December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Channel

by BradleySmith - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A satirical stress relief 'game'.

Do things, get stuff.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#64Humor3.64
#226Audio3.05
#236Graphics3.48
#295Mood3.08
#466Fun2.90
#528Innovation2.86
#559Overall2.94
#872Theme2.13

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:07am

Haha really addictive.. I'm kind of ashamed to say how far I got ;)
I'll check back once I can vote! :)

Mocuto says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:50am

Damn played that so hard my wrists start to hurt. Nice stress reliever, and you can also make the dude dance to music.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42am

Ho-oh God... is this my life??
Haha how many does this take to win? My fingers hurt after 156..

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:57am

Haha still really fun.. rated!

Jakub Koziol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:00am

I bookmarked it so I can use it at the suitable moment. :D

Inso says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Hahah I loved to facedesk this poor man, that was very funny ^^

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Very nice art and animation, but I didn't get the link with the theme.

btw, is it possible to use the items you get somehow?

joekinglake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Very satirical.. ^^ I really like it, great commentary.

mckoss says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Having ads on your game is really annoying.

mckoss says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:39pm

That's OK, @BradleySmith - I'm sure some game engines force you to publish with ads on their site? The worst part was having to be forced to watch a pre-roll ad before seeing any part of the game.

Thanks!

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Fun to play, Good to look at. Although I would like to see more like hitting the book on the head.

Korwegian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58pm

That guy is so damn squishy it makes me uncomfortable XD

Tonasz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:01pm

AVGM comes to my mind after this. Only with diffrence that smashing head in TV is more pleasent than clicking a switch.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Dude you really shouldn't be doing that, you only get one head... ;)

Nice game!

Zekyon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:25am

Oh my god, the game is very grim, I felt as I was doing something bad when I played. The mood is very accomplished, good job.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26am

Wow this is soooooo adictive! A mobile version would be a hit! you should consider it ;) I loved it

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:00am

hehehe really funny. poor guy hehehe.

the says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:49am

Ok, 201 hits are enough for me.

Atridas says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Great, original game. Nice :D

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:41pm

haha ok he was looking like me after finishing the LD XD *sleeping on my tabel*

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:00pm

I kept playing to see if the table would break. My arm got tired before I found out.

Aaants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Hah. That was wonderfully bizarre

Ongaku says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Hahaha nice, but I think a smacking sound man, would be great !

bach says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:37pm

HA! This made me laugh. Sometimes .. you just feel like banging your hand against things. Wouldn't change a thing about this game :D

Mekuri says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:44pm

"Please Stop" - I laughed lol. Did 1101, and got new items all the way up to 1000. My arms are sore now lol. This game is extremely funny, and has a very nice mood! Mobile version would rule! Great job!!

Nazariglez says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Lol! it's a quite original game!

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:18am

Good stress relief - need it after doing Ludum Dare ;) Wish you could interact with the items you get.

Miltage says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:28am

Fun little game. Nice art style and music. I had a much easier time playing when I discovered you can drag his head up and down instead of clicking all the time.

madflame991 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:05pm

It was funny and sad at the same time. It made me wonder how the coffee and all other stuff aren't thrown off the desk by your constant head smashing.

veiadoida says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:24pm

that was funny!

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Strangely addictive. Loved the graphics.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:15pm

900 hits, I can't believe I went so far ^^ Nice compo, I like it !

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:56am

Sound effects were realistic, dug the music too - nothing like some muzak to smash your face into a desk to. :D

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:57am

It kind of disturbs me how I started off timidly, gently, and uncomfortably pressing the guy's face into the desk, then by the time I got to 200 points I was smashing away without a care in the world haha. Great job, I got a laugh out of it :)

drkrunk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Poor guy. Reminds me of myself in Physics class. Good job.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:40am

Interesting game, the graphics and humor were nice but im not exactly sure how it relates to the theme.
Nice entry though!

Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:29am

Stop at 1016. Pretty fun lol :)

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:04pm

@Lacutis, you have to finish the game to find out what you only get one of...

yosh says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:17am

*faceplant*

No kidding, this was a risky bet, but I loved it! Really cool in its simplicity and humor :)

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:07am

My arm hurts....BAD.... 18,543, 13 hours. I stopped to take a break 8 times. My wife and kids left me, they don't understand my passion for this simulator. I plan to keep playing until my wrists bleed. Its just so.... consuming... like every time I smash his face, I find another piece of the shattered remains of what once was my soul but now lies blackened on the ground of my proverbial body. The game has become an exosphenical manifestation of desire. Up, Down. Up Down. Up, Down.

Mase says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:57am

Nice animation. Inspiring.
It would be nice if players could smash in a more expressive way, and not just along the y-axis.

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:31am

*slam* *slam* *slam* NEW ITEM! *slam* *slam* *slam*

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:48am

*flips table*

Nelien says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Can you actually win this? I played for about 100 hits, curious about the next items, but gave up after that...

rezzish says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:35am

game of the year

Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Hahah funny game ;) Good job !

davisan says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Pretty funny, but not recommended for those with RSI. lol
Did 1056.

local minimum says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:22pm

I was a bit skeptic to start, but after a while when it became clear that the protagonist was I and that I was banging my head against the table, then I think it worked. I would have liked to be able to interact with some of the things popping up, but maybe that would have defeated the purpose of the game. 500 hits down I decided to save my wrist for some other games (maybe add an auto-hit button after say 100 hits so that one can watch it play out?).

Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Gah, I feel sorry for the poor guy.

Very good graphics and nice elevator music. Figuring out how to gain points was fun, but there wasn't really enough challenge or reward to keep me going for long. Still, very well made.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Got past 1000, but my hands were hurting, so I stopped... lol

postmodestie says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:45pm

brutal! :)

cappelnord says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:42pm

LOVE IT.

xgeovanni says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:27pm

Got to 1000 hits. I feel I may have been ever so slightly skinner-boxed.

van noctar says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:51pm

Very good art! :D

Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:31pm

Ha, great, well done. Satirical indeed. :D

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:33pm

Ok.. I should be studying Turing machines, complexity theory and hundreds of lemmas for Monday's exam... You probably really good know what I'll be doing at Monday... :-D (it's sad actually)

Sebastian says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:34pm

I mashed my way to a thousand hits. Can't stop grinning at the graphics. I love the "please stop" sign :)

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:52pm

I play it way too long...^^

pjchardt says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:23am

As others have said, great graphics. I definitely found enjoyment in bashing their head into the table repeatedly. :)

Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:56am

This game has a very unsettling atmosphere, round about the 50th faceplant and you think "might as well keep going!" :D

foumart says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:10pm

This is really an unbreakable table lol :D It's funny to get stuff but it feels like something is missing, like effects on the tv, or some updates on the character. There is a mid frame when bradley is shaking - could be a feature.

Vi-King Games says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:00am

Stopped at 1000... I think what we all need is a mobile version for whenever someone says something unbearably stupid.

supremefist says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:05am

Nice one, hehe! Liked the music a lot :) Got to about 100!

KWL_TW says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:25pm

This is so crazy but fun!

Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:26pm

This is one of the darkest games in the compo. The hand illustrated animation is really effective. The mouse control is nicely done as it allows for different types of interactions to trigger the hit -- I found it quite intuitive. I only found one issue where the hit animation gets caught between two states. I found it a little stressful to play so I had to stop :)

Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:50am

Poor facedesk man. But super cute.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]