December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Climber

by Kimau - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Climb to save people from the roof of a burning building one at a time.

Controls: WASD + Space

Happy I got something done but I really suffered not having used Unity in months and trying to learn the changes 4.3 brings. I think I will revisit this idea and do a more polished released before new years.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#746Innovation2.50
#789Graphics2.30
#804Mood2.29
#805Theme2.30
#920Fun2.10
#925Overall2.40
#1358Coolness36%

Comments

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:41pm

I can't save the people at the top. but nice game

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Audio definitely would've given this a huge boost in terms of atmosphere.

Also, climbing up and down gets a bit tedious.

Good effort though.

Scifer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Hnnnnnggg ... this game is rather slow. I also can't seem to get to the guy in the center of the roof. Also, am I meant to be able to climb straight up the windows? Not a bad effort though.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:45pm

It's a shame you can't climb down quicker (unless I missed something?).

moop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Climbing was slightly tedious, jumping improved that but also the game very risky.

scoopsy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Fun times. Liked it much more when I discovered the space button.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:40pm

This is a really cool idea. I think it might have been a bit more fun if the player moved faster. That might just be a personal thing though. Great effort, adds something new to a familiar 2D dynamic.

Shigor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:45pm

It's too slow to be really enjoyable :( (jumping helps a bit, but even with it climbing up and down for the survivors was just too tedious...)

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:07am

Good concept, the gameplay is a bit slowy, but overall quite interesting. You could add more falling obstacles, and higher the climbing speed, it will make this game more epic.

Kimau says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Thanks all, yeah I'm working on a more polished post LD version. Feedback is super useful.

Sim says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Nice idea. Things really get difficult by the time you reach the last person but it's doable; shame there's no ending though.

The animations were a nice touch, especially the deaths. Having some sounds would really add a lot to the atmosphere too.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Like @JaymeeMak said, climbing up/down gets tedious

csanyk says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:05pm

I got to the roof, touched one guy and he disappeared. No one else disappeared when I touched them so I figured maybe I have to take the guy I touched first down to the ground before he's "rescued"? I climbed all the way down to the bottom but nothing happened, so if I was carrying anyone, they were invisible and there was no indication of what I had done, or if I was on the right track. Make it more clear to the player what they're supposed to do and it will be a better game for it.

Rustam says ...
Jun 2, 2017 @ 12:52pm

Create the eyes, nose, mouth and hair using a variety of buttons, strands, ornaments, etc. http://xytapib.ru Optimised for iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus Retina HD displays.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]