December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Doubloon Dash

by Gerjj - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Unfortunately I didn't have time to go back and optimise 3D meshes, so if you blow lots of things up at once then be warned for a big FPS dip!

Avoid getting too close to the shore - your ship will be destroyed!

ctrl + alt + F9 for easter egg.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#133Fun3.47
#326Mood3.00
#328Innovation3.16
#331Overall3.21
#399Graphics3.11
#756Theme2.42
#1456Coolness30%

Comments

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:41pm

There should be a warning when you hit the shore, because I was very confused the first few times I played. There also needs to be some kind of objective. Also, I wasn't able to activate the Easter egg, or maybe I missed it?

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:07pm

It was quite fun, and really nice looking, but the FPS was so unstable. I was running 100+ FPS on the fastest settings, I shoot a castle, and suddenly I'm down to <1 FPS.

errorage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Pretty good. I mean sure, ship movement inertia, being able to aim your cannon up or down, a message when you hit the shore, etc, etc. - would all make the game better, but for 48 hours, that's pretty good.

midgard says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Nice job with the destructible thingies, WHO DOESN'T LIKE TO DESTROY THINGS? :D

benjih says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:48am

Do you play as Jesus Christ because this fella can walk on water! Its a fun little game. Good job :D

jongtao says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:02am

DESTRUCTIBLE ENVIRONMENT YEEEEEE! Unfortunately my frame rate was also destroyed :(. It's really fun though.

shatley123 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:28am

Great game. When have looked a little nicer though if you steered in first person.

bitserum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:39am

An awesome entry for such a short time. I think your ship would defeat Kenway's Jackdaw any day. :) Hope you know what i mean. Good job.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Cool idea and have great potential, I wish you the very best - good luck!

jpsierens says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Cool game! Love that you can destroy things =) No story or background though!

Sylence says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Great game! Blowing up stuff is always fun :D

mystakin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Destructable environments are always awesome! I wish the forward canon was a bit more powerful, though. The side canons do more damage, but you can't see the damage they do. :( Strong base for a full game with some polish and goals added.

LTPATS says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:53am

Woohoo! Watching the buildings collapse was fun! Some sound would've helped a lot, and the game did get a bit laggy when things started crumbling. Other than that, good start to a game, this has a lot of potential!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]