December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

defend TEMPL

by iamwhosiam - 48 Hour Compo Entry

VIDEO: http://youtu.be/vU59G4ZIQjo

*Video is of an older version. defend TEMPL has progressed thousands of years technologically since it was recorded.


WASD to move, point your mouse & left click to throw the OFFERING BOWL.

Keep the pieces of TEMPL inside of the blue circle or TEMPL will be destroyed.
If TEMPL is destroyed, TEMPL will not be happy.

Grab the OFFERING BOWL that sits next to TEMPL. Aim and click to throw.

Purple enemies are called PROXIES, you can use your ball and push them around. Without your OFFERING BOWL, you cannot touch them.

The bullies with yellow eyes are called SCUTS. You can't push a SCUT like you push a PROXIE, you must throw the OFFERING BOWL at them to change where there headed.

When an enemy goes within the disappearing OPEN MAW, they will be burned as offerings to TEMPL.

You do not need to fear dying, TEMPL makes you immortal.

TEMPL'S FAVORITE STRATEGIES:

-> Push the bad dudes towards where the red hole is going to be, not where it is.

--> Be careful throwing your ball cause it can push TEMPL pieces around as well.

---> In between waves, take the time to push TEMPL back towards the center.

----> The enemy is persistent, but dumb. They don't know what they're doing. If you let them wander around, they may just take care of themselves.

-----> If you feel overwhelmed, just remember: You probably can't do it. Give up.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#155Innovation3.50
#278Humor2.81
#328Audio2.83
#390Mood2.92
#669Overall2.80
#695Theme2.52
#718Graphics2.48
#728Fun2.52

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Controls were broken for me (Dvorak keyboard layout) adding arrow keys as well would fix it.

Overall seemed pretty fun and cool. The sound and graphics were well done. The strategy seemed like it would be fun if I could control my guy!

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:16pm

this was amusing. i didn't realize you could throw the ball for the longest time... I just kept bumping them around. good game. :-)

squibbons says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Interesting concept. I actually had a lot of fun playing it. Got to lvl 14/10.

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Interesting. The audio was funny, nice touch with the "danger, danger... " haha

mutuware says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Nice mechanic. Liked the balance of throwing it and knocking out your own pieces. But it seemed easier just to charge the bad guys rather than throwing.

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:37pm

I liked the audio and I liked that it's unique. Good job

mrjordan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:06pm

I didn't understand the controls, but I was laughing at my ineptitude.

"DANGER....DANGER.....DANGER"

01010111 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:02am

really cool game, it was pretty difficult, but I managed to get the Templ happy :)

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:03am

Interesting idea, but I found it quite difficult to put the PROXIES into the MAW. Also, the art was off putting to me.

kunzbe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:13am

I like the this game. The mechanics are insteresting, the graphical style special, distorted-moody dark, and the audio fitting.
What is the pink thing telling us? :)

moop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:58am

Interesting idea but tricky to finish each wave as the enemy knockback wasn't always predictable.

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Eh, audio was kinda cool lol.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:08am

Ahaha, great sfx! Enjoyed playing it, though trying to lead to push the purple enemies in the right direction was a bit hard :S

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:28am

This was actually quite fun.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Great work, fun to play !

DangerPenguin says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Not bad, definitely out there, but not in a bad way.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]