December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Diver

by blearn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The idea is simple: People are drowning. You dive down with an oxygen tank (you only get one) to save these people. You must share the tank with the people to prevent them from drowning. Take them to the yellow boat to save them and earn points.

Unfortunately I wasn't able to make time for a tutorial or music/sound.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#293Theme3.24
#528Innovation2.86
#831Overall2.57
#862Fun2.29
#903Mood1.94
#968Graphics1.70
#1283Coolness40%

Comments

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:09am

I thought this was a neat idea, however K doesn't allow me to grab the people that I can see. I can trade air tanks with them but couldnt carry them.
Good effort!

uRLgR3y says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:49am

Great game. I like the level scheme. Can get a bit tough but overall fun!

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:57am

with a little bit of polishing this could be a great game. with this level of detail however, it's harder than it should be. good work, 'tho.

broepi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:20pm

well, this is a good idea, but unfortunataly it feels more like an early prototype with virtually no graphics :(
But I liked the sine wave generated ocean grounds :)

blearn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Thanks for your comments! This needs more work - definitely in the early prototype stage. I wasn't as productive as desired but I plan on fixing it up for a post-contest version that should be more playable.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Great innovation, really matches the theme.

robhor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:33am

Great idea, definitely looking forward to a post-compo version, but this was already very fun to me.

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:36am

Nice idea, pretty tough but fun

ahm99 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:07am

I'm so sorry, I had to give up because I couldn't tolerate the speed at which you swim. Maybe you could have added a "swim fast" key. I also think it was a bit hard to tell who had the tank. But I like the idea and it was pretty fun. Also a little tip that I have learned over time: if your game only uses the keyboard, use the arrow keys for movement (instead of WASD), and the keys on the bottom-right of the keyboard for actions. This way you don't have to just use your left hand. Good job BTW :)

blearn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:09pm

@ahm99 thanks for the input. I usually allow wasd and arrow keys for movement, not sure why I left them out this time. Sorry for the slow movement; I'm hearing that a lot. It is slower to carry a person who is holding the tank versus a person not holding the tank but I agree that the movement in general could use a speed-up.

van noctar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Great curves! :D I can't save people... :(

goerp says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:57pm

That was a nice idea. I like the sinusioide ocean floor.
You should work on it some more, it has some promise; it can be a fun and hectic game trying to keep everyone oxygenated but also rescue them.
At the moment I found the game a bit too hard and too responsive or not responsive enough.
Maybe a different choice of keys would help as well. I easily got confused between J and K (and maybe they weren't always working).
And it would help if there was some audibel and visual feeback of what was happening so I would know that people were drowning, or I was drowning, I picked someone up etc.

larb says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:30pm

You really need to explain that you have to give the tank before you can pick up someone. Because I couldn't figure it out at first. I thought picking up people was buggy.

Cool idea though. Nice entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]