December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The last Stand

by grifdail - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one missile to stop aliens from invading the earth... Good luck !
Thankfully, it's remote controlled and very resistant.

/!\ Beward ! This game may hurt your hand /!\

Work best on chrome (THere is a good looking effect that dont work on firefox). With a recent browser, you can even use you gamepad.

I dont like graphic, so I did'nt put any. Everything you see is made by code. Imagine the red dot are alien spaceship !

Let me know your score !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#197Fun3.35
#455Innovation2.97
#478Overall3.03
#618Theme2.65
#673Mood2.52
#691Humor1.82
#692Audio1.94
#886Graphics2.08

Comments

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42am

Controls are weird, but it's fun x).

plancien says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Hey Grifdail !

Good job, it's fun to play. Beware, I think you didn't handle the frame rate properly : depending on the browser, speed is not the same.

chicknstu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Hi Score = 2465

Nice wee twist on Missile Command. With only one missile. :)

schizokoa says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Nice job =D

Elforama says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:33pm

I had a lot of fun with this. Great job.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Controls were a little confusing but a fun game overall :D

occash says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:35pm

nice game) I think if there is good graphics..it will be the best)

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39pm

The game is hard!!

I like they way the rocket behaves though, very quirky!

Arkazon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Quite a nice idea, I got 69305 points using a gamepad. Thought I hit an odd visual bug a few times until I realised you can go off the top and bottom to reappear on the other side. Could maybe use some enemies that follow different flight patterns like a sign wave or similar?

Cawrtz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Nice job ! The idea is cool, but the controls make it very challenging. It's not a problem until the fast little jerks begin to appear ^^ Overall, pretty fun, I like it !

gre says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Score: 2455

Very innovating game IMO 5 stars for that,
Controls was ok for me, I like the fact that you can jump from top to bottom,
graphics and audio could have bit a bit far.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Really nice game. Never played anything like this before. It's a odd game, but I picked it up really fast.

alcorrius says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:36pm

It is difficult to aim at small circles. Anyway, nice game!

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Weird controls, but fun.

almightysuit says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:31pm

20475 points :) Nice game grifdail, you should do the jam next time and team up with an artist!

Seriously though, game was smooth - it was kinda frustrating to stay at the same stats, upgrades would be nice!

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Nice gameplay, better graphics would have been, huh, better...
But on the overall it's still fun to play. Great job!

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Good concept!!! I make 13000 points!! :D

errorage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:52pm

13885 points

Some really interesting moments while playing, there's one bug I found tho. If you are moving in a cardinal direction, and want to move in the exact opposite direction, the ball won't change direction.

Zuige says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Great fun! :) A nice and simple game, what more do you want?

Mekuri says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Interesting idea - I liked it. I actually liked the controls!
Good job.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:54pm

55,000 pts! I win! I really enjoyed this, and probably played it longer than any other compo game so far. Simple reliable fun.

madmaw says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:52am

Could be a good mobile HTML5 game if you added touch controls.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:38am

Damn this looks fine!

netmute says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Nice concept. My score was 3960 when I stopped playing :)

Mlle Eole says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:46pm

That was fun ! Nice idea, nice controls, a bit surprised by the vertical loop but it's usefull. It perhaps could be a little bit improved by a feedback about the different waves caus' the alien attack seems to never end. :p

f7f5 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:00pm

2520. The controls are strange: a mix between left/right turn and 4-way directional.

But it was really fun to play, and I loved those code-generated graphics.

jomomomo says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:29am

Wow, nice job, my daughter and I thought it was great.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]