December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

1Px@At

by Fadobo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are given a single pixel and the task to make it as far as possible, collecting more and more pixels while avoiding collisions with obstacles. To challenge myself, the game uses only a single texture image, a 1x1 white pixel.

PREREQUSITES:
This game requires XNA 4.0
If you have trouble launching the game, install it from the Prerequisites folder

HOW TO PLAY:
Space / Up-Arrow / Xbox Gamepad A/B/X/Y to move up

SPECIAL KEYS:
F1 - Toggle Fullscreen (On Title Screen)
F2 - Toggle Sound Effects
F3 - Toggle Music
ESC / Xbox Gamepad Back-Button - Exit Game

EDIT: First of all thanks for all the great comments!!! It makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside. Especially the ones about the music, which is the first somewhat complete song I've ever made in Famitracker (or at all for that matter)

One piece of advice: The colorful blinking ball is a power up(down?)! It adds 200 Points and shrinks your cube a certain percentage, which is very helpful to navigate later levels. Sorry for not making it clear in-game. :)

Also: Let's hear some highscores!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#133Fun3.47
#241Audio3.02
#391Overall3.14
#464Mood2.81
#493Innovation2.93
#556Theme2.77
#559Humor2.11
#806Graphics2.26

Comments

Pantzar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:19am

Simple concept, but surprisingly addictive. Neat with only one control.

Doubstract says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:20pm

cool sounds

lekochen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Minimalism! It's simple & fun, well done!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:42pm

nice.. i like the music and the simplistic gfx.. my kind of game :)

Bw2801 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:08pm

I really like the simple concept. It's fun!

Thingus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:12pm

This was a lot of fun! Took me a while to realise that the glowing things were good, and not to be avoided.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Really awesome game..! Cool idea and nice implementation of the theme. :)

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:31pm

I really like it! Reminds me of the old "Copter" game! Nice sounds, it's just neat.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Well done audio and simple game play make it a pretty addictive game. Well done.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Like the music, maybe make the collect sound a bit more subtle though? its a bit overpowering. good job!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:57pm

I really love the minimalist style :)

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Definitely an addictive game! Took me a while to realize that the idea is for you to stay small, but it's still a hugely fun game!

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Neat idea and nice difficulty progression as you grow. The simple graphics fit the game well.

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:55am

Fun, simple and addictive. I really like the music!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:20am

Aww, the rainbow things are bad, too...Simple and fun.

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Simple, fun! Didn't expect this when looking at the start screen. start screen is ugly imho, but the simple style in the game itself is cool :) The game progresses a bit slowly though.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:45am

One pixel, one control, nice! Minimalism at its best! The graphics could've been better, but overall it's really addicting!

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:25am

Simple mechanic, concept, music and sound. Well done, I enjoy it :D

ossah says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Really cool game! Love the use of the theme. Love the power up mechanic too! Great touch. The music and sound effects are perfect!

This would make an epic loading screen game! Or even just a cool mobile game to play while waiting for the bus!

The art style was really cool too. The whole thing was just well polished and really fun to play. Thumbs up!

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Nice game. Some color combinations where eye searing and made my eyes hurt (i even keep seeing the same image after looking away from the screen) ouch! Anyways, very nice game.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Hey guys, thanks for the great feedback. I wanted to respond to some of the (in my opinion very fair) criticism:

@TeddyNashor: Not sure if you mean the pixel or powerup-sound. I agree the latter one is a bit loud, but I wanted the powerup to feel powerfull (ran out of time for screenshake)

Gamelabbers: Titlescreen was definitely a quick thing, but I actually think it turned out ok. Completely agree on the slow progression. I would love to balance the difficulty for all levels and allow people to skip forward a bit. The slow started to help less experienced gamers to familiarize them with the controls a lot though.

Chiguireitor: Yeah, colors are randomly selected which results in bad combinations every now and then. I myself am color-blind myself and have problems sometimes. It's not documented, but you can press 't' to re-roll the colors at any time.

michail says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:51am

My highscore : 5050.
The color schemes are horrible - the contrast is way too big and they really make eyes hurt (most of them).
Besides, I like the simple yet addictive gameplay and the audio track.

euske says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:01pm

The music is awesome! I like random colors too.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Fun simple game, well done! I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/1dYHR5aknGc

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Very addictive game.

henrykun says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:49pm

For some reason the game doesn't run on my computer.

KeyMaster says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Really fun game with decent graphics and good sound!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]