December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Man Fire Brigade

by bvanschooten - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Extinguish the fire with your one man only army! Except on level 3, when you control multiple firemen at the same time. I wasn't inspired by the theme, so I just made a game I liked to make.

NOTE 1: I uploaded a new version where the fire spreads 20% slower (no other changed).

NOTE 2: You can start at any level by selecting it with cursor left and right in the title screen.

Written in about 6 hours total in my cellular automata language CellScript (engine is CellSpace 0.3pre). I know this game needs graphics and sound, but with the limited time I got I concentrated on creating interesting mechanics and levels. So, I am particularly curious if you like the levels.

Though this is my most laid back LD so far, I find the result pleasing. There's something satisfying about keeping the fire in control.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#127Innovation3.56
#233Fun3.28
#366Overall3.17
#779Graphics2.33
#895Theme2.06
#1379Coolness35%

Comments

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:28am

Fun puzzler game. The fire spreads quickly which makes levels tough but the shooting water mechanic is great. I liked the fire break levels the best as they allow a bit more control over the fire. Well done!

granut100 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:19am

Fun game! But the fire spread really quickly.

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:41am

Levels are hard, even the first one (later ones are slightly better imo) :) But as preview of what is your engine capable of doing it's great

Lipedal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Cool concept! I really liked the water spraying mechanic and the way the fire spreads. It's VERY hard though! Couldn't get past the first level :O I think there must be a simple way to beat it but I didn't get it. Maybe one or two "intro" levels could ease your way into the mechanics and tricks of the game, with less humans to be saved and less fire spots. Just a suggestion :) Great job, man! Very innovative game you got there :D

Orangy Tang says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Neat concept (even if it does ignore the theme). Couldn't get past the first level though.

Jan 1, 2014 @ 12:14am

Hard and fun

flatgub says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 9:25am

Very fun, but incredibly hard!
I'm yet to finish level 1 ;~;
-Flatgub

bvanschooten says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:54am

Thanks for your comments everyone!

I have made the fire propagate about 20% slower by changing the delay from 8 to 10 (no other changes).

Note that you can start at any level by selecting it with the cursor keys!

JaymeeMak says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Controls felt a little strange, like I would sometimes stop moving when near walls. It ended up being really, really difficult. Also, having WASD be attack and arrows be movement felt really weird, as most games I've played with a similar setup use the reverse.

epb9000 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Managed to clear all the levels, level 4 was challenging until I figured out the automata rules for moving the humans. It's good that you included the ability to reset the levels. On Firewall, I ended up making it impossible for me to win or lose. Fun game, even if it's a little weak on the theme.

MMoffatt says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:28am

Assets were slightly lacking but at its core it's addicting. That's really good for a game made so quickly.

Citiral says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:58am

The game was pretty fun for a while, although I didn't quite see the theme in this one! I think the game would have been more fun if it was a real turn based puzzler, as in, the fire only grows when you take a move

GFM says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:23pm

This was really fun.

I didn't quite like that much level 3... I prefer to only control one character...
But those levels with crates were great! It was fun using them to control the fire. Also, that level that requires you to save the humans before putting the fire out was really good, too.

Great job! :)

Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:46pm

At first I thought this game was stupidly hard, but you really do get the hang of it after a little while. I must say I prefered level 1 and level 2 way more than 3.
The multiple firemen was awkward to use, and didn't feel as "heroic", which i think was an awesome part. :D
Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]