December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

blomster

by Ditto - 48 Hour Compo Entry

blomster is an exploratory game with pretty colors and stuff. I really struggled with the theme this time, but a short bit into the game you get a sphere you need to carry with you to progress, you only get one. I didn't really have time to flesh out the story as I pictured it.

Blomster means flower or flourish in Swedish.

New Linux builds are up, both the original and the postcompo version! Huuuuuge hugs and kisses to Kaleb (@belak51) both for contacting me, doing the linux port AND fixing a disgusting graphical bug in the game! <3

Post-compo version is UP!

This ludum was crazy, I've slept ~6hours during the 48 hour compo time. I also have some fun figures to show

Time spent / keys pressed, in application:
19.6h / 116684, Visual Studio
8.1h / 14209, in Google Chrome
3.8h / 18092, Photoshop
2.9h / 27320, in Sublime(text editor)
1.5h / 11631, in Skype
5.7h / 68433, in blomster while debugging!
this adds up to 41.6h during the competition, I may have been afk atm ~2h of that though. Kindof shows why I am so damn tired now! Anyways, I am very proud of the game, I hope you enjoy it as well!

Second place, wow! A bit overwhelming, I don't know what to say.. wow.
Special thanks to:
My wonderful GF who actually made me food, my dishes and stuff.
SonnyBone, @phantom_green for being my rolemodel and friend during jams!
Belak @belak51 for porting the game to linux AND fixing some bugs while doing so!
of course all of you who played and rated my game. wow thankyou speach, I've let this go to my head.. gg guys, cya in april, I'll be doing LD from China! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Overall4.24
Coolness69%
#5Mood4.40
#6Audio4.18
#26Graphics4.31
#47Fun3.72
#67Innovation3.76
#215Theme3.41
#482Humor2.27

Comments

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24am

Holy crap, man. There were several moments where I legitimately stopped and thought, "OH WOW" or "HOW DID HE DO THIS" or "THAT WAS CLEVER". The sphere you collect... the first time I threw it and it bounced... then I looked at the animation of it kind of 'rolling' and just stared at it. It's so simple but just beautiful. And the music. OH MY GOD THE MUSIC. Everything about the audio just really sucked me into this world and made me want to know more. I wanted some kind of connection to this little guy and I was pushed and pushed to get through some tricky puzzles (good job on the puzzle design!) and then I was rewarded by a genuinely moving ending that nearly made me shed a tear.

This is a very, very fine accomplishment.

Yeah, it's a puzzle platformer and there isn't much innovation going on, but you gotta look beyond that and see that what's here is pretty much perfect. And in 48 hours? Are you kidding me? This is a fucking triumph.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:50pm

It's quite a clever puzzle! :)

DST says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Beautiful game! Really nice mechanics and it works in WINE ;)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Wow, that's a very charming game. I loved the mood and the art style. Well done!

Tanser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Amazing game, I cant even believe it is compo! Really nice!
I just fancy the lighting so much. Amazing.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:02pm

This looks soo good.
And is it from Sweden (blomster?)

Poupi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Very beautiful game, the sound is pretty immersive and the graphics are simples but works very well.

Ditto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Thanks DST, edited the description!
PaperBlurt, yeah, I am Swedish, blomster means flower(or flourish?) in Swedish!

grozamorei says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Awesome atmosphere! Small window - great impressions.

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:23pm

This is definitely one of the best games made this ludum dare!

GBolt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:04pm

A bit confusing, but really inspiring.

Sylence says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:35am

Great game. I love the graphics :)

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:38am

This. Was. Amazing. Beautiful, just, beautiful! Hats off for managing to pull this off in 48 hours!

Zambini says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:46am

This game is one of the most impressive I've seen so far. I want to play more but I have to go to sleep.
The light as a puzzle mechanic is not only technically impressive but visually fantastic.

(Also woo hoo for a fellow SFML crazy person! Mine wasn't nearly as impressive, but I've also not done C++ for 2+ years :P)\

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:44am

Fun little game, really sadistic with some puzzle :p
Nice work in only 20h of dev !

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Hey, I can't open your game, it popped-up a message saying VCOMP100.dll is missing and thus cannot open the application.

I really wanna play it, your games are always so great!

Ditto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:19pm

TijmenTio: thanks a lot, apparently, it should work if you install VCRedist(package for using C++ applications). There are 2 different versions depending on your OS.
32bit: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5555
64bit: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=14632

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Really, super smart concept !

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Wow! Incredible game! The design in this is really, really good. The learning curve was gradual, and the puzzles made me feel pretty smart for solving them. Will definitely recommend to people.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Absolutely amazing, the best I've played so far :) The final puzzle before the ending starts is something else, really exceptionally clever stuff.

Sytech says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Atmospheric and clever! Incredible that this only took 42 h for you to make!

TheMaster99 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Pretty great game! Didn't get very far because I gave up after the second time I managed to lose my sphere. That's my problem though, not yours. Also, the "bug" you experienced in my game isn't a bug, it's a feature. There are invisible walls around the map to stop you from leaving the level. There are better alternatives I could have (and should have) implemented, but didn't due to lack of motivation. Hope that clears things up, ping me on IRC if there's anything else you didn't like/understand about it, using same name!

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Sublime. I really enjoyed the game and its ending. Very nice use of lighting as a mechanic.

Patacorow says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Creepy game. I like it.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:36pm

I liked those affects with the colors ,very well made game .

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:20pm

It's so well designed, it didn't even feel like a 48h game. Heavy mood as usual with your games. Some clever stuff going on, while still being taught in an implicit way. Pretty impressive.

LukuluK says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Really beautiful game with a cool mood ! Well done

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:37am

Really lovely little platformer. Really tight physics, the lighting effects are beautiful, it requires a fair bit of thought to complete. I really enjoyed the flower bit at the end. Am I right in thinking it showed exactly the number of flowers I picked?

Really nice ending too. I look the afterlife asthetic too. Good job man.

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:39pm

The "source" link you provided is the same as the "windows" link. I didn't find any source code in it.

Ditto says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Shaun, sorry, just editted link!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Excellent game, well polished and good concept over all. 5 stars well done!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:03pm

I loved it. This is going to rank pretty high. Well done!

tak says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:16am

wow this was seriously beautiful :O the subtle change in music + walking speed while you're walking through the plants at the end just feels so relaxing, like the entire game is slowing down and exhaling :D

and all the extremely subtle visual effects really help this feel like more than just pixel art - the way the character rotates his head when you look up and down, the way the lights fade in and out when you enter and exit rooms, it all just feels really smooth and ghostly. the actual size of the game window was great choice too :D

and the puzzles at the end! wow! so many cool uses of the ball of light as a mechanic, it was all really fresh!

definitely one of my favourite games i've played so far :)

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:54am

Great atmosphere! Great ligth colors!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Really haunting and immersive game, the audio just draws you in! It works kind of subliminally - very creepy, what exactly were those things you were harvesting? Sadly too difficult for me to work out the puzzle as I kept coming back to that one "you are lost" place :/ The presentation was excellent

ezolotko says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:01am

Looking cool

GFM says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:53am

Wow! It's already so moody... can't wait for the post-compo version! :)
The audio and graphics really add up to the atmosphere!

Amazing work!

csanyk says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:06am

I'd like to play this, it sounds like it was a good game. But I am getting this error when I try to run LD28_YOGO.exe after decompressing the .rar:

"The program can't start because VCOMP100.DLL is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."

Ditto says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:11pm

csanyk, see my earlier comment on this, you need to install VCRedist, I posted links to this in the comments earlier, hope you get it to work, please tell me if you do, further questions can be asked on @dittomat or thedittozaur on skype!

Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Super awesome game, love the graphics as well, one of my favorites :) I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) youtu.be/O9M3TIYW4UU

TijmenTio says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Well I FINALLY got around to playing it! As a matter of fact it's the first thing I did after getting back home from the holidays and I'm just in time to rate it too :)

This may sound stupid, but it reminded my of a Zelda dungeon haha. Not just having a new item and solving clever puzzles with it, but also the entire mood surrounding it. The puzzles were great, but not frustrating and the story was a really fantastic addition to it all, making it a beautiful, perfect little game :)
And before I quit typing I have to mention that the music was brilliant!!

Jan 8, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Great atmosphere here!

csanyk says ...
Jan 12, 2014 @ 12:25am

Finally came back around to give this a try again, and I'm glad I did! I *really* like the controls. The subtle camera shift from pressing up and down is a great touch. And I love the ball physics. The platform puzzles gave me a fun challenge. Congrats on placing 2nd!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]