December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Only Journey

by Cthulhu - Jam Entry

If you play the game, please leave a comment below!

This is a small game to mess with your brain ;)

Made with lwjgl, slick-utils, jorbis and gimp.

Music: Pix - To Begin Again

<SPOILER>
PS: There is no bug. If you end up on with the "Lost time is never found again" message then you lost :)
</SPOILER>

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#9Theme(Jam)4.14
#21Innovation(Jam)3.83
#37Audio(Jam)3.79
#68Mood(Jam)3.59
#173Humor(Jam)2.76
#223Overall(Jam)3.17
#366Fun(Jam)2.61
#463Graphics(Jam)2.42

Comments

Inso says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Hahaha omg. So frustrating game.

I want to play it again, WHY cant I do so xD

Well done ^^

sam1373 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Those games that you can only play once... Nice!

tomc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:49pm

I don't get it. There was nothing in this game except horizontal movement.

lekochen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Thank you.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Danggit! I was so close...

Excellent game though. I thought of making something like this myself, actually.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Loved the song. Pretty weird, though.

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Interesting. The "like life this game can only be played once" part is awesome. Music was the best I've heard here so far. Good job!

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:51pm

The music synced perfectly with my playthrough, that made it really cool. I think I almost made it to the end but the game froze. Oh well, can only play once and I respect that. :P

blasmena says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:23pm

pure art XD plays with your patience and faith ;)

cappelnord says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:46am

Very good music and I also liked the subversive gameplay.

Please change your Download Link to Download (Java) or sth., otherwise nobody knows in advance if it will run on their computer or not.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Aww, I wasted my time...

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Genius! There's nothing much in term of graphics, but the concept is fantastic! Good job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:59pm

I played it twice. I lost both times. :-(

Oli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:42pm

I really LOVE it! It's beautiful because it's unexpected and you can play only once. My favorite game, great job man :)

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Is "Every journey comes to an end" is the right ending? Because I didn't really could do something on this screen.

As for the game - this one is just brilliant.. Music creates the right mood, and those movement and swapping things are just INSANE.
Thanks for the reference of the music track! You rock! Absolutely all-five rating!

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Nice game :)

raarlac says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Amazing entry! That mind-blowing simple games...
I barely read the texts though, I was in a rush because of the time limit

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Darn, didn't make it. But it was very intriguing experience regardless. The music was great.

rottenmage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Cool! I completed the game! It was fun figuring out what to do =).

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Hey Cthulhu thanks for your comment on my entry! It seems I already played your game, it was one of the coolest experiences and I recommended it to some others. I got to around the part where the black was expanding (or I was zooming into the world) but then my time was up (sadly the game crashed, but I assume it was on the moment my time ended). I tried some ways to start the game again but alas. Nice touch ensuring that people can only play it once. :)

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:22pm

That was cool. I got the cheat from you so I could really beat it. It was interesting though considering not a lot of players would have beaten it. Really nice work.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Haha, I can't help but smile while playing this.
The game is not on the screen, the game is in your mind.
Enjoying the music, watching the arrows go by... thinking, are you moving at all or are the arrows going backwards?
This is so brilliant and so simple. Wonderful job!!

zequack says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:41am

The "only playable once" mechanic reminds me of a game I played some years ago, where you had to choose whether or not you shot a man tied to a post :)
In this game I liked the use of this mechanic coupled to a timer. It gives a bit of pressure so when you just go right at first for a while you quickly stop and think whether it's really the solution... and if you understand quick enough then you have a chance to finish the game. Really enjoyed it ! And the graphics and audio add a lot to the atmosphere. Well done !

KeyMaster says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Wow, this was *really* awesome! The moment when you realise that going right is not right (pun not intended) and suddenly the game changes direction completely (again..) was really great! Such a simple concept but so much innovation!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]