December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

CSO-1

by gustavodort - Jam Entry

One Color. One Shape. One Objective.
There can only be one.
---

Yeah, so I did this katamarish/highlanderish "game" saturday. I wish I had more disposition and willpower to make more levels (since I spent most of the time making things easier to design levels), but it turned out I really needed to rest this weekend.

I could've sent this as a compo since I didn't bend any rules, but I was really tired sunday and slept early :P


Anyways, LD is always an enriching experience!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#101Audio(Jam)3.44
#189Fun(Jam)3.10
#212Overall(Jam)3.20
#282Innovation(Jam)2.80
#301Mood(Jam)2.81
#328Graphics(Jam)3.00
#438Theme(Jam)2.25
#1329Coolness37%

Comments

chicknstu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:39pm

It's like a platform version of the game 'Osmos' on iPad. The chess level was a nightmare!

Nice job :)

gustavodort says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Thanks, man!
I didn't know about this game, but I'll check it out :D

Beavl says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:15pm

I love games with game mechanics in which you get bigger by getting smaller entities. Katamari is surely one. Osmos is another. But do not forget about Nozumou by Ikiki (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGrRPFuQivI). Anyway, I really enjoy this entry. Congrats!

Joror says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Nice puzzle platformer. Felt nice even with the limited graphic, and good ramping music. A reset button when you're halfway and fail would be nice though. :)

gustavodort says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Thanks, Beavl! :)
I agree, Joror.. a "reset" button would be nice once you realize you're past the point of no return

kibertoad says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:31pm

awesome music, cool idea, nice direction texts. but couldn't you make the steps more visible? or jumpable.

adamwfindlay says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Lovely idea! Love the colour changing.

Harsay says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:18pm

I wish it was longer...

kcpunk666 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:42pm

I like it, good job!

bensoto says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Smooth graphics, fun puzzle, great humor

Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Cool implementation. I really like the way the instructions were written on the walls of each level, then exposed by the camera tracking the player.

It did feel like there wasn't a lot of player agency or puzzle solving in the game. It was just a matter of following the predetermined path each time as quickly as possible. The chess level was pretty difficult since the larger ball didn't jump high enough to clear the stairs. You sort of had to pound the space bar repeatedly and glitch the ball up the stairs.

Having the ball's controls oriented relative to the camera instead of the world took a bit of getting used to. I'm not sure what you could do there; maybe have the ball trace a rounded rectangle in the room instead of circle when moving left/right?

I wish the shrinking or pushing mechanics had been put to use after they were introduced. I'm betting you had some plans for them.

Overall, cool idea. It was fun.

-mildmojo

psc1997 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Interesting gameplay !
Good job ! ;)

Fenixin says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:17pm

You have a neat idea here, try to develop it further in a Marble Madness way, with a lot of varied levels, varied power ups (more jumping), etc.

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:58am

Definitely would have been nice to have more levels, but what you have here is definitely a great start for a game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]