December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Protecto El Dorado!

by rubna - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as an old man with only ONE spear and kill all that aim to steal El Dorado's holy riches!

CONTROLS:
Arrow keys to move
Z to jump or walljump
X to throw your spear
F4 to go fullscreen

Try to protect as much of your treasure before you die! And post your hi-scores in the comments! Let's see who's the real protector of El Dorado!

Have fun!

*UPDATE*
Fixed a fatal bug when you hit an enemy while dead.
Fixed bug of depleting money on deathscreen.
Changed the name to "Protecto El Dorado", because that extra o adds all the coolness ever.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#31Graphics4.23
#36Fun3.80
#43Overall3.83
#49Theme3.85
#220Mood3.21
#245Audio3.00
#276Innovation3.24
#286Humor2.79

Comments

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:11am

Love the colours

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:16am

Great graphics and fun, arcade-y action. Well done!

deathray says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:21am

You've done everything great - animation, graphics, gameplay. I only wish I could make the window larger. Also it crashed on me once.

rubna says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Thanks for the lovely comments! Deathray: you can go fullscreen with F4. It will blur a bit, but everything is nice and big!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:39pm

The most fun entry i've played till now. Effective graphics, simple but good sounds and a fun gameplay mechanic.

Goed gedaan man;)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Really nicely done. Love the spear mechanics. Jump height/wall jumping is a bit odd, but other than that it plays very nicely.

Juno Nguyen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Love your gfx.

dznemotion says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Graphics, color and fun are very nice! Good game!

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Really nice animations, graphics and game feel. The way things move around (spear, money, player) feels really responsive and "right". Really nice job!

acronaut says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:34pm

well put together! good pixel animations, effective sounds (steps, collides, etc..) nice spear mechanics (embed on walls, deflect by sheild).

Katamori says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16pm

More levels would be great. But great overall!

rubna says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Thanks so much for all of the positive feedback you guys! It really means a lot to me :D I'll be sure to check out all of your lovely games, too :)

ashen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:43am

This is a nice arcade style game. Good sound effects and cool graphical style. Having the one weapon and needing to grab it again after using was a good use of the theme. Very good.

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:51pm

What a fun game! The graphics are great. Great job!

Sanguine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:05pm

The graphics are simple and adorable, a bit of music would have been cool though

rubna says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Sanguine: Yeah, I miss the music a lot xD Especially on the title screen, but I didn't have time to make any anymore, plus don't have a lot of experience with making music for games. Will do with the next LD for sure though!

Again, thanks everyone! :D

Riilu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Controls felt wonky as you need to wall jump to get up, the game window was too small to make much of what you were doing, it got confusing (maybe double the zoom level for better visibility?) The game did not really keep to the theme though.

Fogs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Loved it, congrats!

rubna says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Riilu: You can go fullscreen by pressing F4. The walljump takes some practise, but if I made the jump higher, you'd keep bumping into the ceiling and that would be even more annoying!

Also, I think I kept to the theme pretty well as you only get one spear, so you need to get it back every time you throw it.

Too bad you didn't like the controls man. Hope you still kind of liked it though! :P

ColeSlawGames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:37pm

I actually had a lot of fun with this! I love the little character sprites, especially the old man. An innovative take on the whole "You only get one shot" that a lot of people seemed to do.

The physics for the spear were great too. I enjoyed wall-jumping, then pitching my spear across the map to pin some dude. Very satisfying!

Perhaps my one complaint would be that it's a bit to hard to get to the other side of the map from the top screen. You can't just jump over the middle divide, and you have to wall-jump to the other platform in order to jump over the center piece. It's a bit time consuming and bothersome, but otherwise it didn't detract too much from the experience.

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:46am

simple but beautiful pixel-art. Really love the gameplay. Maybe the stage is small and the main character need jump a little more. It's hard dodge the shield-guys.

Moist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Great! The game's very simple yet extremely fun. I really like character animations. Good job.

Claw says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Really solid feel to the game, and very fun! Found myself replaying over and over until I remembered I should go vote on other games as well ;D

kutullu says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Nice game, beautiful graphics and cool arcade gameplay. Like it very much! :) Cheers, Marcus

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Very arcade, love it.

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Eye-popping (quite literally). Must say that while it's simple it still feels very good to play.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Quite fun in a Super Crate Box-y way. The physics feel right for the most part, which is the most important aspect in these games. Dislike those obvious bfxr sound effects though.

SamH says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Nice graphics, nice mechanics. I like the fast pace! It feels good to play, except maybe for the slightly odd wall jumps (I'm used to Super Meat Boy allowing direction changes in mid-air).

GarethIW says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:28pm

You got a lot out of so few pixels. Looks really neat, nice animation and smooth controls.

s73ph4n says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 4:23pm

One of my favourite entries in this Ludum Dare. Congratulations!

rubna says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 10:36am

Wow! I made the top 50 in 4 categories! This was certainly the best Ludum Dare yet!

Thanks again for all the lovely comments and feedback, see you all at the next Ludum Dare! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]