December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Castle Uno

by SecondDimension - Jam Entry

A Mini Platform Adventure with 360 Controller Support!

* Web Version: CHROME OR FIREFOX Please
* Added Download Versions for Windows, Linux & OSX

I did this as a Compo entry initially, but just ran out of time. Other than the extra day I followed the Compo rules.
The idea was to have a different gadget in each room, but that turned out to be a little ambitious. Hope you enjoy it!

Controls are in Game, but also here if you want them:

Keyboard Controls:
Arrow Keys to Move
Jump is Up, Z or X (They All Work)
Space Bar is the Action Key, Press it or Hold it to Do Stuff
M for Mute R for Restart & P for Pause

Control Pad:
Left Stick to Move
A button to Jump
Right Trigger or X Button for Action
Start for Pause

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#64Overall(Jam)3.69
#70Mood(Jam)3.57
#83Fun(Jam)3.46
#94Audio(Jam)3.47
#129Theme(Jam)3.24
#169Graphics(Jam)3.62
#216Humor(Jam)2.54
#229Innovation(Jam)2.96

Comments

toaster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:31am

Fun game, I enjoyed playing it.

Kyatric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:25am

Good job, nice art style.
It was nice playing through the castle ^^

mutuware says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:47am

Nicely done, good tutorial screen to introduce the controls.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:10pm

The tutorial text was a really really good idea!

A fun platform game, quite a bit more depth than most. I really enjoyed it a lot and rated it highly :)

kutullu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Nice game, I had fun. :) Played it with the 360 controller and it worked like a charm. The graphic style is quice cool!

Cheers, Marcus

PS: I made the jump, so I have to be a god :D

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I liked this. There were some cool and interesting mechanics :)

The text on the tutorial level was straight unreadable, haha. But other than that it was great!

Ako says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:25pm

This was the best use of the theme I have seen yet! Very polished and finished feeling game. So happy to see Construct2 games. I'm a newbie to C2 so this is truly inspiring!

Deity says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:59am

Cool game. The platforming controls were great (things like scaling walls and double jumps worked well).

I like how you also incorporated the theme in different ways for each level. Nice work!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Quite fun with lovely audio, got stuck inside a box though :P
Great job (:

goerp says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:55pm

I really like this graphical style. Some nice touches in animation, for instance looking over his shoulder when pulling.
To be honest I: for me there were to many keys to press in the right order, so I didn't get very far (maybe a 360 controller makes it easier or maybe I'm just terrible at this).
But I can see from the comments that there are enough people who can do it:)

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Very funny and complete game. Good job!

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:02pm

I like how each room has its own "get 1" rule which create so much gameplays and must have required so much work (all those mechanics, good job).
The graphics are really interesting, How did you came with these monsters, they are fun and unique.
I played with a controller, it works fine.
Final point: I love the music theme.

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Awesome! I like boss level and two little challenges on that level (completed them but with no reward). Very fun, platformer mechanics reminds me of Spelunky.

The sound is great as well as music. :)

michail says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Really fun and stylish platformer. I also like the music and graphics a lot, especially the creatures drawings.

Static 64 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Great platform game. More creative than I expected, and definitely one of the best tutorials I've seen on an LD game. Sadly, I'm not awesome enough or a god.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Thank you everyone for the comments, it really means a lot to me.

I'm glad people are liking the tutorial, although the text is small on lower resolutions (sorry). Basically in my first LD nobody read the text instructions, and so ended up missing all the interesting bits of the game. This was quite upsetting, so I vowed from that day forward to try and have decent tutorials.

@colapsydo - I'm glad you enjoyed the monster sprites, I made them on a spreadsheet in Excel, just out of normal autoshapes. I made all the graphics this way.
I don't consider myself good at art, so the encouragement is genuinely a great confidence boost, thanks everyone.

Congratulations to the people who made the jumps, especially with a keyboard. I know that the whole game was much easier with a control pad. I wanted to have the little guy dance when he was up there, I had an animation but didn't have time to put it in :(

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:03am

Really nice game and nice controls. The only thing that bugged me was that the slide was soooooooo sloooooooow :D.

zatyka says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:56am

Pretty cool. Nice visuals. Thanks for putting 360 controls in, it was a nice break from using the keyboard/mouse. It was also nice playing something that felt complete. Great job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:33am

this is truly one of the best games yet.
real nice pixels and simple but broad gameplay!

good going!

mtrc says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:52am

Nice work! You packed a lot into this game. Really fun platforming, loved it to bits.

cesisco says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Great job, very good gameplay and mood, i have to finish it later.

gre says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:37pm

very good game, difficulty smoothly become harder, love the style.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Good idea and nice execution.. I got stuck in the box though :-)

Monoquartz says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:10pm

A solid plateformer, I love the audio and the graphic effects ! :D

WojWorks says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:20pm

A very solid, fresh experience. I like that you took the theme and weren't too limited by it.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Great game, loved it.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:25am

Liked the music and the unique art / colours. Nice you got to add as much as you did and fit in an ending too.

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Realy nice game !

Strangelander says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:00pm

I'm terrible at platformers, but just made it thru this one. Enjoyed the puzzly nature of the game. The wandering critters were fun, too.

Xavier says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Love it... reminds me a bunch of classics (Jet Set Willy, VVVVVV...) btw I caught a typo "Assmbly"?

Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Thanks again everyone. @Xavier - I really appreciate that, as those are the games I dream about emulating in my own way.
I noticed there are a few typing errors in there, just me typing when I was super tired, I'll try to sort them out at some point

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Nice game. Very unique elements in it. Also very unique graphics style. I made it to the end, but I was neither awesome nor godlike enough in that one level :-(

Music gets a bit monotonous after a while, but fits the game nevertheless quite well!

Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:43pm

I really enjoyed all of the animations and art. The level end portal effect is pretty neat. I like the pacing of the game it feels like I have time to sort things out. I would rather the game had instant death rather than taking damage. But the main issue I have is the music: It needs a few more ideas in it so that the looping isn't so dizzying.

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Fantastic graphics, feel very whimsical :)

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:57pm

hi there! nice entry.

i got stuff at the boss fight. what was i suppose to do?

postmodestie says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Really beautiful style and good game! Loved the look of the Dragon-bird thingy at the beginning as well as the main character.

ehtd says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Nice game

yosh says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:04am

Cute little game that exploits the concept in an interesting and original way. Wished it was a bit longer, but that's already a great performance given the short deadline :)

Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:54am

@Bruno Massa - By the boss fight, do you mean the big floating cloud? With that all you have to do is run to the door at the other side, climbing the battlements is just for fun.
If you meant the last level, then you just need to get rid of all the monsters and the gate will open (use the action button for your tiny death ray)

fluffypillow says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Great game, really liked the art style and the different enemies.

Erkberg says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Great game overall, I really enjoyed it.

loxo says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Really nice game! I like the audio and the graphics very much. But the level design could be a bit better and there is no graphic for the promised coin at the end, that's sad. Oh and the distance between the individual letters seems sometimes a bit large ;)

GFM says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:01am

I really liked the graphics and audio!.
The game was fun!

And damn it! Those exits on the "You only got 1 shot" room don't take you anywhere! I thought it were passages... XD
(yep, was able to get there =D)

Dohan says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Cute art, nice mechanics and it has a good amount of levels!

steamgirl says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:51pm

I'm not a big fan of platformers, but this game is really well executed. It's quite cerebral and I'm amazed by the level of polish, with little details like the dude looking over his shoulder! Good use of the theme too! Sadly it's really not my type of game and my wrist hurt quite quickly (on a keyboard), but while it wasn't much fun for me, I can appreciate the game probably pushes all the right buttons for people who like supermeatboy and similar. Good job well done! :)

Husky says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:53am

Pretty fun, you are really making many different stages of ideas and fit the theme, good job :D

mcapraro says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:42pm

really well done. i found the keyboard controls felt a little hard to get use to, the jumping and grabbing onto walls didnt feel consistent to me. but overall great entry

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Loved the music and mood. really cool mechanics. I had a lot of fun with the gravity glove.

local minimum says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Really well made game. A bit hard to play without a controller, especially the wall-climbing parts. Got a couple of levels into the game at least though. The sprites were really well good and the music fit great.

van noctar says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Good GameDesign! This platform game is very addictive :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]