December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Night

by Red Mike - 48 Hour Compo Entry

'Twas the night before Christmas, when all through the house;

Not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse;

The stockings were hung by the chimney with care,

In hopes that Ol' Saint Nick soon would be there.



And it is up to you, dear player, to guide Santa Claus through houses to deliver presents and candy to every children and parent in the world, in just one night. A monumental task, but one that he manages every year. Click your way through the people's houses, but make sure not to wake them. Technology has made it so Santa has to be extra careful not to be noticed. A single alarm would mean that the house would be without presents for the year. So try to be very quiet!

NEW: The counter in the bottom-right is persistent and global. It will count any wins by anyone who has played the game in the world. Just try and deliver presents to all those people!

Notes:
- Sound is a bit bugged on Chrome, I believe, but there's not much I can do about it without using a separate library for it.
- I really wish I could have made some music to go with it, but really didn't have the time.
- A very early Merry Christmas, and to all a good night!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#283Humor2.80
#331Innovation3.15
#435Mood2.86
#451Graphics3.00
#530Theme2.81
#622Overall2.85
#673Audio2.05
#728Fun2.52

Comments

suoraviiva says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Very nice! The alarm is a clever plus, it makes me ignore the toys and adds difficulty.

Bonus points for the global present delivery counter!

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:03am

'Tis a nice, festive game; I thoroughly enjoyed it. The global present counter is a really creative idea. Merry Christmas to you, too!

the says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Global counter is a great idead.

Xgor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Fun idea, although the random generation dosn't variate enough to make you play it more than 1-2 times.

Jimanzium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00pm

The idea was good but the game itself seemed a little boring to me, but maybe not for others, the character was slow and the levels were repetative so I didn't bother getting very far. My cursor would frequently freeze and santa often got stuck on corners. The graphics were simple but worked and the use of the theme was there, so still a good job and I give credit to anyone who managed to finish this LD for it didn't go so great for me.

NikinCZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02pm

I think it's (again) because I have got old computer, but Santa is very (I mean very) slow for me...

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Suffers from santa getting stuck everywhere and the fact that the room layout is always identical and the toys are not placed very strategically.
However I like the general idea. Could be quite good with some more time spent on randomizing rooms and "intelligent" toy placement. But thats the problem with ludum dare. So much to do, so little time.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Really enjoyed this take on a Santa game, much more original than most (most being 'collect/drop the presents'). Sound didn't work for me, but that didn't make the game less enjoyable.

Kane says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Very nice game, and the idea goes well with the time of the year ! I like it :)

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:33pm

It was somewhat of a fun game
but i kind felt meh
i dont mean it to be insulting but the game was overall good on average

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Cute idea!

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:44am

It's christmas time! XD the stealth concept is good!

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:29pm

The is respected! Gameplay is good and challenge exist (with the alarm). Innovate and funny! Good job!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Cute idea ! I love it, kind of challenging.

KeyMaster says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:03pm

Really nice take on the theme and good gameplay. Could have used more different kind of challanges, but for 48 hours this is pretty nice!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]