December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cluster Buster

by Arne - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a version of an old game called Daleks or Robots. In this version the goal is to take out all enemies with the limited weapons - up to 9 laser blasts and ONE bomb.

Mac and Win version in same .zip file. BlitzMax source included.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1795Coolness0%

Comments

Sakuyan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51am

Wonderful art on sides

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08am

Nice artwork, I especially love the whole feel of the game, very arcade-inspired.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:32am

Oh man! I blew myself up! It's kind of hard to tell which way you're facing (up or down) if you forget which way you last moved. That's my only issue with the visuals. This game looks 100 percent like it should. You even have the LED for the bomb count on the cabinet.

Speaking of the cabinet...

HOLY CRAP A CABINET!

Also an oddity... the cab says L Shift for laser but R Shift does the laser on my keyboard. Hmm.

The audio doesn't fit they visual style, unfortunately, but that doesn't mean it's not good. It's a very relaxing tune that helps me think about my next few moves.

Good work, man!

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24am

Works with Wine :-)

Very nice puzzle, I loved the concept. I have never played the original of this game, but I imagine that for some people it might be the source of a lot of nostalgia.

While I enjoyed the game, I think the controls could use some more love. In particular, the "skip step" control could use some sort of more explicit feedback, such as a "step" sound or something.

Cheers, and thanks for the game!

Arne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Agreed about all those things. I forgot to add a sound to the wait action. Would probably have caught it with 30 more minutes left. My brain must've misfired so I scribbled L Shift instead of R Shift on that control key. I thought about making two animation frames for the player character so you could tell which step you're on (player moves twice before enemies move once) but later I sort of learned to keep track of it. A different step sound could work too (Clac, cloc), because brains like to remember sound order.

The music was pretty much the only thing that I made day one and at that point I didn't quite know what game I was making. Maybe something Dwarf Fortressy looking... that game has guitar music. I suppose the only way to make sense of my music is to imagine that... the cabinet sits next to some guy fooling around on his guitar.

Glad you liked it. It's a bit flat but I enjoyed finally beating Level 3, which is the last one. Seemed like a hopeless fight at first and there were a bunch of fun desperate/tragic situations which made the music work a bit better.

01010111 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Cool art - in game and illustrations. I am awful at this type of game, but I managed to take out at least half of the enemies!

HD408 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Nice retro style!

GingerMess says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:51am

Lovely art, and a good game, although the theme association may be a little lacking. ;) Great entry though.

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:23am

Really enjoyed this, Arne! I really enjoyed the music, it set a good tone for the gameplay. I felt awesome beating the first level, then realized I hadn't won the game and I was scared :P Cool gameplay, and great side art :)

Vi-King Games says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Fantastic art and graphics. When I started playing I had trouble remembering what direction I was facing, but I quickly figured it out. The music is also very nice.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]