December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

th3 r00m

by SaintHeiser - 48 Hour Compo Entry

About:
This is the room. Your god. Follow it and try understand something.

Controls:
Arrows - move
Space - start game and skip texts
Z - shoot(if have gun)
X - bomb(if have bombs)
Alt + Enter - fullscreen

Tools:
GameMakerStudio Profetional, FLStudio, bfxr

Some little fixes after deadline:
1) Crashes on fullscreen
2) Grammar correction
3) Chest visibility
4) Tesla sounds added (charge and wave, I forgot about it)
5) Some tile correction at the right area
6) Fixed explosion wave when boss died
7) Finish zone is smaller now
8) Fixed quest sequence with HUD (if picked up earlier than compass)
9) Menu design updated
10) Beep sound in the room is reduced
11) Added door at the graveyard
12) Fixed total bomb count visibility
13) Added text skipping by space key
14) Reassign shoot and bombs on Z and X keys

All fixes take less then a hour...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#21Mood3.95
#40Overall3.86
#56Audio3.59
#66Graphics4.02
#97Fun3.56
#299Theme3.23
#334Humor2.63
#350Innovation3.12

Comments

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:07am

Wow, the atmosphere and presentation are awesome! The controls are tight, and although it takes a bit to get used to, the gameplay is really fun!

On top of that, the graphical style is fantastic and the music is awesome too!

Seriously, this is like normal-game tier. How you accomplished this in 48 hours I have no idea. Definitely one of my favorites of the night.

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:24am

This is a really original game. I like the sense of mystery about who/what you are and why the room controls you. Graphics are also full of imagination although maybe a bit too dark to see clearly always. I'm going to come back and try to complete this game. Great game.

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:26am

Amazing graphics! Really good game!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:56am

@y2bd
I also wondered how I make it in two days. I don't cheat. Two days really. But I slept five hours this "night".

@ashen
Its about 8-15 minutes of gameplay =) Very short.

I'll fix some bugs and typos today or tomorrow.

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Graphics are great, Animations are smooth. Nice game for 48 hours.

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:00pm

No OSX? :(

Rothens says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:08pm

I really loved the atmosphere! Cool game! :)

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Wow! This is far the most polished and complete game I've played for now. Music fits very well the visual style and overall atmosphere, story was nicely presented.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Nice! Loved the graphics and audio. My only complaint is that graphics have very little contrast, at first I thought it was just a black floor while it has a lot of detail. Gameplay is interesting but enemies easily swarm you so it's easy to get killed. It's not that annoying but it still hinders exploration a bit. Atmosphere is superb, loved it. Great game overall, good job!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Nice work! The atmosphere is very mysterious. Only thing that could be done differently is maybe a slightly more zoomed out camera. It was hard to react to certain things in the short amount of time it took for them to come on screen and hit

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Really enjoyed this game, great graphics :D

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Dude, you made an awesome game, this is really nice. Graphics are superb, the story is tight, I love it. Really, really well done!

vapgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I really like the lighting effects. But the game keeps exiting.

kratorspore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Atmospheric with great presentation. Great stuff!

Bribz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Game looks great, sounds awesome, and creates an intriguing setting. Overall, the mood is outstanding, I only wish I could spend some time exploring and admiring the scenery, instead of always running and dodging baddies.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:23am

Very atmospheric and pretty nice gameplay. The quality in this title is also very high. I commend you for doing so much in such a short span of time.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:37am

Excellent graphics ! Love the gameplay. Great job!

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Excellent. I got stuck after getting the gun but that did not detract from the score

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Linux! I'm so excited! This was the first of Heiser Saint's games that I've ever been able to play.

Really impressive! Very good length, very nice mood and atmosphere. I really loved the electric spikes, and the exploding metroid bomb-crabs. Can't wait to play Sig_NULL!

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:11am

Wow, graphics were amazing!

huhwhozat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:20am

Wow. I can only think of two real negatives I noticed during play: 1 - the gun was a bit awkward to control. 2 - some of the wording really threw me out of the mood and I found it hard to understand what the room was saying at points. (I'm guessing English is a second language?) But wow. Good story and pacing. I loved that you show how the room is not looking out for you right away by having the spiders run at the lasers. I felt threatened all the way through the game. Enemies and hazards are interesting too. Great use of graphics and effects like the lighting. Sound is nothing special but didn't seem out of place or lacking anywhere. Music is fitting though minimal. I like the repeated use of the theme. I'd like to do a quick write-up of some improvements you can make to the dialogue if you don't mind the suggestions! Overall five stars - this is the most complete and solid experience I've seen s far.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:29am

Very well executed idea! Nice degree of polish. Overall pretty nice zelda-like ARPG. But I think the backgrounds are way too dark that I can hardly see them.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:17am

Finally a really good game ! But I'm stuck when I have to destoo the other room :(.

01rafael says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:51am

I'm not sure that you're done all this stuff in 48 hours alone. But, this is lovely game.

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Very cool game, story felt a bit abrupt at times but fit the theme and was a bit funny too!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:10pm

very polished. i love the art style and animations.

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:01am

Wow, you crammed a whole lot into this one! Plays well, great little story.

csanyk says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:39am

Wow, there's a lot here and much polish. You must be very good with GameMaker to put this together in 48h.

SaintHeiser says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 8:38am

2csanyk
Yeah. I've been worked with GameMaker for 10 years =)
I didn't see something better for 2d games development alone.
But most problem always is content. I had become skilled in pixelart last time ^_^

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:23am

My only complaint is how similar the mines looked to the red healing pads. Making one of them orange or yellow or just some other non-red color would have been helpful. Otherwise, it was a good game. Fitting music made for nice atmosphere to it.

patrickgh3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:20am

Wow, this was great! Mysterious and intriguing atmosphere.

KeyMaster says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:46pm

This is really high-quality stuff! Liked the narrative, the graphics, the sound, pretty much all of it! Nicely done!

SaintHeiser says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 10:15am

Not nicely actually. If look to ratings...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]