December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Zombie Skull Seeking Bullet

by aare - Jam Entry

Hey people. This is our first LD entry as a team :). You are a guy who ran out of food and water in his anti-zombie bunker and decides to face the zombie apocalypse with just one bullet. Luckily, it's not a regular bullet - it will orbit around the crosshair and you can kill countless braindeads with it, but it can also kill you if you're not careful.

Use WASD for movement and mouse for guiding the bullet.

We started almost 24 hours late and obviously didn't manage to do everything, the game is far from being finished, but it works. We'll be releasing a fixed and finished post-jam version in some near future.


What's done:

-Gameplay, zambies, blood - all the basic stuff


What's half-done:

-Zombie spawning is screwed up (you'll probably have to walk to the bottom edge of the screen to make new zombies spawn)
-Some hitboxes and animations are a bit sloppy
-Bullet behavior is not perfect (coliisions with obstacles, etc).
-Sounds could be better


What's not done:

-Hero and zambies have no legs (and no animation)
-Zombie types
-Intro
-Doesn't matter, it's not there, maybe in a post-jam version ;)


We used CC-licensed music by Dan-O in the game (http://www.danosongs.com/). Cheers mate!


Hope you enjoy.

Cheers,
Submachine Factory

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#70Fun(Jam)3.53
#89Innovation(Jam)3.40
#91Theme(Jam)3.38
#125Overall(Jam)3.43
#165Graphics(Jam)3.65
#165Humor(Jam)2.81
#193Audio(Jam)3.10
#263Mood(Jam)2.89

Comments

aayars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:40am

Using a Mac, so I wasn't able to try the game. Sorry!

KeyMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Really nice game, fun idea and nicely executed.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:00pm

You totally rocked me with this. It'd would have been nice to see even more gore - especially on player death. Good twist on the arena shooter mechanics, to suit the theme very nicely! Some constraint on the camera offset so I can always see a min distance behind character. I shot myself to death more than once :)

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Nice game! It was pretty innovative to have 1 bullet circling around the cursor, making it both an advantage and disadvantage too. However, I hoped there was a goal or something to run at. Anyway, this game was fun and I managed to survive 3 minutes and killed 100+ zombies! Good game!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Love the name, pretty interesting twist on the one bullet concept. Nice clean pixel art too. Good job.

pele says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Great entry!
Good mood and gameplay. Arcadey and Fun! Followed the theme very well.
Had very few issues. One of them is that at first i though the game was just the first screen and i waited for a while for waves of zombies to come. Then i understood that I should be moving around besides controlling the bullet.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Very nice game, I love the one bullet doing orbits around enemies, hehe. Good job!

vapgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:02pm

9:50 339 zombies
Very fun, and i like the detailed world.
Small bug - music doesn't loop.

tobbez says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Really like the graphics in this game. However I don't really see how the gameplay or the idea could be made to work. Currently bringing the character only give a risk of death and no advantage.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:17pm

wow this is a difficult game, but skill based all the way!
At first I was a bit dissapointed, I kept killing myself with the bullet an loosing the game before it had even started.....but Once you really get a feel for how the bullet works you can do some really awesome things combining how you move around and how the soopa doopa magic bullet works. The only thing that let it down for me (and this is more of a personal thing) is that Im both fed up of and not keen on pixel art. But as pixel art goes, this fits the game.

oh and everybody needs music like this in their games!

crockid5 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:33pm

I liked the game but some critique:
- It doesn't fit the theme.
- It doesn't even closely resemble the theme.
- The window frame was way too small.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:47pm

High five fellow Zombie LD'er! Love your interpretation of the theme, makes for a seriously challenging game. I really liked your environmental detail, the stacks of tyres, the motel... The Zombie schtick is there in full effect. Love the zombie art as well. It was beyond my skill level though - really wanted to explore more but kept shooting myself, doh ;) thanks!

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:55am

To crockid5, and in defense to the developers. I think this one fits the theme better than most of the entries.

Doesn't "you only get one bullet" count? awesome use of the theme to be honest.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:15am

Good job, very funny, but where is the theme? I like the concept of the skull and i like graphics and sounds. Good job guys :)

Ditto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:22am

Cool mechanic, took a while to learn how to control it, but it was a very good kind of challenging! blood looks freaking awesome!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:26am

Insane interpretation of the theme, and highly addicting! Great pixel art and audio to back it up as well! Gets full score from me.

flatgub says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:36am

Really fun! Nice use of theme. I'm not sure if the font was drawn like that or if it's a case of badly scaled anti-aliasing, so i won't judge that. I did notice the hitbox for the bullet needed to be better, because the bullet went through more zombies than it hit.
-Flatgub

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Ohhh nice! I like it :D looks quite good and feel juicy! Nicely done. Interesting and challenging mechanic, the orbiting bullet. Well done!

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Simple concept well executed. Graphics and music fit the atmosphere well, my only complaint is a lack of diversity. The fact the the bullet kills you is a nice touch.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:07pm

This is very cool.

Good use of the theme (that bullet is the best friend you could hope for in a zombie apocalypse), lovely graphics (even without the legs) and solid gameplay. The bullet guiding mechanic felt really slick and fun.

I lasted almost 3 minutes and took 100 zombies to hell. :)

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Haha, unique bullet concept! I felt cheated by an unknown death, but soon realised it's because I shot myself :B Fun game :D

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Nice executed ! Love the chara-design, good job ! :D

Dikkop says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Nice game! Looks rather polished and complete. And zombies.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Great Game!! Well Done! :D

zkenshin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Enjoyed the movement of the bullet to kill the zombies. Well done. :)

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:14am

Really interesting and unique spin on the "one bullet" aspect :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:52am

Nice artworks, nice ideas, nice sounds... but I'm too noobish to beat that game. But I enjoyed plaing. Thanks ^^

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Good graphics and sound and a cool concept. Collision was a bit tricky but makes sense the hitboxes were only their heads! Great work for your team's first entry too!

RodRoy1 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Awsome little game. Really enjoyed it but wish there was more tension. Maybe if the zombies agro radius was larger then the tension would be better. otherwise loved the idea, art and audio.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:21pm

congrats, amazing graphics

its VERY difficult to play it on a laptop and touchpad :/

csanyk says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

Very cool, I had a hard time controlling the bullet though:( I feel like if this were two-player, one player controlling person and one player controlling bullet, I could handle it. But trying to do both at the same time is not easy. I last about :12, and kill 2 zombies. lol.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 1:46pm

I don't get it...

DangerPenguin says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Cool idea! I liked that you didn't "shoot" but controlled like a magnetic bullet. Definitely want to see more!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Awesome game! Rated highly. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]