December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

But You Want One More

by spx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

## But You Want One More ##

Not much to say, you only got one key to play.

Story: You got one key but you want more. However, collecting all 9 won't be that easy.
Also: Obligatory seizure warning ;)

Minimal requirements:
OpenGL 3.3
(please try the OpenGL 2.1 version if the game does not start for you)

Thanks for playing!

## Game mechanic ##
- Left number is "lifes left per level".
- When the right number reaches 0 the arrows change and one life is lost.

## Linux ##
- Known: occasional audio clipping
- Please execute BYWOM.sh


// 16.12.
Gameplay video: http://youtu.be/iUgKv57rn4Q

// 22.12
Some fixes for potential crash causes after several minutes of gameplay/multiple restarts.

// 26.12
Added Linux version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#176Innovation3.44
#274Theme3.28
#396Audio2.72
#399Overall3.13
#473Graphics2.97
#478Fun2.88
#678Humor1.85
#744Mood2.40

Comments

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:12am

Well done 3d puzzler. The changing arrows really keep you on your toes. The rotation and movement of the board make it hard to keep your eyes things but thats the point I guess. I enjoyed playing it, thanks.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Interesting 3D game puzzle, great work :D

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:28am

Crashes upon startup without any designated error message =/ Can't rate, sorry...

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:29am

Fast and very fun game, liked it. Couldn't run on windows virtual machine, it crashes at launch. So I reviewed through video :( Please add mac/linux build if you have time, I'd really like to play it.

It has this line in debug.log, maybe it helps;
[1216/024819:ERROR:ipc_channel_win.cc(404)] pipe error: 232

ryann says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:32am

It's a really interesting puzzle game, it gets pretty difficult pretty quickly and within a couple of levels it's too hard to tell what's going on and you never have enough arrows pointing in the right direction to get where you need to go. I also like the particle effects.

mystakin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:40am

I feel like this game could have a geometry wars style frantic gameplay, but it's a little too frantic for me to keep up with. It may be because I'm never sure where I'm going to spawn next. That said, it still looks great and has a ton of potential.

spx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Sorry for anyone who is unable to start the game, this is most likely due to the OpenGL 3.3 requirement, I kind of got used to the clear versioning and behavior of the newer specifications.
The message from the debug.log is normal and printed by CEF3, I believe OpenGL 2.1 is the highest I have seen in a VM, but I could be wrong. I guess a crash is the "expected behavior" when the context creation fails.

Two things I will try within the next couple of days: Lower OpenGL requirements + Linux build.

spx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:16am

I've added an experimental OpenGL 2.1 build. It still uses the 3.3 header because I just can't bother with all the "non-2.1-core" stuff. But it creates a 2.1 context and the shaders are changed according to the 2.1 specification. So it's a hit or miss.. please don't make me do that again :)

Still trying to get a Linux build tomorrow.

lennaert says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:02am

The program can't start because SDL2.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:47am

Very clever! Well done!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:01am

Missing MSVCR110.dll, couldn't run. (cry)

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:37am

Very interesting idea. I ended up spawning repeatedly in positions from which I couldn't possibly win, which seemed a bit unfair. The spinning camera is good for the challenge.

spx says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:04am

@lennaert please extract the complete archive.
@TheStolenBattenberg the game needs the "Visual C++ Redistributable 2012" (x86), most systems already have this because of some other application or game.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:23am

I almost beat the 9th level, but I couldn't get it no matter how hard I tried. I think it would be a good idea to reduce the camera movement a bit, it made the game a lot tougher than I felt it should have been. Other than that, I rather enjoyed this.

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:33am

Really great use of the one-button mechanic! You should make a simple mobile game of this.

KEFIR says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:57am

Wow! Really challenging 3d puzzle!

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Really nice idea and great fun. Looks great too. The rotating got a bit much, perhaps it would have been better to find another way to increase the difficulty?

Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:18am

Very neat idea. Great adherence to the theme. Music was pretty cool.

Pitzik4 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 11:54pm

Autotracker music! Great! The track on the third level really reminds me of the music from my LD24 game.
Anyway, this game is great! The concept is really innovative and easy to catch on to. I found the levels visually appealing and interesting to play. My only problem was that I often spawned moving off the map, and I couldn't figure out how the lives system worked. Thanks for providing a Linux build, by the way!

spx says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:43pm

yes music is generated using atrk, awesome tool when time is limited. effect sounds are generated by bfxr.

bvanschooten says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Great idea! The graphics look good good too. Only, this game is decidedly unfair. Often I start at an edge with only an arrow pointing to that edge and die instantly. In other cases you also don't get a chance to survive.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]