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:15am

I really liked it. The animations were fluid and the controls were tight. I really liked the art style. It sort of reminds me of "Out of This World." The only problem graphically was that some of the enemies blended into the background (namely the helicopter robots). It was a bit difficult to figure out the moves, but eventually I got them down. The ledge climbing and back flips made the platforming in this game very smooth. It is also worth mentioning that this game is VERY difficult, although as I played more, some of the difficulty began to go away. All in all, I'd say that this is a very solid entry. I'm glad to hear that you want to expand upon it, because I think that this game has some potential.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Great game definitely has a nice feeling to it.

Espyo says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:50pm

It's fun to play around in, and the wall flip is very satisfying. Seeing each level is also pretty nice, gives you something to look forward to when you complete a level.
Although some levels can't be completed (can't jump high enough to jump over the spikes in any way), and the X, C and P powerups are kinda distracting.

chameco says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Fun, but very challenging. Excellent work. The foreground color is quite similar to the background color, but that's only a minor nitpick on an otherwise fun game.

psc1997 says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Good for random levels.
Very challenging. Nice ! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]