December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Colosseum

by CryoGenesis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

----The Game----

In this game, you will fight waves of enemies with your weapon. You can stab and slash your enemies using the movements of your mouse (no clicking). Every so often, you gain enough XP to level up. Levelling up provides you with a new weapon which is better and regenerates your health. Be careful, enemies spawn faster each time you level up.

You have one life. You have one weapon. Make it to level 10 and you will be granted your freedom on the order of our great emperor.

----Combat Information----

There are two attacks that you can simulate using mouse motion. One is a stab, the other is a slash. As you progress levels, the weapon changes. The damage the weapon does depends on how you use it. For instance, stabbing with a spear does more damage than slashing with a spear. Another example would be a warhammer. Slashing with a warhammer does more damage than stabbing with it.

You must use your own initiative to determine which kind of attack to use. Some weapons do equal damage with both attacks.

Also, stabbing and slashing speed is taken into account when hitting an enemy. The faster you stab and slash, the more damage which is inflicted upon the enemy.

----Development Info----

This game was written in plain Java, with no other libraries apart from the standard Java ones. All of the art was hand-drawn, using a graphics tablet, and is available as a stand-alone download.

After my last submission and feedback, I have made sure that I included the things people said I missed. This included 'juice', art and sounds.

----Errors----

You need an updated version of Java, if the applet fails to load.

If the load bar stops and doesn't continue after 3 seconds, you may need to restart the applet (due to github server stuff).

You need to have a screen resolution bigger than 800x600.

--------------

I would appreciate if you could comment what was good/bad about the game! It will help me improve.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#114Fun3.52
#142Innovation3.52
#268Overall3.29
#316Humor2.70
#573Audio2.36
#588Mood2.63
#658Graphics2.61
#700Theme2.51

Comments

dcolgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:13am

Very cool mechanic! I feel like this could be expanded on into a larger game.

oxysoft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:15am

Repetitive but very innovative gameplay

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:22pm

It took me a little while to understand how to attack, and I didn't know if I was doing any damage, but once I started upgrading weapons the game became very fun, overall good job!

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Really cool mechanic. It's a bit too much after a while, but there is definitely more to it.

Doubstract says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Very cool!

dooglz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Very enjoyable

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:11pm

At first I thought I didn't know how to attack. Once I levelled up things made more sense. Fun game, I especially liked the level up animation.

YellowLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Doesn't stick to the theme much, but has very addictive (and violent :^y) gameplay

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Haha, this was really cool. I love the attack mechanic and the way your enemies move is so creeeepy. I loved it overall.

bit.ly/18RddR1

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Cool but a little bit on the easy side :) I must admit I felt like swinging my weapons hollywood style which was fun and led me to my freedom :)

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:03pm

I love the progression and swinging game mechanic even thought it can be a bit clunky.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:04pm

dying in the coliseum is a form of freedom. analog combat mechanics are difficult to pull off; well done.

kratorspore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Great attack mechanic and challenging game-play. Very satisfying thunk when you stab your enemies. Top notch!

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:12pm

you just invented wiimote for computers. great concept.

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Very original! Cool mechanic! This game better place well!

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26pm

I liked the combat mechanics. It's fun and simple and it could work very well as a touch-enabled game. The screen shake effect is nice and the audio is well placed.

I think you could have added some more "juice". I don't get enough feedback when I hit an enemy without killing him. Also, it seems that collision detection is skipping objects sometime when you swing. Another thing that would have been nice to have are some animations when you pickup XP balls (the attraction is great, btw). And it bothered me a bit that intro and instructions were in such low resolution.

All in all, I liked this game. 4/5 :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Insanely fun!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Very fun game mechanic, I was just a whirlwind of death and destruction. Felt a little unbalanced, them with no weapons and me with a giant flaming sword. Very well done, and you should continue development of this game.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Sprites for the weapons were nice, for the rest (enemies, player, background) not so much. The camera shakes really help the game feel a lot better and more addictive. The response on the attacks could have been a bit better for when you're missing (sometimes they don't connect at all, I assume you have to be over a certain velocity or use stab/slash properly depending on the weapon). Other than that great job!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Definitely an interesting game!

joekinglake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:24pm

The control scheme.. Oh god it's wonderful. This is fantastic, at first i thought it was a nice demo, then POW.. I levelled up and i was hooked. Amazing job here.

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Swinging the weapons serves for a lot of realism :P I hardly ever used the stabbing attack, due to the masses of enemies.
Nice entry! =)

pighead10 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Felt like it was missing music. I think that large hordes of enemies that died in one hit would have been better than these bobbing heads which were annoying to kill. Overall, a fun mechanic.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Had a lot of fun playing this. The fighting mechanic could make for some nice "skill" based duells :)

eternalmajin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:55pm

(Web version in case it matters)Very neat combat mechanic. I had some issues with hitboxes where I would swing through an enemy and seemingly not touch it. I would have liked a few other enemy types, maybe ones with weaknesses to one attack over the other.

Eric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:26pm

This game is Awesome! It sucked me in! Just one more level up, just one more level up. I actually started shouting "there are so many!!!!"

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:29am

Good stuff! I played to the end :) I found the feedback loop to be a little too favoured towards the player. I kept getting stronger, but the challenge didn't increase, which started to lead to boredom. If it wasn't for my curiosity in seeing what the next weapon was, I would have stopped at about the fourth wave.

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:26am

couldn't use WASD to move (on a mac), so the enemies pushed me into the walls. on second try I managed to upgrade my weapon (more than once?!). pretty violent - I like, I give 4/5 stars overall ;)

headchant says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:25am

Somehow a really cool idea. Needs more different gameplay elements but it is fun. Keep at it!

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Nicely done!)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:01pm

good work man.. loved the way you kill them.. i also wrote mine in java but think im going to learn a diff language for the next one as the security things and update are driving people nuts i think ;p

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Really cool, I thought the swinging and stabbing mechanic felt really satisfying and was really fun to play. I'd like to see this expanded, as I think I'd probably sink a lot of hours into it if it was. Nice job!

megaelliott says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Fun to play, especially the breadstick phase! Who doesn't love slapping people round the face with a loaf of bread? It got a bit repetitive late into the game, but I'm sure with more development time it would be awesome! Overall 4/5

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Lots of fun to swing, although at times the controls react a little strangely. If you can get a good swing going then it is nice. Sometimes when you go to the next stage the enemies just spawn on top of you and you go from full health to dead without any chance to do anything, which can be frustrating. Great job!

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Loved the physicality of the game. Congrats!

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Very fun and addicting. Feels a bit clunky as an applet as it's easy to loose mouse focus, but the mechanic is really cool. Sometimes it's also a bit frustrating if you get knocked around and pushed off screen - very disorientating until the camera catches up.

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Very fun little game, good mechanic that could be refined to be great. I would recommend making hits more apparent, its not obvious if the players attacks are doing damage. Good opportunity for multiplayer i think.

Gas says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:04am

Nice game! I liked the fact that I was always wondering and hoping for something good next(I was like "ATOM BOMB PLZ" haha) but yea the game was really awesome! looking for votes on my game as well: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=20784

conormn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:14am

Really really fun. Great job, seriously keep going with this!

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:59am

Great game, give me lots of Kung-fu feeling.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Is it karate monkeys?
Good work, and fun top-down!

scoobyben says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:33pm

The upgrade mechanic kept me playing, but the zoom level and shaking of the screen were really disorientating and a bit unpleasant. Could just be me

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:56pm

I liked it!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:01pm

is sure is satisfying to stab them in the face! nice work on the gameplay. I can only wish for more audio :)

pele says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:35pm

STAB!! STAB!! Hahahah so much fun

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:52pm

FUn game in the way of mechanics. Just ever so slightly clunky but otherwise great work!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:11am

Very cool!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:06am

Nice game ! The difficulty is just perfect I love it !

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:13am

Very odd game, but none the less I'd love to see what it would be like if it was expanded upon.

mortus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Great mechanic! I didn't found stabbing any useful at all though, and slashing could win you a game even almost without moving sometimes.

pkenney says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:40pm

This was fun! The way I ended up playing was a bit spammy, and I wasn't sure which type of attack I was doing, or whether I was going to damage an enemy. My weapon could either pass through, or hit them, so I'd just wave repeatedly. Perhaps if I'd understood more clearly then I could have played more carefully.

The screen shake is a nice touch, game some visceral feel to the attacks.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:12am

Really fun entry, would love to see a bigger game with this sort of mechanic polished up. Great job. :)

Husky says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:19am

This is fun!
And so much violence lol :D

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:00pm

Good fun! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]