December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

CUOP DO SACI

by leparlon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Please don't hate me.

Saci is a brazilian mithical figure that loves smoking its pipe and playing pranks on people.

He has only one leg.

Tech: Construct 2, paper, pencil, watercolor, scanner and paint.net to cut the images.

This game is inspired by QWOP (same mechanics, and similar ui and stuff)

Play by using QWOP

CUOP is how QWOP is "pronounced" in portuguese (at least by me)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#17Humor4.02
#50Theme3.84
#233Fun3.28
#436Graphics3.05
#491Overall3.00
#495Mood2.76
#591Innovation2.77
#753Audio1.50

Comments

raarlac says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:00pm

hahahahahah so funny!! best use of the theme

FrederickK says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:41pm

First of, genius.
Second, I really liked the art style, remembered me of charlie the unicorn.
Don't know if you did the watercolor on hand, but if you did, kudos for the originality!
Great job!

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:43pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yf-aC9DgDkA
My first impressions of the game XD

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:54am

Don't worry I don't hate you.

Using qwop is alright and all, but this one is freakishly hard

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:38am

What the hell? Obama it's u??

bttf says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:40am

everything about this game is funny, i like it

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:47am

I like the hand-drawn graphics and physics. Funny but very hard. I don't get the brazilian references, though... :P

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:49am

Really hard to control. Results in hilarious movements.

leparlon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:59am

Hey, thanks for all the feedback, I laughed so hard while making this game I thought I was be going mad (laughing so hard about your own jokes might not be a good sign). Even before I added the artwork, which almost killed me.
I mean, it didnt look funny like this: http://i.imgur.com/9eLj6gQ.jpg

Here is some info about the Saci:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saci_(Brazilian_folklore)

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:20am

Really interesting concept, I love how original this entry was! :D It's good to see other cultures represented in games!

johnfn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:51am

Ahahahha genius! GENIUS!

Mase says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:58am

I studied that GIF but I can only do 1 flip. Very amusing use of the theme and this character.

MrBlade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:22am

I can't get past 2m. Ah well. Nice game! Cool take on the theme. I thought the gameplay was pretty boring. Would have liked some sounds. Great graphics! Keep it up.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:45am

I'm doing well! 8 meters. Awesome use of the theme, and top marks for fun and graphics! <3

Enneract says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:02am

Haha awesome. Cool use of the theme. I love the graphics :D

LTPATS says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:17am

This is awesome, really fun and challenging! The hand-done art really adds a lot to the charm as well. Great take on the theme :D!

Jejeboy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:54am

For some reason, I find this funnier than QWOP.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:55am

Hahahaha... that was annoying.. ;)

Kaslai says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:26am

I love making the guy jump in constant frontflips :P
I got as far as 15m when the stars aligned just right. http://puu.sh/5QvG7.jpg

stromchin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:04pm

best one I've played yet
I made it to 4 meters, the trick is in moving the hands while you're in mid air to turn around, try to land on your leg, and then jump again!
And now I'm done.
I love the pipe

henrykun says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:44pm

This game gave me A LOT of fun hahaha I laughed a lot with it. Nice graphics, nice idea, nice concept, awesome idea, really.

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Very creative, parabéns!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Pleasantly silly, but the lack of actual gameplay makes this a novelty entry.

GFM says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:32pm

I have to admit. This was so funny!! XD

And I was able to get an amazing distance of... 6m... XD

And the theme... I usually don't like literal takes on the theme, but this one... this was gold! XD

Amazing job!

Lipedal says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:07am

Hahahahahah, I couldn't beat 1m in this thing but god how I laughed xD Very cool how you subverted QWOP by making leg and arms be your tools. I can't stop laughing at the arm thing. Wish I could do better than 1m. Great job, guys!

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:34am

Haha, nice job! damn 8 meters!?? I'm still stuck on 2. :P

stigmawall says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:21am

Oh god, my high score is 3 meters, is hard but I tried many times. Good concept.

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:54am

Awesome parody.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:35am

This was hilarious! I really wanted to "get the knack" but let sadly eluded. what's the technique?! The santa hat makes it, really funny game. I would have liked some sound, though perhaps just hearing some poor dude repeatedly face plant would become too disturbing!! the pipe? hahaha!

Kaslai says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:05am

I got to 33m! http://www.twitch.tv/kaslai/c/3420984

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:32am

A very silly QWOP-inspired game. I had some fun messing around it. It's crazy how far some people manage to get.

leparlon says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:51am

@Kaslai HAHAHAHAHA Thankyou very much! I really wanted to see someone getting this far using front flips!

SICK SKILLS MAN!

_zulli says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:40am

Pretty awesome idea! But really really hard! :O

Enfim, muito bom hahahahahaha
Se tiver tempo, da avalie meu jogo! :)

Kaslai says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:34am

Thank you hehe. This is by far my favorite LD game ever.
(I also got to 55m earlier, but it was off stream unfortunately)

grifdail says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:19am

Nice take on QWOP...

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:26am

Awesome use of the theme!

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:42am

Lovely graphics, wonderful humor

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:45pm

hahahahhahhaha cara! ri demais. eh muito F$%a a jogabilidade. nao passei de 3 miseros metros! engracadao.

Zener says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Very funny and hard to master :D

strong99 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:00pm

My highscore is -2 meters :o how, pretty funny game :)

diegomachado says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:09pm

GENIUS!

Cara, tu mandou muito, parabens! Morri de rir aqui!

porglezomp says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:29am

I got to 2m! Great fun, far harder than QWOP itself.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:23pm

oh. my. gaawd. hilarious!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]