December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Marvie!

by epb9000 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Marvie is spacefaring alien and can only travel along asteroids. But Marvie has a problem.

He kind of disintegrates every asteroid he touches. He can't help it. His psychologist says the condition will only get worse with age. How tragic.

That means he can only take a single path among any series of forks. Travel to different quadrants to see different sectors. Any name should produce a new set of base sectors for you to explore.

Note: public libraries used: CryptoJS, Sizzle

I wanted to try out some stuff in JavaScript, so here's my first solo entry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#378Innovation3.07
#403Theme3.07
#637Graphics2.67
#724Overall2.74
#728Fun2.52
#875Mood2.11

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:38am

Basic but you did well.

syl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:58am

good memory game, and it's dynamic with name.

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:22am

Interesting idea, extremely difficult!

MadcoreTom says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:52am

It's a bit punishing making you start at level one again. I also would have liked keyboard controls. But it's simple and fun as it is!

epb9000 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30pm

My wrist totally agrees with you on the keyboard control bit. I planned to add it and then took waaaaay too long on the quadrant selection code. You couldn't win the game until an hour before deadline. ^_^;;

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:13pm

I couldn't quite figure out what's going on. Not very intuitive.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Very hard game. I found it like a reverse maze, very unique. I included it in my Ludum Dare 28 video compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/sSLhI-W0qCg

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:51am

Controls are a bit weird, but simple, fun game.

hbocao says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:57am

Ooohhh this is clever! I really enjoyed. I can totally see this as a mobile game, man. Go for it!

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:18am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxaqvfMXczE
My first impressions on the game :)

epb9000 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:10pm

@DanielSnd, sorry about not putting an instructions link into the game panel itself, that would have allowed you to refer back to them. XD

@hbocao In fact, it was my plan to include a set of mobile CSS rules. It's all DOM elements so a couple of media queries would allow it to work well on mobile.

@Jupiter_Hadley Thanks for the coverage. :D

I went on vacation and now I'm so far behind on my game rating.

Muciojad says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Nice! Idea is basic, but very clear and playable ;)

plancien says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Cleverly simple.
+ Path generation algorithm looks good.
- You should allow keyboard controls.

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:20pm

fun little maze game with nice visuals. little annoying you return to the begining when you take a wrong route but otherwise good little game.

Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Some way of locating the portal without having to search for it first would've been nice. Good concept though! I did enjoy it :)

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 11:55pm

nice puzzle game :)

Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:57am

The idea is cool! the level design was also cool i hate when i choose the wrong pad... damn :( .. fun game! Great work! :D

Sean Noonan says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:46am

The character was cute :}

Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Cute game, and very nice, simple ideal, works well with the theme too.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]