December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Dash

by BitDemon - Jam Entry

I hoped to have more but I'm pretty happy with what i accomplished.

Controls:
Move - WASD
Shoot - Right mouse click

Objective:
Kill all the enemies and pickup the key before the minute is up for unlock the door.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#92Graphics(Jam)4.05
#113Fun(Jam)3.32
#122Overall(Jam)3.45
#136Audio(Jam)3.32
#150Mood(Jam)3.28
#267Humor(Jam)2.35
#392Innovation(Jam)2.51
#467Theme(Jam)2.14
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:46am

Wonderful visuals and great gameplay!

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:56am

pretty awesome. loved the art style.

travislucia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:56am

Awesome idea, simple enough. Reminds me of delver.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:58am

Cool art style! It would be nice if the wizards didn't spawn right behind me, they shoot before you have a chance to react.

Pixel art isn't usually done very well in a 3D context, it was nice to see someone get it right!

Blooperly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:00am

Haha very fun. Would have been nice with a few more enemies :)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:50am

Gameplay was pretty great! Reminded me of Delver :D
Music is a tad repetitive, but isn't too bad :)
Art was pretty nice, the dirt and walls art really cool!

All in all, a very nice and fun game. Good job.

pereubu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:36am

nice effects :3

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Really nice lighting effects and 3D pixel art.

A couple of complains:
- Why do I always spawn facing the walls and not the enemies?
- Why don't you keep the mouse locked at all times, even during loading screens?

Overall I like it, but how does it fit with the theme?

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:58pm

I picked up a key in level 7 but it disappeared and I couldn't go to the next level :/

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Really cool game. Awesome job! Was the theme link that you are in only one room and you only get only one spell?

robhor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:46am

Awesome game, loved it.
You could expand the game some more :)

I don't really see the connection to the theme though

BitDemon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:21am

Thanks for the comments everyone. I should have made it clear that you only have one minute to kill all the enemies and pickup the key.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Very nice graphics, impressive! Found that it was weak on the theme though.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:52am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JKNbII1kQY4
My first impressions on the game :D

FrederickK says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Wow, really epic!
Loved the music and art style.
You could lock one axis, because all the enemies are the same height as you.
Awesome job!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:23pm

reminds me of Delver. Very cool Idea... pixel art is awesome... played it for a while and enjoyed it :D

Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Cool game, very fun at the begining, maybe more enemies would be better. but great job, gratz.

ShadoX says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:40pm

fun game, unfortunately the key wen't missing after a couple of waves.. :(

DangerPenguin says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:29am

Definitely has a ton of potential! There are 2 things that would make this game amazingly better, having different rooms, which would allow you to hid and have a different strategy other than "strafe and shoot", and different weapons(or adding powerups), allowing people to choose strength of the shot to speed it recharges or something similar.

But overall it was fun, and you could turn this into something awesome!

shard123 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:52am

Really cool idea with great polish, maybe making the rooms bigger would make it more fun because then the enemies wouldn't spawn right on top of you

GarethIW says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:56am

Much nicer than bog standard arena shooters. Fairly weak use of the theme however.

Diptoman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:33pm

Wow, this was immersing and gorgeous *_*
Even though a bit repetitive, it was insanely fun! And OH, the gfx were so cool xD
I didn't get the key on wave 10 and ran out of time ._.

Lythom says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:57pm

Hi, here's some feedback.
What I liked :
- the overall realisation (neat menus, transitions and replay mechanism)
- particle effects
- atmosphere (lightnings, graphics, epic music)
- clicliclicliclicliclic ^^

What imo could be improved :
- Feedback when ennemies and touched (ie. red filter for a few ms, damage sound, little jump or knockback).
- mana system. I can't see any good reason to save mana, so basically it just delay your next shot when you have no mana. A simple "spell cooldown" would have been more neat as a limitation design. But maybe you initially planned other spells ?
- one or 2 secs to move before the fight actually start would have been great. Getting spawnshot is very frustrating :(
- ennemy variations / AI. Ennemies themselves are not really challenging/interesting.

Real good job overall, thanks for the game !

DavidErosa says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Neat! Loved the visuals and transitions!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]