December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Color

by Gyncoca - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You just need Java for launch the game sems don't work on Linux
Controls:
Arrows keys: Move
Spacebar: Switch color

Story:
Colors are barely existent in the world
You must gather all the colors of the rainbow scattered around in all the levels to bring them back !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#174Innovation3.45
#208Theme3.43
#297Fun3.18
#314Audio2.86
#339Overall3.20
#414Mood2.89
#559Humor2.11
#855Graphics2.16

Comments

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:28am

I love it! It's a really smart game platformer-like, and it has puzzle in it! Man, I am going to play this more than one time... such fun!

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:13am

I like how simple this game is, and fun it is to play it. Love the soundtrack btw

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:42am

That music killed me:P Fun puzzler though!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:45am

I've seen a couple of games with this concept, but this one is the best so far in execution. The levels that were missing visible floors confused me for a bit since the first few levels had them. Good job explaining the gameplay in the first two levels.

BluShine says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:51am

A nice little puzzle-platformer. Graphics are a little too minimal for my taste, it seems more like "ran out of time" rather than "intentionally minimal". But with the clean simplicity of the gameplay, it doesn't make a big difference.

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:56am

Great idea. And a very nice overall entry.
Some critique:
I find it hard to judge the fun aspect, because, when it works, it is very much fun, but when it does not work, it gets very frustrating. Stopped by things which you cannot see can easily be the most frustrating thing in a game. Although the upbeat music helped a lot.
Stopped at red color. Not trying more than a few times when a flawed jump destroys all level progress.
Graphics were a bit too basic, could use more charm.
So, these things said, I really liked your entry.

Gyncoca says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:07am

Thanks for your comments !
The red is the last level, so it's the more hardest.

The music is make in like 10minutes it will be better next time ! :p

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:47am

I like these simplistic games..
Nice work..

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:49am

Haha. Simple, but awesome. Exactly what you want a game to be.

Edd Morgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21pm

I really like this game. A very clever puzzle game - could have played a lot more levels!

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Nice one! Really like the concept. It would be great, if the platforms would actually disappear, giving the player more of a challenge. I like the minimalistic art, although the music was quite unnerving to me. Still awesome stuff!

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Love the concept! Thought it was a bit broken at first until I figured out the gameplay. Loved it! Was really fun working out the puzzles.
One of the more innovative games I have played thus far.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Great idea. My short term memory got a workout.

scoobyben says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:02pm

I really like the concept, although it does have the potential to get very frustrating. I gave up on red, as there was a jump I couldn't get exactly right, and kept having to redo the first half of the level

LeReveur says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Good entry, I like the idea. :)

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Interesting game!

ploogle says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:28pm

That was hard, in a good way! Several people did the "change color of the map" concept, but this was the best implementation I saw.

Controls were a little floatier on the way down than I would have liked.

Rustam says ...
Jun 29, 2017 @ 7:19am

Once rated, the line is much easier to access later since you can just tap on the "Top Rated" button (in the "More" section) http://essaysoffaith.com The Quote of the Day Plugin for Windows Live Writer was designed to give you an option to select the Quote of the day from two RSS feeds.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]