December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Choices

by madameberry - Jam Entry

It's not great. But I at least participated, so whatever.

Edit: Thought I'd actually give a little debrief of my thoughts on how this turned out, now that I'm done being sorely disappointed in myself.
My original idea was "You Only Get One Choice." About as soon as I thought of it, I realized that would make for a very boring game, but I still wanted to try to make it. It evolved into something a little different, and I'm not super happy with where it went, but I think I'd like to eventually go back and develop it the way I was intending to.

Instructions: Click things. Stuff happens.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#69Mood(Jam)3.58
#108Graphics(Jam)3.96
#219Theme(Jam)2.92
#261Innovation(Jam)2.86
#312Overall(Jam)3.00
#377Fun(Jam)2.57
#1545Coolness24%

Comments

Microfrog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26pm

I like it. The art style, the story, the choices you have to make.

But am I missing something? I can only find a total of four items, and I've taken them all to the mother, and chose all of the options, and I'm not sure there's any "good" ending. Maybe I'm missing something.

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:29pm

I'm guessing that the application of the theme is that you can only carry one of the items at a time. I felt like that hindered the game more than helping it. That said, I thought that the art was really good and the story seems really interesting. I'd be interested in seeing more.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Interesting. At first I thought the artwork was crude, but the more I played the more that became an interesting art style. I'm not sure how the theme applies, but still, pretty cool.

LTPATS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:47pm

I liked it, definitely some potential if it was fleshed out a bit more. That being said the short length does make it easier to play it over a few times to get the different endings!

blasmena says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:25am

very involving!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:23am

Interesting, I'd like to have more choice.

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:38am

I liked your jam entry, while I think I might have missed some options or there were only a few, I like your mechanic and replayed the game multiple times to see the different endings.

irma vep says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:20am

I like the idea and your artwork. The theme looks very similar to mine, and it`s really interesting to see how you solved it.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:44pm

There were a few things that bugged me, for example the fact that I have to click on ok when there is a new dialogue (just clicking anywhere on the screen should do the same), and the dialogue felt a bit off. But aside from that, I found it to be an interesting experience with a peculiar feel to it.

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Nice graphics and a good idea but it needed more work so it can become better.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Good point and click, the color choice helped set the mood and making the art minimal reminded me of experiencing vague memories.

I like the idea of multiple endings, gave a glimpse in the 'what if' scenario's most of us ponder.

Only bit of feedback is that I expected to collect all the items, instead of choosing one. perhaps you can communicate that more clearly next try

taocayo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Good game, I think I explored all options with interesting outcomes. Liked the art, I think it suits the mood. Wish it was longer! :)

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:51pm

It's look like those japanese games. Good job.

drkrunk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:43am

I liked this, the color scheme added to the atmosphere of the game, which struck me as sombre. Nicely done.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:58pm

you did a very good job, good atmosphere in the game & overall very well made.

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Nice hand-drawn graphics that give a special atmosphere to this game. Story is a bit too short.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]