December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Point&Click Concept

by joekinglake - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use Mouse to Interact & Move.

--------------------------------------

A weird world.

---------------------------------------

This is a very short concept for a larger game.. The idea ties in to the theme, unfortunately this concept does not :(

I really wanted to just test out the concept in this jam for a larger project and of course get my Illustrator skills up to scratch!

---------------------------------------

@JoeKinglake

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#23Mood3.92
#35Audio3.70
#57Graphics4.07
#539Overall2.96
#549Fun2.79
#903Theme2.05
#926Innovation2.09

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:16am

I like the music! :p What did you use to create it?
Such a shame is so short!!!

MyGrandmother says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:18am

Hi Joe, great game man, just a shame that is so short.

hate-marina says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Reminds me «Another world»

Kvisle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:22pm

This was a nice entry.

I remember I played some flash games a few years back that were similar - where you had to solve a bunch of puzzles to get out of a room you were locked in. It's a concept that has more than enough potential to go around.

A bit short, but I'd love to see what more you can do with it.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Gorgeous visuals, pallet, mood and sound design here, rated highly. Refreshing to see such clean cut polished gameplay too, it's short but memorable which I like a lot. You could possibly name it 'A weird world' (or something similar) to add to the overall aesthetic and play up the mystery of the game. :)

etabubu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Fantastic homage to Another World!

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Interesting atmosphere - you've captured that really well. Not sure about how much it ties in with theme though....

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:00pm

I also immediately thought of Another World's opening scene when I first saw it - not a bad thing!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Very short, but the atmosphere is excellent. Great art style and palette, and the background music is a perfect fit.

Halfire120 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Awesome visual style! Loved the idea! Great audio! would have loved to see more :)

kakhoofd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:54am

good atmosphere, nice music. But as said, does feel a wee bit short. Overall really like the style

YsenGrimm says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:59am

Reminds me a lot of Another World for Amiga, anyway would love to see this as an full game.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:46pm

I really like the graphical style! Really short, but it would be awesome if you make it into longer, bigger game :)

zebi24 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:04pm

This might be a start of something great! Graphics and sound really sets you up in a misterious mood. Please keep working on this! ;)

digihacker says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Nice graphic ! You should try a screamer version of this xD

Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:14am

Nice concept. Too bad that it's too short.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:03am

Nice graphics style, which really reminds me of Another World by Eric Chahi. It does seem more like a proof of concept than a game at this point, so keep working at it!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:06am

Nice concept, I love point and click adventures.

psychonull says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:13am

Loved the art style and mood, though I felt it's too short and the puzzles too straightforward. I would like to see the larger game developed!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]