December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get To Save One

by PEBKAC - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Attack the Lich King* and save (one of) your parents.

*Actual Lich King not included.

More, (soon) on my blog, at gamegiver.blogspot.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#462Theme2.95
#542Humor2.14
#743Audio1.59
#778Graphics2.34
#841Mood2.21
#902Innovation2.14
#958Fun1.95
#982Overall2.10

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:32pm

pretty alright entry. Controls were a bit wonky, and it was very short. just seemed like a "follow the path while spamming click" game.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:50pm

It would be better if the enemies had a feedback when hit, blinking red and jumping back etc, or else they just seem like an obstacle.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Controls were freaky, and the zombie just pile on you! The decision of who to save has pretty much no narrative weight, coming so soon and with essentially no context. Still, for 10% of what you were going for it's not bad.

scoopsy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Good effort. I wasn't able to save anyone at the end, but it was still interesting. Impressed that you had time for animations - I fell short of it!

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:10pm

I couldn't understand how to attack at first and got cornered by a dozen zombies (nearly raged-quit! lol) but I noticed the controls at the bottom of the page and finally managed to saved my mother. I can't remember who died though...

kbake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:49am

Took me a bit to get what to do, I didn't realize I was actually attacking when I clicked my mouse because it looked like I was just raising my weapon a bit, but once I figured it out it went smoothly! I think adding some sound would go a long way with this, but it's pretty impressive you got it done in such a short amount of time.

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:58pm

hah! surprise ending. :-p

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:05pm

It took a bit of time to understand how fighting worked. The camera seemed really random. It could be a nice game if we had the other 90% and a bit of polish.

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Controls make it fairly frustrating, unfortunately.

Kohijin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:43pm

was interesting enough for me to finish it. at first i didn't realize that i was actually attacking by clicking and the controls kept spinning me around, but it was pretty easy once i got the hang of it.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Bigger axe swings and some flying limbs and sound fx would be cool if you continue this!

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Good try, didn't have any game breaking issues with it.

yosh says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:08am

At first I was unsure about my hero hitting zombies but by getting close enough it seemed to do the trick!
This game was actually really fun! Even if quite short, with an approximative gameplay and camera, no sounds etc. I had lots of fun!
Good job for a 48h compo!

abeing says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:17am

cool game! very funny graphics. check out my game, its similar :)

tompudding says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Good ideas, and you made some nice progress, but the time limit seemed to really hit you and left it mostly unfinished. I know the feeling :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Controls weren't that hard to understand and the game was pretty decent but it was rather short.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:18pm

I didn't like the way that one of my parents were going to die, so....

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:01pm

verry interesting idea and visually you have done alot. The controlls are verry slipery though and tank controlls dont really work, although i can see whay you used them. nice game, but needs work.

FrederickK says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:08pm

The idea of having to choose or your dad or your mom is good, but need to be better develop.
My biggest issue was the camera, makes it very hard to control, maybe a fixed top view would be better.
You made quite a lot actually, nav mesh, hud, model everything and etc, that is a reason to be proud.

ashen says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:48am

I like the 3D roguelike feel of the game. The attacking felt a bit slow and I was not sure if I was actually hitting them. Still very good effort to complete this much in 48 hours.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]