December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Luminess

by iiechapman - Jam Entry

Luminess is a game where you must paint the world in to see the whole picture.

Note: If your Windows version doesn't start, try the other download!


If you can't run my game, please let me know so I can fix the problem!
Otherwise watch the video!

Also stay tuned for a post-ludum version with enemies, and a video on how to mod the game and make your own levels!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#57Innovation(Jam)3.56
#91Mood(Jam)3.52
#106Overall(Jam)3.52
#119Graphics(Jam)3.88
#139Audio(Jam)3.31
#177Fun(Jam)3.13
#267Humor(Jam)2.35
#443Theme(Jam)2.24

Comments

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:02am

I wasn't sure what the colored walls did, and I got to a level (this is probably the bug) where there's simply a room with no exits. I like the concept of "echolocation" or "pinging your surroundings" to navigate. Given more time to develop levels, I'm sure this would be much more fun.

Before Light says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:12pm

I can't try it out, becouse I have a Windows machine. Just watched the youtube video. It's looked a good idea with nice looking. The ship reminded me the Millenium falcon from Star Wars. Great job!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Really great entry! It's too bad it's not Web or Flash based so more people can try this. The graphics, and gameplay are great. I really love the particle illumination. My one niggle is that it doesn't capture the mouse and in the heat of firing my cannon I am forever going out of the window and clicking on files!

iiechapman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:32pm

@ Code-11, we have resolved all game breaking bugs!

iiechapman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:33pm

@jdpalmer The updated version captures the mouse, so your mouse won't go flying off the screen in the heat of the moment!

iiechapman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Stay Tuned because we will be releasing a video on how to make your own levels for our game!

PaulSB says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:35am

Like the mechanics, looks and sounds good too - the chunky pixels doing a nice job. Don't quite see how the theme fits in unfortunately. But good job.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:30am

This is really awesome, I am loving the mechanics and it is a beautiful game! The music and sfx were also very complementary. Well done! :)

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:30am

Why just OS/X, whyyy?!!?! This game looks awesome on your youtube video. I regret not being able to play it :( Really sucks... but I will give you good ratings anyway

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:31am

Interesting way to reveal the level. Tried the OSX build, the ship doesn't move. Cant rate the game now but will definitely be waiting for an update??

iiechapman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:05am

@thewhitelama a windows port is coming soon!

iiechapman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:06am

@anshul did you try holding right click to move ?

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:16am

I watched the video, seems fun and the concept is pretty original! I wish I could play it but I saw enough to give a rate to it. Fantastic job :)

havana24 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:07am

Cool concept! I loved also the unique mood! :)

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:20am

Really unique design and I like the presentation of the title. Good Job!

joekinley says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:05pm

I love the graphics. Also the idea, though not new, is quite well done.
Audio, sounds and music, is very nice and moody too.
It was very gloomy and moody of an experience. I liked it.

yosh says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:25am

I really LOVED the particles all around. Mixed with the relaxing music, it's just creating this unique & great atmosphere. I surprised myself just looking at the particles fade away, it's really beautiful.

Only complain: The shooting noise is kind of too loud and doesn't really match the others elements of the game...

Good job and cool video btw.

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Oh, I still can't play it on windows :(
MSVCP120.dll is missing somehow. There have been some ludum dares already, where this error appeared

iiechapman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:38pm

The white lama , I will post a fix tonight !

iiechapman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:47pm

@TheWhiteLlama , I bundled the appropriate DLL file with the new link, hopefully it will work for you!

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Haha, I really don't know if I am doing something wrong. The dll error is gone, but now a different error appears. I made a screenshot of the error (unfortunately german): https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/13497625/Luminess-Error.png

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:05am

:( unable to start application

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:41am

Running win 7 64 bit http://imgur.com/8Hg8bD2 ran as administrator as well. (Sorry thought you were talking about an error on my game)

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:54am

@onlyslightly, interesting thats the same error thewhitellama got! I will investigate further

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:55am

@onlyslightly and @thewhitellama , I found the problem , I need to compile a 64 bit and 32 bit version separately! I will have the fix soon!

kibertoad says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:24am

the application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b).

01rafael says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:33am

I like you youtube video, but I had exactly the same error (0xc000007b).
Hope, I'll play this game online in future )
Great work!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Great controls, really well thought out and they embed you in the action nicely. I loved the vignettes between levels, really added character to the experience. Nice particle effects and fitting sounds round out the experience - decent level design too!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Win8 x64, the game crashes with 0xc000007b error :(

loxo says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Nice particle effects and audio. It was fun to play the game, but it's a bit hard to control the ship with a touchpad. And I think the game is missing something. There is no increase in difficulty only in length. Maybe enemy ships would help or some puzzle elements. Oh and I liked the extra level at the end.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Windows 8 x64 crashes with 0x000007b errror :C
Sorry :/

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:10pm

A bit hard to run, but solid entry :)

Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Doesn't run on my system unfortunately (Windows 7, it just tells me the exe file could not be executed correctly instantly after trying to start it), but judging from the video it looks very good. Great effects, the gameplay seems solid to say the least and the level design is just right.

LukuluK says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:50pm

:/ I couldn't luanch the game because "msvcp120.dll is not made to execute under Windows or it contains an error". My computer recommand to install the program again, but it's not meant to be installed, isn't it ?

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Hey guys, any one having trouble starting the game in windows, I have released two versions, a 32 bit and a 64 bit one, for newer computers try the 64 bit version, you should be in luck!

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:13am

Haha, I think I'm giving up... :( I tried both versions even if I have a 64 bit OS. With the 64bit version I get the dll error. With the 32bit version I get the error I got some days ago... sorry :O

iiechapman says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:15am

Oh man, what DLL error do you get?

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:34am

Thanks, it works for me now! I liked the game, the navigation was fun and particle effects looked pretty impressive!

Though there are some problems I'd like to point out:
- If you press R, you'll be teleported to the beginning, and the ship, it seems, conserves all the inertia and immediately starts moving after the restart; upgrades are kept as well

- Collisions can be buggy sometimes; my ship sometimes just stuck in walls with no reason

- Sometimes I experienced noticeable FPS dropdowns

- Could you please statically link MSVC Runtime components to .exe? That would save me and other people from msvcr12.dll abscence error

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:11am

I get the msvcp120.DLL error again. It's weird because you put it in the folder.

Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:30pm

After adding msvcr120.DLL to the game directory, I get the same error again I got before. =/ So neither 32bit nor 64bit version work for me. I'll test it on my 32bit vista laptop later.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:17pm

both windows versions still refuse to work for me. win 8.1 laptop. video looks freaking sweet.

iiechapman says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

@OrangeeZ I use SDL2, so In order to statically link the MSVC runtime, the only solution looks like Id have to rebuild SDL2 statically linked, and include it with a larger executable. Not sure if there is a more elegant solution?

iiechapman says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 5:42pm

I updated the apps with all the appropriate DLLs, its really strange that everyone is having so much trouble, I would love to get this game working for everybody!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 5:58am

@iiechapman, not sure either. Building SDL2 is not much of a problem and executable size is not really an issue. Also, I don't think rebuilding SDL2 is necessary because an .exe can be linked against static and dynamic libs at the same time, no?

Muciojad says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:35am

This game has good mood for me, but I was really irritated when I blocked in small-particle wall, and I can't escape from there, I think you should work on better collisions next time ;) Anyway, quite good ;)

Anoarith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:38am

Really nice game, nice job !

Several says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:10pm

Those particle splats & rebounds feel great. Very much so. The kill walls are nicely distinguished from other surfaces, too.

I'm surprised how much the repeated level-end text detracted from the final product. It seems like it should be pretty minor, but seeing the same text again definitely made me more conscious of my time investment. (Maybe if it were just transcribed sound effects of eating for a few rounds, it would be perfectly acceptable?)

Wish there were more to it, but that's probably a good sign if you plan on expanding on it. What's there is still a pretty solid entry, though! Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]