December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Stop the Clock

by sknoslo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have one chance to stop the clock... or find out what happens when it is done ticking.

Made with Haxe and HaxePunk.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#233Fun3.28
#248Graphics3.44
#319Overall3.23
#326Mood3.00
#382Humor2.52
#506Theme2.85
#512Audio2.48
#538Innovation2.85

Comments

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:10am

Objective is a bit hard to grasp to start with, and then a bit only winded to complete. The platforming was enjoyable, reminded me of Commander Keen, but having to back track for every piece just was gonna happen. Possibly should of entered warps at the end of each path to keep the pace up.

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11am

Found little game. Couldn't quite figure out what I was suppose to do though. Looks like stuff I use to make in construct2. Very cool!

squibbons says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:17am

I saved the world in 6m48s. Though on my first play I just pressed the button. =)

ColeSlawGames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:20am

Oh balls, I didn't realize exactly what I was doing until I was already low on time. I went to every single path, and sort of assumed the boxes at the end would do something. Ended up just killing myself in the end.

I enjoy the constant pressure the game seems to give off, though. Since you can't always see the clock, but you can always hear it, I was always feeling some sort of anxiety the entire time. In other words, good atmosphere!

Unfortunately, there isn't much to do in the game besides run and jump, and my interest quickly started to fade once I started going down the 3rd path or so. Solid platformer mechanics, but I wish there was something else there too...

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:22am

The platforming was really cool, and I liked the character, sound effects and the fire at the end. It was a little tough to figure out what exactly you had to do though

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52am

Man very fun platforming. Really hard to keep track of time tho.

sknoslo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Thank you all for the feedback. I figured I would get some feedback about it taking to long to run around the "obstacle course"... and it feeling a bit redundant. I had grand plans for the different areas but 48 hours is such a short time! After the ratings are done I plan to expand on this game for maybe a month or so, to see if I can make it more fun. Thanks for checking it out!

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Fun to play. Only the objective is a bit much to accomplish.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:53pm

haha I saved the world in 6.82 minutes! You can all thank me now. (thanks for the game! fun)

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Platforming was fun and well balanced. Not too hard, but not boring either. Could have done with some background music to keep me going though. Was a little hard to work out what I was supposed to be doing at first, but all in all, not bad at all!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Very nice and polished game! The platforming is very well designed!

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Really nice little game and very cute main character. I somehow missed the invisible tiles despite the signposting. I stood around waiting for a lift and assuming that was a bug for a while.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:48pm

great game all around the ending led a lot to be desired but still as a full game it would be on my list of must play

Photon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Nice. I cleared the game in plenty of time it would appear. Not anything revolutionary but it gets the job done.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:46pm

The invisible section and the way you introduced it was quite well done. Could use more audio than just the clock. Good job!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Great game! Nice platform puzzles and use of the theme.

vapgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Yay i did it!

AmmoreChicks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Very cool, great idea. The scenario is the solution! Fun game and nice main character.

Enneract says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Cool little game. I liked the simple graphical style. Especially the character, reminded me a bit of something like super crate box.

atombrot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:50pm

I didn't really get what to do with the clock ;) I liked the button. The platforming mechanics are well done and I would like to see more of this game, when you worked on it a bit more. Definitely see potential in this (just look at the main character ;) )

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:35pm

A bit too long, yet great game :)
5/5 for fun.

GFM says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:23am

This a really simple but well made game! I liked it. :)
The platforming sections were spot on! There were no trick jumps and the character animation was great!

Good job! :)

Broxxar says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Enjoyed this. Pretty solid platformmer!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]