December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You ONLY Get One Nuke

by barret907k - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You ONLY Get One Nuke!
Defend your nuke as the enemy tries to take it down. Move your shield to defend against missiles and lasers. Very similar to Super Hexagon.

You can check out my blog to see how I made the game http://lorenzgames.wordpress.com/.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#591Audio2.32
#649Theme2.60
#701Fun2.56
#707Humor1.79
#733Overall2.73
#798Mood2.30
#822Graphics2.21
#929Innovation2.08
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

conormn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:37am

My rocket got all messed up!

apwolf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:46am

Actually a really cool concept for a game. You should make the nuke smaller or rotate it 90 degrees so you have the same level of anticipation from all sides of the nuke.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:48am

I like the spiral fire patterns. It's very tricky to time it correctly, especially when you have to do a 180 spin. Nice work.

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:02am

Those lasers are tough!

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:33am

I blew up :(

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:09am

Very good job at making this game so easy to learn but so nearly impossible to beat. You should spend some more time adding to and polishing this game since it's so much fun. Great work!

xk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:19am

Its really a tough game, sometimes requires too precise timing. But the concept is kind of cool and i could enjoy game despite difficulty issues. Good job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Hard game.

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:42am

Rockets, rockets everywhere jaja. Soooo difficult! good job

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:45am

The gameplay is a bit repetitive, but overall it's fun. The control scheme needs a bit hint though.

Cipher says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:29am

its fun and something people could really get addicted to. Polish it a bit and I wonder what you'll achieve

yosh says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:15am

The music in the title screen is so epic! Very hard game, would it be possible to make a mouse gameplay version?

cappelnord says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Hi, fun game. I think it should have been submitted as a Jam entry, if you used assets that you haven't created yourself in the 48h. I can feel the Super Hexagon vibe :)

DangerPenguin says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Fun game, and good idea!

taocayo says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:11am

Really difficult but the gameplay is rewarding. Would have liked to see more patterns for the bullets (i know, asking that of a 48 comp is crazy) and maybe shorter lasers.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]