December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One, Make it count.

by cdgugler - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First Ludum Dare for me. First time making an HTML5 game. I used the Phaser HTML5 game framework, Inkscape & Gimp for the placeholder graphics (didn't end up with time to remake them), and threw in a couple sound effects from BFXR at the last minute.
It only seems to perform well in Chrome. Firefox was pretty choppy for me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#370Humor2.55
#488Innovation2.94
#511Theme2.83
#678Audio2.04
#804Mood2.29
#825Overall2.58
#843Graphics2.17
#862Fun2.29

Comments

jayemjee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:29am

The game was fun, and I like the concept; very original. The controls were a bit slippery, and I was unable to finish (The exit was in a corner, so I couldn't pull the bear to it without placing the spiky on top of it, so I would always die before I could reach the exit.) Also, while I'm not sure, it sounds like the goal is to not pick up the bonuses, which seems a bit counter-intuitive.

A way to reset the game after dying without refreshing the page would have been nice.

delfino says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:06am

I also couldn't beat it but decent job overall. I feel your pain on not having time to replace placeholder assets! Nice first jump into making an HTML5 game

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:08am

neat idea. was fun to see the cute little bear sprite get fried. Wish the movement had a little more control to it.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:18am

Odd controls but, cool game nonetheless! Very nice :)

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:37am

That is a very cool idea for the control - use an attractor to guide your character, but if he gets too close you die. It seems that you can also die from falling from big heights?

Actually controling the bear was quite a pain, though. I'm not sure I can explain exactly what was the problem - maybe the sliding, or the amount of energy.

Once, I was able to make the bear almost "fly" by rapidly clicking a little ahead of him, but I didn't manage to repeat that.

Thanks for the game, and congratulations on finishing your first Ludum Dare!

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52am

Wow, that is not easy...
I love it when things explode unexpectedly.. :D

Good first effort at LD/Phaser/a game...

anvoz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Pretty nice idea. Like it!

xyrix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:35pm

I like the mechanic - this being Ludum Dare I'm absolutely prepared to play lots of half-baked platformers, so playing one that stands out in gameplay is a treat :-).

Icoates says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:40am

Very nice.

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Interesting concept, though very difficult to control, and it wasn't immediately clear where the exit was.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]