December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Alchemist

by dekart - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're the Alchemist, you're mixing potions from ingredients, and you're in rush - you only get one minute to make as many potions as you can!

How to Play:

* Swap items of the same color to match 3 or more of them in a row
* One ingredient of the matched color will be put to the potion
* Collect all required ingredients to complete potion
* Each successfully mixed potion gives you more time
* Don't forget to save your highscore on our server

Technologies:

* HTML5 and JavaScript using CoffeeScript
* pixi.js, spine.js, preloadJS, SoundManager 2, Underscore
* Ruby on Rails (server and asset compilation)
* TexturePacker, Audacity, Photoshop CC, Sublime Text Editor 2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#255Graphics3.43
#256Fun3.24
#444Overall3.07
#537Audio2.42
#745Humor1.63
#780Mood2.34
#861Theme2.17
#996Innovation1.54
#998Coolness48%

Comments

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Nice game. It's not very innovative, but it's fun :-)

5elephants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:04pm

You can't go wrong with a match-3 game. It's not what I expect to see in a Ludum Dare but it's still very well polished. Congrats!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Really solid game, works perfect without any glitches. Would love to see music added.

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:00pm

This worked like a charm. :) The sounds could have used a bit more oomph but a really enjoyable take on a familiar genre. Solid job. :)

Katamori says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:46am

Implementation of theme is time-based again...sorry to say but after LD27, which had the theme "10 Seconds", I got sick of similar games! Terribly sorry, but 1 star for theme.

Solid entry, so may deserve a 3 overall, but in fact, the game gives only a little few extras.

I can appreciate it only by words: so go on with game developement! It's promising!

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:49am

good job!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:34am

Solid and polished.

vikingpotato says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:45am

Really polished and solid! However the game is strikingly similar to that popcap game bejeweled blitz, even the name (alchemy / alchemist).. a little more thought on the gameplay would have been nice

sekaru says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:57am

Pretty standard match-3 game though apart from that I don't have any complaints, it was pretty polished.

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:41am

Very polished and smooth. High scores did some weird things for me. Gave me a top score for a terrible game and didn't give me access for a good game.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:28pm

I really enjoyed it because it was fun, and fit the theme. To improve, I would come up with a more original idea, but overall I like it!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Very nice gamplay! Felt a lot like Candy Crush which I'm sure was a good source of inspiration. Thumbs up!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:31pm

It's bejeweled, but I don't care because it's lovely! :)

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Familiar gameplay, but well polished! Btw, I didn't have sound in Firefox on Windows.

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:40pm

a sort of candy crashed but polish and funny!

somepx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:51pm

A solid entry, flawless! Maybe the theme reference is a bit stretched, but game is fun and polished, good work!

Shigor says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Not innovative, just another match 3 style game with a tiny difference, but - solid, professional work. Could have used some (generated would be enough music)

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:46am

As it has already been said, it's not innovative and the take on the theme is not one of the best, but it looks and behaves like a charm. Good job.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Nice match four game, well done. I included it in my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/Sii3dnpSvEI

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:39pm

In Opera there's no audio.
In Firefox: After some time my score said "NaN".
It didn't feel like I had to look at the potions I have to brew because I can't seem to really work towards the igredients.
My highest score was 12 potions with 432 ingredients while not caring for the potion ingredients and 6 potions with 243 ingredients while trying to go for the needed ingredients :/

Bernhard says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Really nice impression with good clean graphics and smooth animations.
Audio did not play for me in Chrome but I know how much of an issue audio on the web still can be.

eskivor says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:30pm

I think programming a match-3 under 48h could be a good exercise, I should try once ^^
It's nice to have a leaderboard, but we don't know who is the first of all, it's very frustrating.

Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Incredibly well-polished. Lots of nice subtle touches, such as distinct icon silhouettes, click+drag support and clean UI layout. My score hit "NaN" at one point.

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Really polished piece - nice having the high-score table in there as well. If you continue on with this, it'd be nice to see some special blocks, or having things like matching 4 or 5 pieces counts as more ingredients.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]